We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem of a B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
International Guest House
Ranked #225 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I booked this B&B on line, I read the reviews, good and bad. Was a little nervous after reading a bad review about the breakfast, or lack of it if we missed the time slot. This B&B was so easy to find off the ring road, good half hour walk in to the city, but one road, very easy, we did the bus on the second night as we had a ghost tour booked.we arrived nearly an hour earlier than we scheduled and was greater by a lovely gentlemen who smiled all the time, he did advise of payment methods but not in a pushy way, he offered his advice of things to do and any local info, advised us of breakfast time etc, we travelled as a couple and we were given a large room On the ground floor with a double bed and a single, yes the decor is chintzy but we loved it, the whole place has a cosy, clean, and interesting atmosphere, we loved that the cutlery was lovely silverware and all the crockery was floral china. The shower was amazing the room was always clean, we arrived on the Friday, got up for breakfast on Saturday and went in to the city early, when we came back, the bed was remade clean towels were put out, room was cleaned. Every time we saw the owner he was smiling and friendly,we are defo going to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya_smith54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for International Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

I have been stayed at the International Guest House for ca. 10 days in August.

I appreciated it, I feel like at home. It is a very nice building 15- 20 minutes walk from the city centre. I liked this walk every morning!
In any case there is the bus stop in front of the guest house, and in10 min. you are in the centre!!!

I had a single room on the 2nd floor. The room was essential, very quite, silent and clean .
The owners were kind and friendly.
Lovely stay. I will return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Greta_greta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were in Edinburgh for one night unexpectedly and found this place in Mayfield Gardens which has a large selection of B&B's on offer. Having viewed a couple of them we settled on the International Guest House as we were offered a large room on the first floor. The owner's first language is not english and we had a little difficulty with the information he was giving us, all about ways to pay rather than breakfast times and check out times. The room itself was very pink and more akin to an elderly clientelle, however the bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent. There was a sign in the room requiring us to vacate the premises by 10am and as such we rose at 8.30 (unusual for us on a Sunday) and made our way down for breakfast at just after 9am. We cannot comment on the breakfast as we didnt get any. We were now told that breakfast was served between 8 and 9am and as this was now after 9, the machine had been turned off and breakfast was finished. They wouldnt even give us cereal and despite my protestations we were given short shrift. If this is their way of ensuring repeat business, they are in for a shock. Very poor customer service. We wont be back.

Room Tip: Room 5 is large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trappedinalampshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The room was dirty. The breakfast was of poor quality and rushed. Compared to other b&bs or hotels we have stayed in the cost was over inflated for the service provided. However, worst of all, when we dared to complain about the service we were met with abuse and threats from the owner. A really unpleasant experience which ruined our stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dumafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The two best things about this guest house were the staff and the location. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. The bus services into town are excellent and although there is limited parking on site, there is plenty in the road next door (quite rare for Edinburgh).
My single room on the first floor was however very small, as was the en-suite. There were limited toiletries - from memory, just liquid soap. Decor throughout the establishment is traditional, or dated and chintzy, depending on your point of view.
As other reviewers have remarked, the so-called Scottish breakfast was disappointing, with a limited range of hot food, and tinned fruit cocktail.
My friend and I were visiting Edinburgh for a school reunion and were looking for somewhere conveniently located and reasonably priced, so were not that bothered about decor etc. But I can see that it wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love Travelliing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It's a very friendly and helpful place. The breakfast is good and

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johnkurt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Booked a night on LateRooms.com and thought I had made a good deal since it was 4-star and I paid £40.00 instead of £68.00, but it turned out the star rating in Scotland is VERY different from the one in the US and Canada. I also think that their single rooms' prices range between £40.00 and £68.00 and that they just gave me the cheap one (but they make you think you had a discount, even if it is not the case...). The room was very small, and the bed not so comfortable (could feel the springs in the mattress and the pillows were the old, hard, synthetic ones...). The host was very nice though and it was nice to have hot breakfast. Also, it was very close to the center, which is always great. I was just really disappointed about the discount that in the end was not a discount and also by that "4-stars" ranking... I think I could have got the same for half the price, really...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arya885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#197 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
Alexander Guest House
#274 of 393 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#97 of 393 in Edinburgh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auld Reekie Guest House
#51 of 393 in Edinburgh
153 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 393 in Edinburgh
454 reviews
The Ben Doran Guest House
#165 of 393 in Edinburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Address: 37 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing