We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast , lunch, coffees”
Review of Taste of Italy

Taste of Italy
Ranked #112 of 2,554 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Taste of Italy is an all-day, casual dining café with a passion for authentic Italian food - from fantastic breakfasts and a great selection of light bites, to freshly prepared pizzas and pasta dishes, plus indulgent home-made cakes. Pop into Taste and discover food that is fresh, tasty and good value for money, served up in a friendly, relaxed environment.
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I visit Taste of Italy often. Sometimes with my children, sometimes on my own. It's got a great breakfast menu but also really nice authentic Italian meals at sensible prices. I particularly like their spaghetti carbonara. Things like home made soup as well. But also a nice coffee stop when shopping. The staff are pleasant and the opening hours long. It's also handy for the centre of town. The foreign cafe atmosphere with the music videos on adds to the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 4bsy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Taste of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

I am pleased that we can be your little getaway during a hectic day. Thank you for taking the time to review Taste. Your review and custom are valued and appreciated.

Angela Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
There are newer reviews for Taste of Italy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

I had quick meal few times here and it's good. The girls are nice and food is ok. Nothing amazing but tasty good food. Never had any problem with anything here. I like this place for a quick bite!

1  Thank KaT_SoM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Taste of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Quick, tasty, authentic Italian food and coffee. We are an eatery which caters for all dietary needs as well. Thank you for your review.


Angela Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Really great Italian food that's super cheap. They have a really amazing selection and the service is always fast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Taste of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

I like to think inexpensive and great portions with great service. Thank you for your review. It is appreciated.

Angela Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

While visiting Scotland we did not stay in the city center and so we got to enjoy local eateries such as this one.
It is open relatively early, which is quite convenient for tourist wanting to get an early jump on the sights to see and/or take the food to go on a tour.
We enjoyed their latte which comes with 2 shots of espresso and is very tasty!

Also, had their tasty breakfast food: Omelette came with 3 eggs with bacon and cheese and served with baked beans. The sausage and egg sandwich was also quite nice and was stacked with sausage.

This power breakfast kept us busy sightseeing and were not hungry until late afternoon!

Great coffee, pleasant service and excellent food!

Happy Eats :-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mannygoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Taste of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your great review. We please many of our guests in this exact way: a great Italian coffee and a solid healthy fresh breakfast to carry you through your day. I am just sorry that you did not return for dinner.

Angela Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Great tasting food with very helpful staff. Small restaurant but very nice. Lots of choice. Will definetly be visiting again.

Thank Kyle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony c, Owner at Taste of Italy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Thank you for your great recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Angela Crolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Italy also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing