We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Raeburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raeburn
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here on Friday followed by a few drinks in the bar. Food was excellent!! Had a steak while my friend had the chicken. Service needs a tiny bit of work but considering they were swamped I'm not surprised there were a few wobbles. All in all very enjoyable and highly reccomended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluffy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    59
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
326
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I actually feel bad writing this review as I believe in supporting new local businesses but I after stewing over it for a few days I've decided that maybe the owners will read this and take on board a few points.

I went for a meal here during the opening week. Obviously it is nerve wracking for any new business but there were a few things that could not be forgiven.

The building itself has been lovingly restored and a lot of money has been spent, the dining room is very well designed.

Here is where the good points end I'm afraid.

We arrived and straight away ordered a couple of cocktails while we eyed up the impressive sounding menu. Unfortunately these cocktails failed to materialise until half way through the main course followed by the wine we'd ordered for the meal so just had water for the most part!

The waiting staff were running around like blue ars*d flies (seemingly without purpose a lot of the time from one side of the room to the other and then jusf standing there) making the atmosphere rather uncomfortable and pressurised. Two of the staff struggled in front of a fully booked restaurant to open a simple bottle of wine, one then confessing loudly to the table they had never opened a wine bottle before. Perhaps employing such poorly trained staff was an error.

The food itself was ok. My soup sadly hadn't been stirred so my first spoonful was completely chilled and my second roasting hot. The steak was good although the waiter forgot the sauce so had to wait 5 minutes for that. But I'm glad I didn't order the fish dish (monkfish if memory serves me correctly) as the table nearby had it and pretended to wretch it was that bad. The creme friache ice cream was so sour it was inedible.

I would go back in a few months to see if the place had improved once settled in but was so looking forward to having a new local I could frequent and take friends and family, however for the time being I shall be giving this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Cate1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was privileged to be invited to the opening event and enjoyed a full tour of this beautiful new hotel. I'm definitely booking in for a special event, even tho I live nearby! Have since been in for dinner, lunch and just drinks and I'm still in awe of how beautifully this old building has been restored. The food and service in the restaurant were amazing. I would particularly recommend the sirloin steak which was one of the best steaks I have ever had - succulent, wonderfully cooked, flavoursome and incredibly tender. Well done to the team for a very enjoyable meal. And by the way, the fish and chips on the bar menu are also extremely good! Go team Raeburn!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w0mankind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Attended the opening night,it truly is an great transformation and wonderful attribute to Stockbridge/comely bank area.

Both the bar & restaurant provided great service in beautiful surroundings,there is also some lovely al fresco areas for warmer days.

Tour of the bedrooms all beautifully appointed with superb luxury facilities.

All in all a great place to stay or visit for quality & service.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank blondieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Prestonfield
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raeburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raeburn

Property: The Raeburn
Address: 112 Raeburn Place, Edinburgh EH4 1HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raeburn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Raeburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raeburn Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing