We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #13 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornaby
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A really nice building located 25-30 minutes walk from the Royal mile , well served by a regular buses if you do not want to walk , the local are seemed to have more than enough pubs , and places to eat without the need to travel in the centre. The host were warm and welcoming, pre visit they kept me informed of trips and things to do , the room itself was a little small , but more than adequate it had period features including shutters which made it warm and cosy ,as well as keeping it dark for a good nights sleep , the bed was oh so cosy and to be honest one of the best i have slept in.The breakfast was very good, and tasty with a selection of specials each day. Couldn't really fault the kingsway , and would be happy to recommend the place , and would be very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: could only suggest when booking if you need more space then upgrade if possible to a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    69
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
107
243
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockton-on-tees
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

My partner took me to Edinburgh for my birthday. We stayed two nights here and was lovely. Rooms were a bit small but adequate for what we needed :) bed was sooo comfortable and I loved the shutters on the windows and the original features that were still present :). The hosts are lovely welcoming people and breakfasts the best I've tasted for a while. It's a good 20-25 min walk into town but there is a regular bus service if you don't fancy the walk. Would recommend staying here to anyone :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calmspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at this lovely b&b with my partner for three nights in December and it was a perfect relaxing break away. We loved everything - from the kind owners, the comfiest bed, and best ever breakfasts.

Lizzie and Gary are lovely and made us feel very welcome, it felt like we were staying with good friends! They gave us good advice on places to visit and events on, and answered all our questions. Breakfasts were a highlight with tasty full cooked or daily specials. I loved the pancakes, bacon and maple syrup, and my partner's favourite was an unusual asparagus, parma ham and poached egg special!

We enjoyed the peace of their local area and worked our way through Lizzie & Gary's recommended restaurants and visited a number of local pubs. They were all brilliant so had a great time each evening, and nothing was more than ten minutes away.

Our room was lovely and cosy to return to each evening. Everything was very clean, free wifi, everything had been thought of really. Thanks again for a great stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at this B&B over a weekend in December, for a break before xmas. Overall, it is very good, both the hosts are lovely, very pleasant and you can tell they are passionate about what they do. The breakfast is fantastic, very good choice, lots of options and everything is very clean and well presented. The room was a little on the small side, but this is minor, especially as the bed is very comfy, and there are all the facilities you'd expect from a B&B. The location is also quite good, only having to jump on very regular buses, to reach Princes Street/Royal mile etc. However, we encountered two slight negatives, first was that the cups in the room for the tea/coffee etc where not cleaned very well, and secondly the toilet appeared not to be cleaned from the previous guests, and without further detail, this was visually evident. We didn't mention anything at the time for it being a bit awkward, and to be honest we found out the next day, that there is a cleaner who does all the rooms, and it was probably on reflection an oversight by her, and simply a mistake, as the rest of the B&B was very clean, and on our second day, the bathroom was cleaned much better. All in all, this is a very nice B&B and good value for money, and where it not for a few slight cleanliness issues, it would of got 5 stars!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We only stayed for two nights, but everything was so great. The breakfast was lovely, de rooms were great and we slept very good. It's a small walk to the city, there are bars and restaurants closeby, we had a very good weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneMH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights in mid November and loved it. The location is great...we walked to the royal mile but it's very easy to get on and off a bus. The off-street parking gave us peace of mind regarding the rental car, Gary and Lizzie were really helpful with tourist info and tips and it was my favourite breakfast of our two week B&B tour...the option of a daily special for breakfast was really great. The accommodation was comfortable and very reasonably priced. If we're in Edinburgh again, we'll be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

3 night stay for my wife's birthday on a special trip the the amazing Edinburgh. Lovely B&B and a warm welcome and a decent breakfast and we both agreed we will return for sure.
One excellent aspect is the location just off the main bus route into the city, so we parked the car round the back when we arrived and never touched it until we left.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-SuZie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWGH, Owner at Kingsway Guest House, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review and we’re happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. And we’re also delighted that yours is our 200th 5/5 review on TripAdvisor!! Thanks to everyone who has taken the time to review us – it’s massively appreciated and really helps our businesss.

As always, we’ve lots planned for 2014 including refurbishing our dining room and adding a guest lounge with computer. Do look for Kingsway on fase book for Edinburgh events, deals and aall the visitor sites.

Have a great Christmas and hope to see you again in Edinburgh very soon!
Lizzie & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
951 reviews
0.2 mi away
94DR
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gil Dun Guest House
Gil Dun Guest House
#14 of 392 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#59 of 392 in Edinburgh
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing