We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
International Guest House
Ranked #210 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2005

I have just returned from a three night stay at the International Guest House. I found it spotlessly clean and well maintained. The owners were welcoming and friendly. The Guest House is only about 1.5 miles from the City Centre and there are numerous buses which go straight to the City Centre from almost outside the door of the guest house. There is a wide variety of items available for breakfast. Although my room was at the front of the house and there was therefore a small amount of traffic noise, the room boasted wooden shutters (as well as curtains) and I did not find the noise intrusive at all. For the quality of the establishment and it's quite central location, I thought it was also very reasonably priced. There are only three parking spaces so that might potentially be a problem but I believe that there is some parking available in a nearby side road although I did not check this myself.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 87 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
L.A., USA
13
Reviewed 27 February 2005

We have visited Edinburgh last summer, we were lucky to book our accommodations at the International. We found it very clean , comfortable and friendly. I would recommond that place and definitly, we will be back.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pasadena, CA
113
Reviewed 15 November 2003

We found everyone we dealt with on our trip to Scotland extremely friendly and a pleasure to know - except for the owner of the International Guest House, Karen. We were unjustly charged a large fee that was NOT written in the hotel policy. The owner, Karen was rude and unnegotiable in the matter. Luckily, we made our reservations through activehotels who also agreed that the fee was unjust and as a result managed to have our money refunded - but only after a lot of upset. I do not know how anyone can expect to do well in a business when they treat their customers as Karen has. There was no kind will here - definitely not what you need when on vacation.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Usaonthecars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dernier étage chambre côté jardin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Vincenzo82A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#194 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#98 of 393 in Edinburgh
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexander Guest House
Alexander Guest House
#281 of 393 in Edinburgh
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#94 of 393 in Edinburgh
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 393 in Edinburgh
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ben Doran Guest House
The Ben Doran Guest House
#156 of 393 in Edinburgh
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Guest House

Address: 37 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £55 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — International Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing