We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park View House Hotel
Ranked #392 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Rivarennes
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I was worried before going to this hotel having read some of the tripadvisor comments. It was fine. There are not many hotels in this area that accept bookings for 1 night only at a weekend, hence our choice. We were in the annex, the room was small but had everything we needed for a 1 night stay. The man on reception was extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was fine, so no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    35
    34
    24
    98
See reviews for
44
78
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

While not the best looking or fanciest hotel your money could buy, what did it for my family and I was the customer service. Lorraine is a wonderful hostess and provided so much support and catered to our every request. We booked into this place because there was limited space in Edinburgh for 5 adults based on several events going on to include the Edinburgh marathon. We are very happy that we did. It is located down in Leith, which is close to the water tourist attractions but a little ways from the main historical sites and shopping. But, for £3.50 a day, you can get a bust pass that takes you on any route. The number 25 bus picks up and drops off right in front of the hotel. The hotel is also located across from a park which is very nice. It was a very nice place based on what we paid for and what was available and the customer service was what made this place worth going to. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We came to Ed. for the marathon and in terms of simply having a bed to sleep in for two nights it was fine, no serious problems.
However, on arrival myself and my girlfriend were shown to what I can only describe as 'the basement' room (??) which had 2 single beds despite us having booked a double, awful views out the window (some metal stairs and a grotty block of flats) and very basic amenities. Although the bathroom was lovely - the shower was absolutely fantastic! And everything was clean and spacious. Sound insulation was pretty bad so we could hear everything next door, but we still had 2 good nights sleep.
Breakfast was very average but ok. I'd have preferred a cooked breakfast rather than old, dry cereal from tupperware but it served it's purpose. The service was great and the manager was really really helpful. In fact he actually couldn't have done enough to help us out in terms of pointing us in the right direction of buses and even holding our bags for us after checkout time as we wanted the day to explore Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingussie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have just read the reviews on tripadivsor and can only say that we must have been lucky with our room on the third floor. It was spacious, clean, quiet and the windows could be opened. There was enough (free!) parking space behind the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There was a bus station near the hotel which was very comfortable for travelling into the city. All in all it was a pleasant stay and I would also recommend this hotel as the price and location are extremely good for Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked using hostelbookers.com for two Twin rooms for a total of 4 people. I mean two rooms (2 people per room with en-suite bathroom). But on reaching hotel we were given a single room for all 4 people. These big rooms are cheaper in cost as they are shared by more people so we paid more for cheaper room. and rest you can understand. Later at reception we were told they will speak to hostelbookers.com, but that can not bring back that night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raj_hec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on tripadivsor I really expected the worst from this hotel. However I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were in room 15 which is down the stairs and on arrival at 1.30 the room was rather chilly. The staff who greeted us on arrival were really helpful and friendly and showed us to our room. For 2 people we had 2 single beds and a double which was a bit excessive but the room was large and spacious. The bathroom is cold because there is no heating but the shower is very powerful and very warm. The room was clean and the beds were comfy. I rate hotels on whether the shower is good or not and if you can get a good night's sleep which this hotel ticked both boxes along with it being clean. There was a variety of things out for breakfast, all i had was toast but was happy with it. Overall i would recommend this hotel as the price and location are extremely good for Edinburgh.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I booked a two-night stay for 4 people with this hotel to coincide with a six nations rugby match in March 2013. I had made the booking months in advance (August 2012) via budgetplaces. I was contacted by the hotel in November 2012 informing me that they were not prepared to honour the booking as they only accept a minimum of 4-night stays for the rugby weekends. After numerous phone calls and emails (in which budgetplaces were also useless) the booking was cancelled and I had to make alternative arrangements, even though the fault clearly wasn't mine. this hotel is only interested in making money and has no interest in customer care.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Poor poor poor
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pillars House
Pillars House
#91 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Guest House
Mackenzie Guest House
#126 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Culane House Hotel
Culane House Hotel
#124 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#164 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#218 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View House Hotel

Property: Park View House Hotel
Address: 14 Hermitage Place, Edinburgh EH6 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park View House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing