We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome, convenient position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
International Guest House
Ranked #201 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, convenient position”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last week. It was perfectly situated for getting into the city by bus. Hosts friendly and helpful - and I am extremely grateful to them for posting on clothes that I stupidly left in my room!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emgee100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    28
    8
    12
    11
See reviews for
15
26
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had an enjoyable stay here - stayed here 2 nights for a christening and was very convenient.
The breakfast was very nice and you could choice what you wanted. The hotel was not very far away from the local bus route so this was handy when going back to the airport. Would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed for 2 nights while visiting my son,it was the cheapest I could find within reach of the city centre so I was not sure what I would find. What I found was a warm welcome,a comfortable clean room and an acceptable(if small) breakfast.OK the decor was not really to my taste,but that is a minor consideration and it seems to be in line with other B&Bs in that part of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corinne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Spent a week here while I was working and it was everything I needed - warm, clean, very welcoming, nice to come back to at the end of the day. Straight road into town - an easy 15 minute walk or there was a very frequent bus from the stop just across the road. Would definately stay here again next time I'm in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neddyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I had booked this hotel for myself and my teenager daughter BEFORE reading any reviews on Tripadvisor. I made the mistake of reading them the night before we were due to go and I must confess was seriously thinking of trying to get out of the booking. However I am so pleased that I didn't. We were greeted by a lovely lady at the hotel who immediately helped orientate us to the local area, gave us very helpful advice about the buses and could recommend somewhere for us to grab a quick bite to eat that evening. She spoke of settling the bill only as far as to say that we may have to queue on the Sunday morning so could settle earlier if we had a train to catch. She was also very transparent about the charge for using a card which enabled me to withdraw cash instead.
We were pleasantly surprised by the room which was on the 2nd floor and was very large ( 1 double and 1 single) with a lovely big window overlooking Arthurs seat.Theere was also no skimping on the tea or coffee facilities either which was nice.
The room was certainly an explosion of flowers and chintz but was very clean with plenty of towels.
The breakfast was very nice ( I settled for poached egg and bacon on toast) and liked the fact that we were given both a pot of tea and a pot of coffee. The hotel is on a main bus route and they certainly are very frequent and give very easy access to town if you don't want to walk. I was very happy withthis hotel and would certainly stay again next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheekymonkey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I booked this B&B on line, I read the reviews, good and bad. Was a little nervous after reading a bad review about the breakfast, or lack of it if we missed the time slot. This B&B was so easy to find off the ring road, good half hour walk in to the city, but one road, very easy, we did the bus on the second night as we had a ghost tour booked.we arrived nearly an hour earlier than we scheduled and was greater by a lovely gentlemen who smiled all the time, he did advise of payment methods but not in a pushy way, he offered his advice of things to do and any local info, advised us of breakfast time etc, we travelled as a couple and we were given a large room On the ground floor with a double bed and a single, yes the decor is chintzy but we loved it, the whole place has a cosy, clean, and interesting atmosphere, we loved that the cutlery was lovely silverware and all the crockery was floral china. The shower was amazing the room was always clean, we arrived on the Friday, got up for breakfast on Saturday and went in to the city early, when we came back, the bed was remade clean towels were put out, room was cleaned. Every time we saw the owner he was smiling and friendly,we are defo going to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya_smith54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I have been stayed at the International Guest House for ca. 10 days in August.

I appreciated it, I feel like at home. It is a very nice building 15- 20 minutes walk from the city centre. I liked this walk every morning!
In any case there is the bus stop in front of the guest house, and in10 min. you are in the centre!!!

I had a single room on the 2nd floor. The room was essential, very quite, silent and clean .
The owners were kind and friendly.
Lovely stay. I will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Greta_greta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#89 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.8 mi away
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#171 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#163 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allison House Hotel
Allison House Hotel
#105 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#36 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Property: International Guest House
Address: 37 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — International Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing