We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful super clean comfortable place to stay with the most helpful hosts you could wish for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsway Guest House
Ranked #13 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Keeling Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A delightful super clean comfortable place to stay with the most helpful hosts you could wish for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

Gary and Lizzie have obviously worked very hard to make this place your home away from home with great attention to the small details. They have created a lovely guest house and they can't do enough to help their guests. The rooms although quite small are very well appointed and the location is great - a very quick bus ride up to the Royal Mile although we walked quite easily. There is even safe parking at the back. Breakfast is excellent and you may even be served by Gary in his tartan apron! We highly recommend this place if you like b & bs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jencocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    67
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
101
236
22
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BrookieG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We spent 4 nights at Kingsway and couldn't have been happier. Our hosts, Lizzie and Gary, were incredibly kind and helpful. They provided us with great information upon arrival and prepared us a delicious breakfast each morning in the front room. The rooms were comfortable with a small bathroom. It was easy to take the bus to the Royal Mile. My husband also took a bus to the Borders to fish one day. Lizzie packed him a breakfast for his journey as he had to leave early in the morning. We highly recommend this B&B and would definitely stay there again if we were to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

The Bed and Breakfast was very clean and generally very well kept. My partner and I spent four nights at the Kingsway and both really enjoyed it. The B and B was very cosy and welcoming and is somewhere you can look forward to returning to after a day of sightseeing. Gary and Lizzie are both very friendly and take pride in making sure that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. They're both very willing to help you find out about what's going on in the City which can be a big help.

I thought the B and B's location was very good. It's not right in the city centre, which is nice to get away from the hustle and bustle, but having said that it's easily walkable and when you're not in the mood to do this, or the weather isn't great you can easily hop on a bus for a really short journey. After 11 the buses are slightly less frequent so if you don't want to wait around for ten minutes or so, then have a look at the timetable in advance. When this happened to us we decided to walk as it's not far. The B and B is also round the corner from some really lovely restaurants, of which Gary and Lizzie have put together their recommended list. We thought the Italian Positano and the Scottish Old Bell were particularly good. The breakfasts at the B and B were also very tasty and there is certainly enough to fill up on, whether you go for a cooked or continental breakfast.

Edinburgh is also a beautiful city with loads to do and would definitely recommend people to visit.

Overall it was a lovely stay and would definitely return to both Edinburgh and Kingsway again. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattandPaulBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worksop
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

just enjoyed a very pleasent stay at kingsway, lizzie is a fantastic host, and greets you with a smile and a warm welcome, rooms are neat and tidy, well appointed in every way, most of the old features of the building have been kept in tact, and enhanced with a touch of modern, all in a very tastefull way.
breakfast was excellant and enough for anyone, cereals, fruit juice, and the good old fry up ! large pots of tea, or if you prefer continental is available.
so thats it in a nutshell, if your visiting edinburgh give them a call, you wont be disapointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseinhand81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We have stayed at Kingsway a couple of times when visiting our daughter at Uni. Very convenient, very welcoming and overall always an enjoyable stay. The breakfast is as big or small as you wish, and always well cooked with a friendly smile to greet you in the morning. Lizzie and Gary are happy to suggest places to visit and know Edinburgh well and are always interested in your destinations. All in all, a well run guest house, with comfortable rooms, very pleasant surroundings and we will return!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Very friendly hosts, made us feel at home from beginning to end. Excellent choice for breakfast. Good advice given for things to see and do which are off the beaten track. Loved the top 10 recommendations. Will definetely stay there again on our next visit to Edinburgh. All in all a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alafuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Had a fantastic stay at this wonderful Edinburgh guest house. The owners were so lovely, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were always excellent. Staying at this guest house made our trip to Edinburgh even more special. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Guest House

Property: Kingsway Guest House
Address: 5 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsway Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsway is a great value AA four star gold rated guest house offering the warmest of Scottish hospitality, located just one mile from Edinburgh's famous Royal Mile. Always * BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST PRICE * Our stylish rooms are comfortable, cosy with all you will need for a great stay and our freshly cooked Scottish breakfasts with daily specials have won an AA breakfast awards for the last 4 years for quality and use of local produce. Rooms offer comfortable beds, fluffy towels, TV/DVD, internet radio, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryer. We can offer our guests great local information to help enjoy their visit to Edinburgh, complementary high speed wifi and also use of our private off street car park. There is an excellent selection of cafes, restaurants and pubs within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the guest house. You can find more details and useful information about Edinburgh's sights and events on the KingswayGuestHouse FB page and also follow us on twitter/ instagram at KingswayEdin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsway Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Kingsway Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing