We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect staying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allison House Hotel
Ranked #106 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Perfect staying”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Warm and welcoming and very helpful staff, lovely beds, nice and clean. The breakfast was really good with mulitiple choices. A nice variety of fruit and seeds. 30 minutes walk to the senter and 20 minutes walk to a small mountain with great view over the city.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kjetil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    58
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
26
101
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We found this an ideal location for a convenient base for our 3 days at the Fringe. It is only 10 mins by bus ( regular service on main bus route + night service stop outside )and probably 20/25 mins on foot from the old city.There is also free parking on the forecourt so is ideal for train/bus and car traveller alike.
The room,en suite toilet/shower(washbasin in the room it self, was a not spacious but clean and well appointed ( tea/coffee making facilities,complimentary whisky /sherry) with a comfortable bed. The hanging space was limited to short hanging only, but enough of it ,and luggage storage space under the half length wardrobe. Long hanging was a hook on the back of the door to the room.
The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of cereals, fresh fruit( not tinned), yoghurt, croissants and a really good cooked breakfast .
The only mild downsides is the early morning traffic on Mayfield Gardens( try for a room at the back) and ,as we wewre on the top floor the water pressure in the shower was not strong and took its time to warm up.If the tap is turned on at the washbasin the shower fizzles to a dribble at best.
Overall , a good value for money ( Edinburgh at festival time) stay and better than many capital city stays in the UK and Europe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area, about 20 minutes from the city center (walking). Bus stop is right outside, though.

Pros:
- Service was nice and helpful.
- Breakfast is rich and absolutely delicious. I particularly loved the fruit buffet.
- Complimentary sherry and whisky, biscuits, tea and chocolate.
- The rooms are nicely decorated and quite comfortable.
- Parking facilities

Cons:
- Our room was at the bottom of the stairs, right in front of the breakfast room - a bit noisy in the early morning.
- No proper blackout in the room. If you are sensitive to the daylight, you won't get much sleep after dusk.

Room Tip: Request a room as far as the breakfast room as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarianellagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Quality decor. Lovely Garden. Quiet! especially rooms at back with added bonus of views of Arthurs Seat. Lovely touches like a Whisky and Sherry decanter nice biscuits and hot chocolate as well as tea and quality coffee. Big fluffy bath towels, too!! Very welcoming host. Not far from city centre. Bus or short taxi ride. Restaurants nearby. Highly recommend. No lift but help with suitcase.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank janeysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarrow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a lovely time here, friendly,clean and helpful. Had a little problem with the iron which they replaced straight away with no hassle. We got a couple of Day Bus Passes from the Hotel and this saved us a fortune in Taxi fares. Breakfast was very filling and you didn't need to eat again till early evening. Really comfortable bed a had a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Resisting the minimalist provision of many branded hotels, the Scottish Personal Hotel service at Allison House is characterized by distinctive generosity - from the warm welcome, to the whisky and sherry decanters, and the diverse fruit bowls available at breakfast. Unlike the English hotel at which we subsequently stayed on business, cooked items (such as kippers) do not incur surcharges to a bed and breakfast booking. Indeed, on paying the account for an extended stay, we were undercharged and had to correct the bill - upwards! As other reviewers have remarked, this hotel operates not only as a culinary breakfast heaven but highly efficiently (returning from breakfast, we find the room has already been 'made up') - enabling easy public transport into business, cultural and shopping city facilities. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SungeiSarawak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I have been reviewing my experiences at various bed and breakfasts around the uk and I'm happy to say that this tops the list so far.

The hosts and staff were courteous, knowledgeable about the area and attractions and very helpful. Our room was neat, cleaned daily over our week's stay, and furnished very nicely. We were able to walk the the old city centre within about a half an hour and abour 45 mins to the castle.

Breakfast left us feeling like we'd never need to eat again, with fresh berries, fruit, cereals and full cooked breakfast. In addition, our room was stocked with complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate, whiskey, sherry and biscuits.

After a long day exploring the city, it was a lovely place to retire to for the evening.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#60 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#90 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ben Doran Guest House
The Ben Doran Guest House
#178 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abcorn Guest House
Abcorn Guest House
#182 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#57 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Hotel

Property: Allison House Hotel
Address: 17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allison House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House is a small budget priced Georgian building situated on the South side of Edinburgh in a predominantly residential area, where we are just a short bus ride away from all major tourist attractions. Due to our central location all our guests can take advantage of that most valuable commodity in Edinburgh, free off street parking! For guests travelling on business or pleasure we provide a comfortable haven for you to work and relax in, our recently refurbished bedrooms all have a private shower room, TV, telephone,free wireless internet access, trouser press, hair dryer, ironing facility, complimentary tea and coffee as well as a drink from our complimentary decanters of Whisky and Sherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Allison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing