We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive and rather noisy”
Review of The Raeburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Raeburn
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I went in for a pint with a friend to see what they'd done with the refurb.

Nice decor, friendly staff. But the acoustics aren't right, it's very noisy. Even when it wasn't busy, it felt like you had to shout to hear the person next too you.

And £4.40 for a pint! I won't be rushing back. We went down the road to the Stockbridge Tap where better beer was available for £3.30 a pint...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank rwillmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I had a quick pint of (very good quality loch fyne ale) beer with a friend whilst waiting for a table at Scran and scallie across the road.
Good atmosphere (young crowd) and lovely outdoor space in the sun.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fearlessfergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were here over the Easter weekend for dinner. The food was reasonable value for money and what you might expect in an upmarket pub/restaurant. The evening was spoiled, however, by the noise coming from the bar which is not separated from the restaurant in any way. After struggling to make conversation, we left without dessert or coffee. A disappointment overall, although we did appreciate the owner coming over to apologise for our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I've given The Raeburn a rather generous 4 stars because they're new, and they're inundated with customers and people trying them out. The waits at the bar from 4.45 pm today were considerable and the bar staff, of which there were lots, were really doing their best under severe pressure. Everyone I watched while trying to catch an eye to be serve were doing a brilliant job of staying upbeat and friendly despite the relentless custom. It was a shame to see valuable time being lost picking labels off glasses and having to cool hot glasses down. We didn't get a seat anywhere for the first hour but then managed to get a seat outside which was just great for an April evening. The staff are all very friendly, the drinks are nicely served with lots of ice. But it's just a bit too busy.

We ate in the restaurant the other day and the food was nice although we were initially disappointed that there were only 2 items of the list of 6 starters/mains that hadn't changed considerably (i.e. the duck is now pork, not a subtle change) - why not just print a new menu?

It is super stylish, and I love the branding and signage, the booths in the restaurant are fab and I LOVE that you can take your dog to the bar and courtyard.

I wholeheartedly believe that once this place gets over its opening issues, it will be a regular favourite for me and for my team.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliatthelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I recently stayed at the newly opened Raeburn Hotel.
Our room was just fantastic - really comfortable bed with a wardrobe which opened into a dressing room furnished with dressing table, full length mirror and even GHD hair straighteners! The bathroom was also modern and fitted to a very high standard with lovely free standing bath, his and her sinks and fab shower.
The Restaurant and Bar is lovely with friendly helpful staff who really couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Breakfast was outstanding - I recommend the full scottish !!
There is real attention to detail in this establishment and I really can't fault anything about it - first class !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigatthetemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fabulous place. Quality and choice of food and wine excellent. Staff on a lunchtime visit when restaurant was full were superb, very knowledgeable about what was on offer. The standard of the refurbishment is of the highest quality, so much thought has gone into the fixtures and fittings in all areas. It is a pleasure to visit such a place, only wish I had an excuse to stay over in one of the beautiful bedrooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeRe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I went there on Friday 11th April at about 19:45 (for drinks only) and, boy, was I disappointed. The bar was busy (with the beautiful people, which was nice) but from there on in, it was all downhill. The quality of service was woeful. I ordered a pint of Black Isle and a pint of Schiehallion, both where slapped up in warm glasses, obviously straight from glass washer, the Schiehallion was without a head, looked more like a pint of cider. Also, the barman that served them up was brilliantly unfriendly (think he was the manager as he was the only one wearing a blue shirt).

It was also one of the noisiest bars that I have ever been in. Yes, the bar was busy and you would expect lots of noise but it was really sore on the ears (and I'm referring to the people noise rather than the music). The customers's voices seem to just reverberate around the bar, making normal conversation nearly impossible, I suspect that the very low (basement-like) ceilings do not help. We moved outside (into the cold) for respite.

Concluding, the refurbishment / refit job is of a very high quality, the beer choice is very good but please sort the acoustics out and please ensure that all of you staff serve drinks with a big smile on their faces (when paying £4.50 a drink you expect at least a small smile).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank GarretBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raeburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raeburn

Address: 112 Raeburn Place, Edinburgh EH4 1HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £96 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raeburn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Raeburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raeburn Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing