We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good points, some bad, but all in all a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allison House Hotel
Ranked #107 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Some good points, some bad, but all in all a pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed in the small double on the top floor which was adequate but could do with some work! Some of the furnishings just seemed a bit cheap and slightly unnecessary; it seems to have a lot squeezed into it. I realise it’s the small double but the space could be utilised better to make it feel less so. The sink is in the bedroom as the shower and toilet are in a separate 'box' and the water pressure was really poor. Breakfast was good; there is a large continental selection such as cereals, cereals bars, fruit, pastries etc. For the cooked breakfast you can select four items and eggs cooked how you like them. The location suited our needs and it was an easy walk into the centre, or around £7 for a taxi when wearing heels! If we stayed again we would definitely rather book one of the standard rooms which looked much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becka_Calv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    58
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
100
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

stay here every year while visiting the tattoo. brill location. buses regular to centre and only cost £1.40! breakfast is superb and staff are first class! cannot recommend enough. staff are very helpful and pleasant . rooms clean complimentary whisky!

Room Tip: try for room at back. this is a major city and you do ge traffic noise or if cant get room at back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigburd41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Without the luxury of an extra bedroom, when my parents come to visit me they nearly always stay here. So welcoming, and comfortable, Owners and a Manager that are only too happy to help and are as involved or as uninvolved with your stay as you want them to be! My parents always like going here, easy to get to, spacious rooms, free parking and best of all....a superb breakfast offering; so much to choose from and they are always so accommodating of their guest's local living son who has nothing in his fridge and comes for breakfast! I agree with gabriella turino......a great homely place to stay!

Room Tip: Call the hotel rather than go through an agency, will always get the best price that way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmc1edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Loved the Allison House. Loved the staff, the room and especially the breakfast. It was handy for Edinburgh City Center and in a nice part of the city. Good value for the price paid. I am planning using it for a golf trip next.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlLeGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We always stay at Allison House on our visits to Edinburgh. The location is gr8, far enough away from the bustle of the center but convenient to get there. Our room is always very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We have never paid seperately for breakfast which i must say is excellent, huge selection of fresh fruits, cereals, juices plus you can have kippers!!!!!

Room Tip: Try for the room overlooking the stunning garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueenInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I am working as a Travel Agent based in Italy and I came so often to Edinburgh for business and I Can not BELIEVE what I have just read in the previous comment!
I have been at the Alison 20 times and I have to say that the rooms are so well cleaned, staff is extremely helpful especially Richard and the owners that are so nice!!!
Breakfast is GREAT, may be too much !!!!!!!!! I am glad that they do not offer dinner dinner otherwise I will be back to Italy with an extra 5 pounds on my weight!
I have travelled around the world, this is my job and Ii can say that the Alisson is One of my favourite place, it is like to be at home and I feel so relax, cosy and happy when I see Richard, David and AnneMarie wishing me a safe journey home. They are my " family" in Scotland! Thank guys!!!! You are the BEST!!!!! Gabriella

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden. Easy to get to city centre by bus , only 15 mts. Walking dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabriellaTorino68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

It was one of the best guest houses we could find on booking.com for the price and the distance to the city centre (with bus about 5-10 minutes, walking is a little to long). The house looks better from the outside as from the inside. Our room was to tiny for 2 people, sad we didn't get one like on the pictures, the shower was in a bad shape. The worst breakfast we had during our whole trip and the only place were full scottish breakfast costs extra?! The welcoming wishky in the room could not make it up.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank iCheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#65 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#88 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ben Doran Guest House
The Ben Doran Guest House
#178 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abcorn Guest House
Abcorn Guest House
#181 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Hotel

Property: Allison House Hotel
Address: 17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House is a small budget priced Georgian building situated on the South side of Edinburgh in a predominantly residential area, where we are just a short bus ride away from all major tourist attractions. Due to our central location all our guests can take advantage of that most valuable commodity in Edinburgh, free off street parking! For guests travelling on business or pleasure we provide a comfortable haven for you to work and relax in, our recently refurbished bedrooms all have a private shower room, TV, telephone,free wireless internet access, trouser press, hair dryer, ironing facility, complimentary tea and coffee as well as a drink from our complimentary decanters of Whisky and Sherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Allison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing