We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse, great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #12 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse, great weekend!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We only stayed for two nights, but everything was so great. The breakfast was lovely, de rooms were great and we slept very good. It's a small walk to the city, there are bars and restaurants closeby, we had a very good weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneMH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    69
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
107
243
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in mid November and loved it. The location is great...we walked to the royal mile but it's very easy to get on and off a bus. The off-street parking gave us peace of mind regarding the rental car, Gary and Lizzie were really helpful with tourist info and tips and it was my favourite breakfast of our two week B&B tour...the option of a daily special for breakfast was really great. The accommodation was comfortable and very reasonably priced. If we're in Edinburgh again, we'll be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

3 night stay for my wife's birthday on a special trip the the amazing Edinburgh. Lovely B&B and a warm welcome and a decent breakfast and we both agreed we will return for sure.
One excellent aspect is the location just off the main bus route into the city, so we parked the car round the back when we arrived and never touched it until we left.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-SuZie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWGH, Owner at Kingsway Guest House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. And we’re also delighted that yours is our 200th 5/5 review on TripAdvisor!! Thanks to everyone who has taken the time to review us – it’s massively appreciated and really helps our businesss.

As always, we’ve lots planned for 2014 including refurbishing our dining room and adding a guest lounge with computer. Do look for Kingsway on fase book for Edinburgh events, deals and aall the visitor sites.

Have a great Christmas and hope to see you again in Edinburgh very soon!
Lizzie & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here three nights with my mother and 6-year-old son. Our room was very nice, clean, and the bathroom was very spacious compared to some of our other bathrooms during our UK trip. Gary and Lizzie were both very nice and helpful and breakfast was delicious. Very close to a bus stop which provides quick access to the Royal Mile and Castle and other sights. Several great restaurants within walking distance. Also has parking, which was a huge plus for us. This was the cheapest B&B we stayed at during our trip and was just as nice or nicer than the others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I highly recommend the Kingsway. Rick Steve's is right on target (again). The home has been remodeled and the rooms are clean and modern. The breakfasts were great with many choices. The owners, Lizzie and Gary, are a wonderful couple. The location is also convenient with a bus route just down the road that is a 5 minute ride to the Royal Mile. Good value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 14erKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This dour star B&B will be a five star once the sitting room is finished. The guest rooms are warm, clean. and well furnished. Each room is spacious and immaculate,
Each day there is a breakfast special in addition to the standard fare. The specials we tried were as good as any we had at gourmet restaurants. The location is just off the main strip and you can board a bus to the Royal Mile easily.
The proprietors, Lizzie and Gary Scott , go out of their way to make you feel at home and welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vfec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Lizzie and Gary were the best hosts of our 14 day trip to Scotland and Ireland. They ensured that we had a first class experience. The rooms are a bit small, but very clean and comfortable with modern bathrooms. The breakfasts were great and we appreciated the breakfast to go on the day of our departure.. The local information they provided on the city was just what we needed. The location of the Kingsway is very close to the Old Town, Royal Mile and all the main attractions of the city. We would definitely stay at the Kingsway Guest House again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gil Dun Guest House
Gil Dun Guest House
#15 of 392 in Edinburgh
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#57 of 392 in Edinburgh
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing