We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper Cocktails, Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raeburn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Raeburn
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Proper Cocktails, Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I recently visited The Raeburn and have to say the service blew me away. We were looked after by Callum, his knowledge was most impressive, and I must say it has been a longtime since I've enjoyed such an expertly made Negroni, he really is an asset to the establishment, and I hope they appreciate his impressive customer focus which appeared to put his colleagues to shame.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Platecarrier1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    58
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
314
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights last week. It was without doubt our best ever stay in Edinburgh. We lived in Edinburgh many years ago and at that time the Raeburn was definitely one of the places to go to meet friends for a drink etc. It then seemed to lose its way and it was so sad to see it closed down in more recent time. The resurrected Raeburn is fantastic. No expense has been spared and the transformation is outstanding. Be that as it may, it would be nothing without the people to bring the experience together. I simply cannot remember such friendly and professional staff in a UK hotel. They were , to a man - and woman- really great.
We had booked parking (a seriously good boon in a city centre hotel) but when we arrived the space was taken. Should I become apoplectic? The receptionist was delightful. She took the keys and sorted it immediately. But all the staff were the same - outstanding and friendly. They could not have been more helpful.
We dined there on Thursday evening and the food, service and wine were all most enjoyable.
The atmosphere in the bar was really great and the buzz just as in times of old.
Congratulations to all involved - the nail has been well and truly hit on the head.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reelandjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We popped into the Raeburn on a whim and were very impressed. The service was friendly, slick & professional, and the restaurant beautiful. We didn't visit the bar or stay the night but based on our experience I wouldn't hesitate to return for a special occasion.
I had the cod, and my fiancee chose the steak - both were incredible, and the portion sizes perfect. My side of buttered new potatoes were so tasty! We also had a pudding, which was still good but not as great as the mains. My chocolate pot could've done with more raspberries & strawberries to balance out the amazing richness of the dark chocolate.
We didn't take our dog but would like to commend the pub for allowing them, it means a great deal to know that for next years' Fringe we know a fantastic dog friendly place for a celebratory meal.
Will be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar,
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a top quality hotel which we stayed at for 3 nights during the Fringe. Doesn't look great from the outside, but everything inside is brilliant, from the friendly professional greeting, the bar, the restaurant and the quality of the rooms. The rooms all have high quality finishing touches and equipment like GHD hair straighteners, but the highlight for us was in room 4 where there is a secret extra space!

(At least 2 other great restaurants very close by too - excellent value South American restaurant down the road and another straight across from the hotel.0

Room Tip: We had two great rooms, but No 4 had an extra touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSpursDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

There's not much more I need to say than.. the beef was more fat than meat, the veg tasted like it had been soaked in salt for the day & the Yorkshire pudding was more like a burnt pastry ball!

The interior is lovely & probably a nice place to head for drinks. But myself nor my partner will be recommending any of our friends or customers to come here for a meal. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank at0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

9 of us had been to see play' Sunshine on Lieth' ..very good and recommended for Festival goers!! And we had table booked for 1715hrs Sunday 10/08/14 and 1st time had a meal and drink at The Raeburn.
Busy place and must be popular for there Sunday Roasts as ALL sold out during the day! ..250 sold!... Service was good and all diff meals were put down to the correct persons! :)
I ordered fish & chips (cod) under £11 and just commenting on my meal here!
Have had loads of fish and chips many times..but this is the 1st time I had more fingers than chips on my plate!... Fish was well battered, but have had larger too!
A good setting and overall..all plates were cleared! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The best Old Fashioned and Negroni I have had for a while - expertly made by blonde haired bartender Callum. A pleasure to have a properly made drink, and the Raeburn bar made a great hideaway from a rainy afternoon. Good service, nice surroundings.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raeburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raeburn

Property: The Raeburn
Address: 112 Raeburn Place, Edinburgh EH4 1HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raeburn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Raeburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raeburn Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing