We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Come Ben the Hoose

Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile) Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile)
Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Master bedroom, a lovely sunny room with twin beds builtin wardrobes and coathangers
Lounge features two chairs, plus a sofa and Freeview TV plus DVD
Dinning table folded away when not in use.
Light sunny lounge with book case and information leaflets
View as come in the front door, stairs to the 2 bedrooms
Bright Galley kitchen
Sky Light single bedroom with a built in wardrobe and childrens games .
Optional fold-up bed is available, or  travel cot
Shower room with wash hand basin and WC.  Shelving for toiletries
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle
One of the many Street Performers in the Edinburgh during the Festival in August
Dunbar Harbour, East Lothian is also nearby and worth a visit
My grandson and myself sledging in the local park
Portobello beach looking towards Musselburgh with its harbour, shops and coastal walk way
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle with spectators at the Military Tatoo on the castle espanade
Come Ben the Hoose, come in the house your welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Laurewale...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Quiet spot, very close to Edinburgh city centre, parks and the beach. The house is small but in very good condition and the hostess makes sure that you have everything you need to have a nice holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review, it was great having you stay and hope to see you again soon.
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Linda...
2 reviews
“Great wee place.”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ann the owner is very kind and thoughtful. The house is small, and very clean, but it has everything you need to enjoy your stay.
It is only about 15 minutes by bus into the centre of Edinburgh, and a half an hour walk to Portobello, and it seems to get shorter every time you do it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed going to Portobello with it golden sandy beach and local shops. Their is more to Edinburgh than the city centre. I hope you will return sometime soon. Best wishes to you all. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kozolec
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

»28 satisfied guests can't be wrong,« went through my mind while , in search of a suitable housing for our visit to Edinburgh, I was reading enthusiastic comments about Ann McDonald, the landlady of »Come Ben the Hoose«. And sure enough, Ann has proved to be a perfect hostess whose high priority is to make her guests feel at home.
The first sign of warm hospitality was the welcome pack, well assembled little food assortment that was more than useful as we didn't have time for grocery shopping , having arrived late in the evening. Bread, toast, butter, jam, milk, cheese, ham, ginger cake and a bottle of good wine were like a balm to our tired bodies after the all-day trip. Besides, Ann offered us a helping hand throughout our stay for every little thing we needed.
LODGINGS
The apartment is small but functionally and neatly arranged. It is ideal for putting up 3 people, an additional fold-up bed can be added for a fourth person but that makes the smaller bedroom somewhat crammed. Beds are very comfortable, we slept like lambs.
The bathroom is on the small side as well but it lacks nothing essential; only the washbasin is slightly undersized. When taking a shower you might have difficulties turning on the smooth faucet handles. Some practice beforehand is advisable.
The mini kitchen is well equipped. The well-stocked cupboard with basic food supplies was a nice surprise: spices and herbs, sugar, coffee, tea, jam, cereal – perfect. Cutlery, plates, glasses – neat and practical. There were sufficient pots and pans for even more demanding culinary exploits. If I wanted to split hairs I would suggest adding one bigger well-sharpened knife, a larger strainer and a cheese grater. The oven is less efficient than average ovens, you have to reserve some more time for baking.
LOCATION
Ann's house is situated about 5 km from the city centre and all the main sights of Edinburgh. Bus connections are frequent but you can take a lovely walk to the city through Holyrood Park instead. While at it, you can climb the mandatory Arthur's Seat. However, I would recommend that you choose a specially beautiful day for the latter and set out on a bright morning with some lunch in your bagpack to reach the sightseeing point offering you a spectacular view on Edinburgh and its surroundings. Portobello and the beach are 15 minutes walking distance, Figgate Park with a wide pond in the immediate vicinity of the house is an ideal destination for a relaxing morning walk.
There is a small store for urgent shopping round the corner and the first Morrison's supermarket within 15 min walk.
The neighbourhood is unbelievably quiet, in six days of our stay the occasional screech of seagulls from a distance was the loudest noise we have heard.
For a very reasonable price (no extra charge for late arrival or heating, no cleaning fee) we received a lot. Edinburgh is a fascinating city, Ann a splendid hostess, Scotland is beautiful and its people very friendly. We can't wait to return.
Andrej

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcome pack great host
Liked least: we miss some things in the kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thank you for your review and suggestions for the kitchen equipment and the wash basin. I will put them to do list for when I have a quiet time. I always inform guest about the 4th bed taken up the floor space in the single bedroom and it is up to them if they will be happy with it.
It was lovely having you and your family staying and will look forward to you your return visit. Haste ye back, Ann. (Auld Scott's Hurry back)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patsomeon...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Perfect little house”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved this little house - very comfortable and warm - and an excellent base for our visit to see friends and relatives in Edinburgh and nearby. Welcome pack was excellent. Ann was very helpful when we had a query about wifi - nothing was too much trouble for her.

We plan to return on our next trip north.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you Pat, it was lovely having you both staying at Come Ben the Hoose. It was team work with the Wi-Fi. I look forward see you on your next visit to Edinburgh and Scotland.
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarjanaBS...
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, cosy, good location”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were warmly welcomed by the kind landlady Ann, although it was rather late in the evening. The house is small but neat, very well equipped and practically furnished. The tiny kitchen is astonishingly practical and functional. There was a welcome pack waiting for us and there were basic groceries (sugar, salt, spices, pasta, milk, fruits etc.) in the cupboards and in the fridge so we could start cooking on the spot. Many other little details made us feel at home right away (flowers, books on the shelves, toys for children etc.).
We were four adults but we could function surprisingly well in the little house. The smaller bedroom was a bit crowded though if the second bed was added.
The location is a good combination of a quiet neighbourhood at the foot of Arthur's Seat, near Duddingston Gardens, a walking distance to the beach and still close enough to the centre of Edinburgh. What we liked best is the friendliness and discreet helpfulness. We didn't really dislike anything - if the location were a little closer to the centre that would be ideal but almost too good to be true...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to send your thoughts on your stay at Come Ben the Hoose and Edinburgh. You are a lovely family and it was great having you stay for your family wedding. I hope you may come back again at some time and you can try some of our other surrounding hills. Best wishes for 2016 Ann and Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelbug...
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at Come Ben the Hoose while visiting a friend in Edinburgh over the holidays. Ann was a truly spectacular host! She took excellent care of us from the moment that we arrived, with a lovely welcome basket and plenty of helpful information to get around town. She really went above and beyond. The house itself was incredibly clean and comfortable and the location was very convenient -- a quick bus ride into downtown Edinburgh and all the sites. My friends and I would definitely stay here again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Hi Lisa, Sabrina and Jennifer I am sorry it has taken this long to reply to your lovely review I can't believe it is May already. I am so pleased that you choose to bring in the New Year at Come Ben the Hoose and in Edinburgh. I wish you all a Fabulous 2016. Ann and Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallyElsi...
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A perfect location for those looking to explore Edinburgh and it's surroundings! A very cosy stay with a very welcoming host who was always available to point us to the nearest landmark. We loved coming back to the little cottage after a busy day out exploring! Thank you for your hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at Come Ben the Hoose, it was great having you. I hope to see you again. I am sorry it has taken this long to reply to you. Best wishes to you both Ann and Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing