We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingsway Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
448
76
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
76
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgreat hostsowners garyroyal milethe daily specialbus lineshaggiscity centreprivate car parkoff street parkingholyrood parkbreakfast was deliciousquiet neighborhoodrestaurants and pubslovely guesthousea short bus ridepoached eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I highly recommend the Kingsway. Rick Steve's is right on target (again). The home has been remodeled and the rooms are clean and modern. The breakfasts were great with many choices. The owners, Lizzie and Gary, are a wonderful couple. The location is also convenient with a bus route just down the road that is a 5 minute ride to the Royal Mile. Good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 14erKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This dour star B&B will be a five star once the sitting room is finished. The guest rooms are warm, clean. and well furnished. Each room is spacious and immaculate,
Each day there is a breakfast special in addition to the standard fare. The specials we tried were as good as any we had at gourmet restaurants. The location is just off the main strip and you can board a bus to the Royal Mile easily.
The proprietors, Lizzie and Gary Scott , go out of their way to make you feel at home and welcomed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vfec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Lizzie and Gary were the best hosts of our 14 day trip to Scotland and Ireland. They ensured that we had a first class experience. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and comfortable with modern bathrooms. The breakfasts were great and we appreciated the breakfast to go on the day of our departure.. The local information they provided on the city was just what we needed. The location of the Kingsway is very close to the Old Town, Royal Mile and all the main attractions of the city. We would definitely stay at the Kingsway Guest House again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Clean, tidy, and very comfortable bed and breakfast in a great location. Food was lovely at breakfast, and there are nice restaurants in easy walking distance. The owners, Lizzie and Gary, were very friendly and delighted to help with anything. Really can't fault the Kingsway at all.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bess0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome, Lizzie and Gary are wonderful hosts. They are very approachable, helpful and make you feel at home. The guest house has private parking for guests (essential in Edinburgh city centre) and is ideally situated, close to all the tourist attractions, restaurants, shops and bars. The house itself is spotlessly clean, very spacious and the dining room with it's quirky little touches is delightful. Our bedroom was very well equipped, had plenty of room and a really comfortable bed. The decor in the bedroom (and in the whole house) is very tasteful and our ensuite was modern and very clean. Plenty of hot water, clean soft white towels and a good selection of complimentary toiletries etc.
Breakfast was superb! Excellent quality, big portions and plenty to choose from. The daily breakfast specials are great, something different every day, very imaginative (we had a toasted muffin with black pudding, bacon, poached egg and goats cheese) and wonderfully cooked.
Gary and Lizzie's guidance on where to eat in the city and what to do and see was invaluable. We love this place, would highly recommend and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan_and_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews