We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good luck?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park View House Hotel
Ranked #358 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have just read the reviews on tripadivsor and can only say that we must have been lucky with our room on the third floor. It was spacious, clean, quiet and the windows could be opened. There was enough (free!) parking space behind the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There was a bus station near the hotel which was very comfortable for travelling into the city. All in all it was a pleasant stay and I would also recommend this hotel as the price and location are extremely good for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked using hostelbookers.com for two Twin rooms for a total of 4 people. I mean two rooms (2 people per room with en-suite bathroom). But on reaching hotel we were given a single room for all 4 people. These big rooms are cheaper in cost as they are shared by more people so we paid more for cheaper room. and rest you can understand. Later at reception we were told they will speak to hostelbookers.com, but that can not bring back that night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raj_hec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadivsor I really expected the worst from this hotel. However I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were in room 15 which is down the stairs and on arrival at 1.30 the room was rather chilly. The staff who greeted us on arrival were really helpful and friendly and showed us to our room. For 2 people we had 2 single beds and a double which was a bit excessive but the room was large and spacious. The bathroom is cold because there is no heating but the shower is very powerful and very warm. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. I rate hotels on whether the shower is good or not and if you can get a good night's sleep which this hotel ticked both boxes along with it being clean. There was a variety of things out for breakfast, all i had was toast but was happy with it. Overall i would recommend this hotel as the price and location are extremely good for Edinburgh.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I booked a two-night stay for 4 people with this hotel to coincide with a six nations rugby match in March 2013. I had made the booking months in advance (August 2012) via budgetplaces. I was contacted by the hotel in November 2012 informing me that they were not prepared to honour the booking as they only accept a minimum of 4-night stays for the rugby weekends. After numerous phone calls and emails (in which budgetplaces were also useless) the booking was cancelled and I had to make alternative arrangements, even though the fault clearly wasn't mine. this hotel is only interested in making money and has no interest in customer care.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Poor poor poor
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Our experience at this hotel was nothing but good. We were staying in room 3 which incorporated a powerful, warm shower, and the room seemed to have been recently refurbished. The room was kept very clean throughout our stay, and was kept warm in the night even in the cold December weather. The hotel staff were also very accommodating and pleasant.

There is ample parking on the street outside: we never had trouble finding somewhere to leave the car very close to the hotel. Apparently they also have a car park, though we never used it.

The only negative is that my wife found the mattress uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batterseapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had the unfortunate experience of staying here for only one night, there's no way we would have stayed another night even if it had been booked.
The filthy, tiny room had only one small radiator and the bathroom didn't even have that! It was freezing!! We went to bed (which was very uncomfortable) wearing pyjamas and jumpers and were still very very cold. The blinds were warped and there were no curtains, so the light from outside was let into the room. There was no freeview tv as advertised, but a tiny tv attached to the wall way above head-height so it wasn't viewable. There was no hot water in the bathroom either.
On the night we stayed, an 18th birthday party was being hosted downstairs which went on well past midnight (we were disgusted we weren't pre-warned of this since we were staying with three young children). The patrons were rowdy and screaming all night and kept us all awake, and the music was thumping into the early hours. The next morning, my car, which had been parked directly outside the hotels entrance, had muddy footprints all across the top where someone had run over the roof. There was damage to the windscreen wipers and a dint in my roof!! The manager, probably exhausted from his party the evening before, was nowhere to be found. The breakfast was ridiculously basic, no cooked breakfast option, only cereal in dirty Tupperware containers, croissants and some bread that felt as though it had been sat out all night (at least there was a toaster if we wanted to make toast though)

We have called the hotel since to complain and are promised a call back from the manager which never materialises.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kef1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Mouldy shower, dirty bedding, room smelled like sick, dirty sink, dirty smeared glass in shower, breakfast was stale and probably from days before....will not stay again, horrible place to be!!!

We stayed in room 11, top floor, took a long time to walk up the very steep stairs, forced to pay up front and were my shown round, just given a key and sent up to our room, were not told about breakfast.

Seems more like a hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Cambridge House
Cambridge House
#339 of 393 in Edinburgh
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Culane House Hotel
Culane House Hotel
#142 of 393 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#88 of 393 in Edinburgh
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leith House
Leith House
#342 of 393 in Edinburgh
91 reviews
2.5 mi away
Allison House Hotel
Allison House Hotel
#112 of 393 in Edinburgh
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aynetree Guest House
Aynetree Guest House
#158 of 393 in Edinburgh
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View House Hotel

Address: 14 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £45 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Park View House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing