We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Allison House Hotel
Ranked #111 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Lowestoft
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here with my girlfriend and our two mums and had a very pleasant time. Our double room at the back of the hotel was great, the bed VERY comfortable and overlooking the beautiful back garden. Our mums had a lovely big twin room just across from ours. The staff were very nice and the breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    62
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
27
105
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Allison House is not really a hotel, more a boarding house having only a breakfast room and no lounge or restaurant. It does provide good coffee and a nice touch is the sherry and whiskey decanters in the room. We were at the top of the building and the water pressure was quite poor and the water never really hot. The bathrooms had broken shelves and attention to maintenance could have been better. Overall I thought it rather expensive and it might get a higher rating if it were better value. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

A charming hotel with delicious breakfast included. The room was spacious although the bathroom was tiny. The staff was very helpful with directions and recommendations, and the location is right on the bus route into Edinburgh. We took a taxi back from the Royal Mile for about 5 Euros.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Allison House is a great place to stay. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast was cooked to perfection with all the traditional accompaniments to eggs and porridge. Cold cereals, yogurt, an array of fresh fruit and cheese were also available. And they included a very nice touch: two small flasks of Scotch were in the room as a welcoming to their visitors. The location is not far from town center and is right on the bus route. The proprietors were very helpful in answering questions and giving guidance on how to get around town. And they had a computer in the entranceway with free internet access. If you're lucky enough to get a room overlooking their backyard, it is an added bonus-- very beautiful. We stayed for 3 days and completely enjoyed our stay. You can't go wrong if you stay at the Allison House.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

This lovely B&B is on a frequent bus route within about 10 mins to the centre of Edinburgh. The owners are delightful and no effort is spared to make your stay pleasant. The rooms were of a traditional style, clean and obviously recently refurbished. The bathroom was small, but more than adequate. Delightfully a portion of whiskey and one of sherry is left in the room as a gift. The breakfast was one of the best we have had in any hotel from B&B to 5 Star! A dresser holds bowls of about 8 different fruits, all fresh and delicious. A variety of packeted cheeses, hot toast is brought to your table. The cooked breakfasts vary from traditional British to porridge and the most wonderful fresh fish - kippers, smoked haddock - whatever has been available the previous day and cooked exactly as you would like. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicityjg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Allison House is a welcoming place to stay, with a number of nice touches which set it apart from other guest accommodation. Examples of this were the complimentary sherry and whiskey in our room, the beautiful fresh fruit salad buffet at breakfast, and th free use of a computer as well as wifi access.
Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. The staff were very helpful to us and- from my expeience - to anyone who wanted help and advice.
Allison house is about a mile and a half south of the city centre, but there is both free onsight parking and a very frequent bus service. being a 19th century house, there are quite afew stairs, so it would notbe suitable for people with significant mobility difficulties. But for anyone else this is an excellent guesthouse which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiptonJimjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed here recently and the room and the gentleman who served breakfast and helped us check out was lovely. The food was great. The only tihng i would say is that it is a little out of town and if you had any disabilities the hotel does not have a lift and getting to the top floor with a suitcase was like climbing Ben Nevis. But the place is lovely,

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsandSimon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#96 of 392 in Edinburgh
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#34 of 392 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#64 of 392 in Edinburgh
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 392 in Edinburgh
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison House Hotel

Property: Allison House Hotel
Address: 17 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Allison House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allison House is a small budget priced Georgian building situated on the South side of Edinburgh in a predominantly residential area, where we are just a short bus ride away from all major tourist attractions. Due to our central location all our guests can take advantage of that most valuable commodity in Edinburgh, free off street parking! For guests travelling on business or pleasure we provide a comfortable haven for you to work and relax in, our recently refurbished bedrooms all have a private shower room, TV, telephone,free wireless internet access, trouser press, hair dryer, ironing facility, complimentary tea and coffee as well as a drink from our complimentary decanters of Whisky and Sherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allison House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing