We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short holiday away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #12 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This place was lovely, I was greeted at the door and got help with the bags up to the room. The host was great, he gave us tips and a hand drawn map around the house for supermarkets, cash machines, petrol station, places to eat etc. All within about 10-15 minutes walk away. We were also given a handy little card with bus routes and taxi numbers and the address of the house so you can always get back with out getting too lost. Choice of breakfast special or cooked breakfast options available, specials were very nice. If I visit Edinburgh again I would stay here.

Room Tip: There was an iPod dock and the tv had a built in DVD player which was a great touch and made it feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank kjlcoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at Kingsway for 3 nights. We chose this b & b on the strength of Rick Steves' recommendation as well as other TA reviews.

Lizzie met us and got us situated in our room, which was up just one flight of stairs and roomy and comfortable. She gave us some information about Edinburgh and answered our questions. She guided us to the car pack behind the house, which was packed full of cars at the time and a challenge to get in/out of, especially if you are skittish about driving on the "English" side of the car! :)

We didn't meet Gary until the last day we were there but he seemed friendly enough. Lizzie was, as well, but we found both of them to be more professional in their interactions with us than overly friendly. We understand that, as some of their customers probably prefer fewer interactions than others...we tend to enjoy talking more to our b & b proprietors, and of all the places we stayed on our 2 week UK trip, Lizzie and Gary were probably the least involved with us.

This does not imply that we did not enjoy our stay at Kingsway, because we did. And we would and will recommend it as a good place to stay. The breakfasts were satisfactory and the accommodations were very good.

Room Tip: Happy with our room...believe it was #2. Spacious and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Spent a city break in Edinburgh for a few days with my girlfriend staying at Kingsway house at Easter. Lizzie was really friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay! Would recommend to anyone! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a very pleasant stay of 4 nights, had very good breakfast with good and daily changing specials, and a really enjoyable host family. Quiet, and yet close to perfect bus connections into downtown. Definitely a place to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bodo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a wonderful place to stay in Edinburgh. Gary and Lizzie made sure that we had a truly memorable stay in this beautiful city. The room that my wife and I stayed in was large and clean – the showers had great water pressure (this is really important for me). In addition to a delicious standard Scottish breakfast, they offered great vegetarian options. Also, each morning there was a special such as Belgian waffles, delicious fluffy omelets and tasty quiche.

The location is also very convenient. We took the local buses (which are quite easy to navigate) to the Royal Mile and other areas in the City Center. For the athletic types, there are some great running spots nearby. My wife and I ran nearly every morning from the B&B to Hollyrood Park/Arthur’s Seat area, which provided breathtaking views of the city and a very serene running route.

Lastly, there are some fabulous restaurants within a 5-10 minute radius. No need to spend every evening at the tourist restaurants near the Royal Mile.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TSean44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lizzie and her husband are super nice. They had our room available for us even though we arrived very early in the morning. We took the airlink bus from the airport to the Waverly bridge and then took a taxi to the B&B. The tax cost about 6 pounds. The room was pretty we stayed on the 3rd floor both the times and had two different rooms but both of them nice. They had nice view of the edge of the city with some rolling green hills. They had us write down what we wanted for breakfast and they had a nice spread everyday which included toast, tea, coffee, pastries, eggs, haggis (meat and veggie haggis), sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms, potato scones. They have a nice dvd collection if you want to pop a movie in for the night. They have nice large umbrellas available and yes they did come in handy. The B&B is a nice 30 minute walk from the royal mile or a 15 minute bus ride. There are plenty of bus lines from the road. We had to make a last minute reservation on our way back due to some last minute plan changes and they were able to accommodate us. They will go out of their way to help you out and make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Even though higher floor is a little bit of steep hike, its nice rooms and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandhya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This was the last stop of our Scottish holiday and it was a great way to end. Friendly, welcoming hosts, very comfortable room, and a great location. We were provided with a very useful map of local services and restaurants, and there's free off-road parking at the rear. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
Glenalmond House
#61 of 394 in Edinburgh
253 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
725 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
567 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing