We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at The Raeburn”
Review of The Raeburn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Raeburn
Ranked #2 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Raeburn Hotel is WONDERFUL!! I booked this hotel based on the initial reviews it had since its reopening in April and am really glad I did! This place is THE place to see and be seen for sure!! They have a SUPER lively bar and restaurant scene going! We spent 3 nights there and every night was jammed packed - everyone from wedding parties, to pre- club goers, to locals with their dogs just wanting to enjoy the beautiful weather on the patio!! The rooms were AWESOME!! Spacious bedrooms with huge bathrooms and all the latest technology. I'm really into having a lot of electrical outlets and these rooms have them in all the right areas! Ladies, they have great hairdryers AND for those fighting the humidity like I was, GHD flat irons! Additionally they have IP based phones and pre-loaded iPods with docking stations. Our room faced the front courtyard, so although very noisy at night, luckily last call is at mid-night (about when we got home and the sun was finally down). The bathrooms have great amenities and HUGE oversized vintage tubs and showers! Although there were a couple of "new hotel tweaks" that need to be ironed out, we brought to the managers attention and I'm sure they will be resolved quickly, so they aren't worth mentioning in a review. I would, and will totally stay here again!! Top notch Raeburn!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank IslandPrincess09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Was really looking forward to dinner at the newly opened Raeburn and although I can't complain about the food quality or service, it was just average.

The evening started with the waitress telling us what had changed on the menu, and it was a lot! Dishes not available or changed, which didn't start the evening too well. Also think the choice was limited and we all struggled to pick.

We had the chickpea fritters, nice, but nothing special and scallops, again nice. But very small and not exceptional. Mains were cod, steak and veal - all good, but small portions and just nothing amazing.

The surroundings and decor are lovely, but this is a pre-dinner drinks place.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Today was the first time we had tried The Raeburn and were a bit miffed when we arrived at noon to be informed there were no tables and we should return in one hour. We dutifully did and were delighted to be allocated a table on the terrace. Our orders arrived promptly but to be honest, I was slightly disappointed in my beetroot, walnut and goat's cheese salad. There was certainly plenty of it but the goats cheese was apparent by its absence and there did not appear to be any dressing whatsoever at all. Saying that, the service was impeccable and I would return back there in a minute but would not order the salad again. One word or praise, the table behind us seemed to be complaining about anything and what to my obviously ineducated eye totally adequate and perfectly cooked chips were sent back and a few moments later were returned to the table of very highly restauranteurs and praise then abounded. Lovely food, just need a wee bit of work on the service and it would be appreciated if the owners could be in the front of the house more

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank petrina553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Myself and three friends went for coffee and we were greeted by Aaran, who made us feel most welcome. We were shown into a lovely quiet room called the library and received first class treatment. Nothing was any rouble. We were kindly shown round the hotel, loved it all. Coffee and delicious shortbread plus the warm welcome made our day. We will be back with family and friends. Wonderful to see the hotel in use again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

6 of us had a lovely meal on a Saturday night in April. We all thoroughly enjoyed the food and service, and the atmosphere created by the bustle of the Dining Room and the lovingly restored decor was great. Thanks to Struan Robertson (!) for good service

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shirlham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Was a fantastic experience .. No tables for dinner all booked ..good sign.. We just wanted a drink at the bar my white wine with ice and a lager shandy was spot on we went out to the amazing undercover seating area ... Wish I lived in Stockbridge .. Good luck Ross your doing a fab job x

Room Tip: Never stayed but I'm sure it would be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 0921sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Have only had lunch in the bar so can't comment on the restaurant or rooms. Lunch was good, not much choice but I enjoyed what I had. The place has been done out beautifully. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to sit in the outdoor areas this summer, weather permitting. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar area is dog friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,032 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Prestonfield
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raeburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raeburn

Address: 112 Raeburn Place, Edinburgh EH4 1HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £114 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raeburn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Raeburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raeburn Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing