We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #12 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Nadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend during a short stay in Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival.
Loved our stay in the Kingsway Guest house. Loved the breakfast, loved the clean decorated room and loved the friendly staff. So warm and friendly.
Good Location to the city. 20min walk to the royal mile where you pass many cafe and restaurants. We loved the southern for a nice cocktail and burger.
Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank zzztinazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our 3rd stay at Kingsway guest house and once again we have rebooked for next year. Rooms are very clean and spacious and breakfast is really something to look forward to with a daily special as well as choice of cereals, toast and full scottish. Location-wise it is perfect for us as we visit Edinburgh in August for the fringe festival. It is approximately a 20 minute walk to the centre however has a very good bus route. As usual Lizzie and Gary made us very welcome?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdiFestival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Kingsway on the first leg of our long, first European trip in 2013. I had heard that UK B&B's were great, and Kingsway did not disappoint! In fact they were the best B&B we stayed at in all of Europe...

~The owners, Gary and Lizzie, and housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly. They gave us great recommendations on places to eat for dinner nearby.
~The breakfast was delicious. We had a full breakfast everyday with excellent service. Lizzie even packed us a breakfast to-go on a day we had planned an early tour.
~The room was clean & well decorated.
~Great Location. Only a short bus ride to the Royal Mile. It is also close walk to the Sir Arthur's Seat hike which we were able to sneak in before breakfast on our first day there (we were up early because of the time difference).

We are coming back next year as part of a larger family trip to Scotland and can't wait to share Kingsway with them!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My sister and I really enjoyed our visit in Edinburgh and staying at Kingsway for three days in July. The room was clean and the beds were excellent. Our little sitting area by the bay window was great. We were able to choose a special breakfast, that changed every day, or eat their regular delicious and filling meal. We were good to go past lunch time. The proprietors, Lizzie and Gary Scott, are friendly and helpful. Free WiFi was a terrific bonus to help us stay in touch. Can walk to the Castle or take buses nearby. I hope to return to visit the Scottish Highlands which didn't fit in this time. As soon as the opportunity presents itself I will stay at the Kingsway again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for three nights in July. Easy walk to town and many close restaurants nearby. Very helpful owners. Clean and very good full breakfast every morning. A little bonus was the stock of DVDs to watch in your room. Good Wifi. They do have free parking but it is in back of the building. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank EdHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kingsway. The breakfast was excellent. The room was well appointed and cleaned to a high standard. The wifi had good signal strength and was free. Within a short distance, on foot, there was an extensive choice of restaurants. We tried both Hanedans the Turkish restaurant and Cafe Casis the French restaurant, both of which were excellent. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank revvybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
23 Mayfield
#4 of 395 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Glenalmond House
#57 of 395 in Edinburgh
253 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 395 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#5 of 395 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#16 of 395 in Edinburgh
573 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 395 in Edinburgh
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £77 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing