We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly owners, plenty of good tips and great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #13 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bubendorf, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Friendly owners, plenty of good tips and great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Enjoyed our stay very much. Nice rooms and great breakfast. Gary and Lizzie were attentive to our needs and always had some good tips for us. Appreciated their flexibility when we had to change our plans slightly regarding our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    67
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
101
236
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monnickendam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

Everything you want including parking.
Nice clean rooms, lovely helpful people, personal warmth and a good breakfast for a decent price.
And as a bonus some nice pubs and restaurants nearby plus good bus connections; what more do you want!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fransf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed at the Kingsway with our 18 month old daughter and the owners could not have been more helpful. It was easy to get to the Royal Mile either on the bus or a good walk and most importantly we felt we had good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

The Kingsway is a great find - recently refurbished and looking stylish yet keeping its scottish charm. The breaksfasts are great - you can even choose haggis (yum!) and Lizzie and Gary are Edinburgh born and bred with excellent knowledge of this amazing city and whats going on. Really great value for money and in a location that gives you easy access to the city centre and the sights of Edinburgh... would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckayjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Lizzy and Gary treated us very well since we arrived.
The room was very clean and they gave us good tips on things to do in the city.
Something we found "different" was their home cooked breakfast, as they give you the chance to have some tastes of Scotland.
We stayed in other B&B and hotels througout Europe, but the Kingsway was the one we enjoyed the most.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergwozdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We had a great stay with Lizzy and Gary in Kingsway Guesthouse. Apart from their great hospitality, the thing we noticed the most and liked best was, how well they have really thought about running their guesthouse. For example breakfast: by leaving a note about the things you would like to have for breakfast the night before, their business card with busses and taxi's on the back, the booklet with information and tips.
Small downside: although the bathroom was very spacious, it wasn't ensuite.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huphuphup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingswayGH, Owner at Kingsway Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Thanks for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay!.

For prospective guests, please note that the majority of our rooms are en-suite and none of our rooms have shared facilities. Room type is clearly stated throughout the booking process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Loup des Chaumes
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We prepared our stay in Edinburgh and Scotland ourselves. We enjoy our trip and particulaly Edinburgh, the start to the end! Kingsway is our first met in Scotland and it's the good way to appreciate your Country! Very Sympatical Staff and lovely place!
...
We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffroyfromBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing