We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Edinborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #12 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh. Gary and Lizzie made sure that we had a truly memorable stay in this beautiful city. The room that my wife and I stayed in was large and clean – the showers had great water pressure (this is really important for me). In addition to a delicious standard Scottish breakfast, they offered great vegetarian options. Also, each morning there was a special such as Belgian waffles, delicious fluffy omelets and tasty quiche.

The location is also very convenient. We took the local buses (which are quite easy to navigate) to the Royal Mile and other areas in the City Center. For the athletic types, there are some great running spots nearby. My wife and I ran nearly every morning from the B&B to Hollyrood Park/Arthur’s Seat area, which provided breathtaking views of the city and a very serene running route.

Lastly, there are some fabulous restaurants within a 5-10 minute radius. No need to spend every evening at the tourist restaurants near the Royal Mile.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TSean44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lizzie and her husband are super nice. They had our room available for us even though we arrived very early in the morning. We took the airlink bus from the airport to the Waverly bridge and then took a taxi to the B&B. The tax cost about 6 pounds. The room was pretty we stayed on the 3rd floor both the times and had two different rooms but both of them nice. They had nice view of the edge of the city with some rolling green hills. They had us write down what we wanted for breakfast and they had a nice spread everyday which included toast, tea, coffee, pastries, eggs, haggis (meat and veggie haggis), sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms, potato scones. They have a nice dvd collection if you want to pop a movie in for the night. They have nice large umbrellas available and yes they did come in handy. The B&B is a nice 30 minute walk from the royal mile or a 15 minute bus ride. There are plenty of bus lines from the road. We had to make a last minute reservation on our way back due to some last minute plan changes and they were able to accommodate us. They will go out of their way to help you out and make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Even though higher floor is a little bit of steep hike, its nice rooms and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandhya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the last stop of our Scottish holiday and it was a great way to end. Friendly, welcoming hosts, very comfortable room, and a great location. We were provided with a very useful map of local services and restaurants, and there's free off-road parking at the rear. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

New Year in Edinburgh was a blast!. There was a buzz around the city in the build up to the big event, and after. Even the weather was fine - who says it's cold up north. To top it off the guesthouse was all we could want. I am realistic and not expecting perfection or something for nothing, but this guesthouse was very reasonably priced and perfect for our stay. The hosts were great and so was the room and breakfast. I came away feeling like I should have paid more for what we received.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellehertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my second visit to Kingsway Guest House and it was as good as my first a couple of years ago. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly, my room (# 6) was on the top floor but my suitcase was carried up for me when I arrived and that was much appreciated. Thoughtful to put a corkscrew and wine glasses on the welcome tray ! Lovely clean and tiled shower room - plenty of room too. Caution though - the floor was pretty slippery when wet so be aware. Pick up the info sheets in the lobby, they tell about restaurants and shops in the area and are extremely helpful. You only have to walk half a block to get to the bus stop where several buses take you down into the city center and the guest house business card has a helpful little map on the back showing where you are and which buses to get to come "home" - great touch. Excellent breakfast - you get to order from a menu the night before and, as well as the usual Scottish full breakfast, there is a "special" each morning.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so be prepared to climb stairs. Rooms at the back have lovely views out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalind P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Shortly - it felt like staying with a distant family. :) Very nice place, with great service, good food and nice, helpful people. The room surprised us with how nicely things were arranged there. Overall, one of the prettiest and cleanest places we stayed in in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,012 reviews
23 Mayfield
#4 of 393 in Edinburgh
969 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
Ard-na-said
#14 of 393 in Edinburgh
361 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing