We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allison House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allison House Hotel
Ranked #115 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Quality decor. Lovely Garden. Quiet! especially rooms at back with added bonus of views of Arthurs Seat. Lovely touches like a Whisky and Sherry decanter nice biscuits and hot chocolate as well as tea and quality coffee. Big fluffy bath towels, too!! Very welcoming host. Not far from city centre. Bus or short taxi ride. Restaurants nearby. Highly recommend. No lift but help with suitcase.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank janeysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    55
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
26
95
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jarrow
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a lovely time here, friendly,clean and helpful. Had a little problem with the iron which they replaced straight away with no hassle. We got a couple of Day Bus Passes from the Hotel and this saved us a fortune in Taxi fares. Breakfast was very filling and you didn't need to eat again till early evening. Really comfortable bed a had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Resisting the minimalist provision of many branded hotels, the Scottish Personal Hotel service at Allison House is characterized by distinctive generosity - from the warm welcome, to the whisky and sherry decanters, and the diverse fruit bowls available at breakfast. Unlike the English hotel at which we subsequently stayed on business, cooked items (such as kippers) do not incur surcharges to a bed and breakfast booking. Indeed, on paying the account for an extended stay, we were undercharged and had to correct the bill - upwards! As other reviewers have remarked, this hotel operates not only as a culinary breakfast heaven but highly efficiently (returning from breakfast, we find the room has already been 'made up') - enabling easy public transport into business, cultural and shopping city facilities. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SungeiSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I have been reviewing my experiences at various bed and breakfasts around the uk and I'm happy to say that this tops the list so far.

The hosts and staff were courteous, knowledgeable about the area and attractions and very helpful. Our room was neat, cleaned daily over our week's stay, and furnished very nicely. We were able to walk the the old city centre within about a half an hour and abour 45 mins to the castle.

Breakfast left us feeling like we'd never need to eat again, with fresh berries, fruit, cereals and full cooked breakfast. In addition, our room was stocked with complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate, whiskey, sherry and biscuits.

After a long day exploring the city, it was a lovely place to retire to for the evening.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were given a room on the third floor, no lifts. Tiny shower, couldn't turn around, no water pressure, very bad on heat. Will not stay here again. Parking is in "front" was a pull in space for six cars, two in a row, hard to get out if you pull in first. was told to leave keys in car and they would move if necessary. Not at all friendly for first time travelers.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel with bigger showers. not at all good for self drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bucketgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray04, Owner at Allison House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Ladies,

I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at The Allison House.
I would remind you that your agent booked a double bedded room for you when in fact a twin room was required and as we had a twin available I managed to move you.
I realise you were on the second floor however this was the only room available.
I agree that we have 6 car parking spaces and for this reason we ask that keys are left at reception in order that we do not have to disturb guests during there stay if a car requires out of the car park. As you had to leave us at 4.00am I wanted to ensure that your car would get out of our car park easily hence again the reason I asked that your keys were left at the car park.
With regard to friendliness I thought I helped you the best I could by a0 helping with your luggage to your room and also with advice on how to find Harley Davidson motor bike garage after which I did not see you again.
Once again I apologise for our shortcomings and hope that if you visit Edinburgh in thew future you will allow us to rectify any shortcomings you have.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The service was excellent, the room was clean and nice. The owner, had information on anything you needed. The breakfast was really great! Many fruits and muesli were available with juice and really excellent cooked Scottish breakfast also. Nice touch offering a free sherry or whisky in room as welcome drink. The staff was very friendly too, so I just warmly recommend this hotel for everybody for short and for longer stay as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Everything about the Allison House appealed to me.The bedroom was nicely decorated and of a good size. All the staff (we met four of them) were extremely helpful and informative with regards the city that they are clearly proud of. This is a quality small hotel/B&B which serves legendary breakfasts.
Can't wait to go again

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FranceFansBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#92 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ben Doran Guest House
The Ben Doran Guest House
#188 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#49 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#179 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#27 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Hotel

Property: Allison House Hotel
Address: 17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House is a small budget priced Georgian building situated on the South side of Edinburgh in a predominantly residential area, where we are just a short bus ride away from all major tourist attractions. Due to our central location all our guests can take advantage of that most valuable commodity in Edinburgh, free off street parking! For guests travelling on business or pleasure we provide a comfortable haven for you to work and relax in, our recently refurbished bedrooms all have a private shower room, TV, telephone,free wireless internet access, trouser press, hair dryer, ironing facility, complimentary tea and coffee as well as a drink from our complimentary decanters of Whisky and Sherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Allison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing