We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good things come in small packages”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Come Ben the Hoose

Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile) Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Come Ben the Hoose, just 15 minutes from Edinburgh city centre
Portobello Beach,  within walking distance 20min  (approx 1mile)
Fully fitted ktichen, complete with welcome pack
Master bedroom, a lovely sunny room with twin beds builtin wardrobes and coathangers
Lounge features two chairs, plus a sofa and Freeview TV plus DVD
Dinning table folded away when not in use.
Light sunny lounge with book case and information leaflets
View as come in the front door, stairs to the 2 bedrooms
Bright Galley kitchen
Sky Light single bedroom with a built in wardrobe and childrens games .
Optional fold-up bed is available, or  travel cot
Shower room with wash hand basin and WC.  Shelving for toiletries
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle
One of the many Street Performers in the Edinburgh during the Festival in August
Dunbar Harbour, East Lothian is also nearby and worth a visit
My grandson and myself sledging in the local park
Portobello beach looking towards Musselburgh with its harbour, shops and coastal walk way
Fireworks from Edinburgh Castle with spectators at the Military Tatoo on the castle espanade
Come Ben the Hoose, come in the house your welcome
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
875cheryl...
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This 2 bedroom 'hoose' was ideal for 3 girls in Edunburgh for a long weekend.
Everything you need in a clean, modern home from home :-))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm and friendly welcome
Liked least: There was not anything which I did not like.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
I enjoyed having you stay at Come Ben the Hoose, and am pleased that you found it to your liking. I hope you may return at sometime in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your thought on Tripadvisor. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juammat
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house away from all the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This little house is a great place to stay. it is clean and tidy and is exactly as described. Ann , the owner, gave us a very warm welcome and took time to explain about all the local amenities . The house has everything you could possibly need , including a welcome pack with tea, sugar, milk, bread, butter, cakes, etc, to start you off. I would recommend you stay here if you want to be a short distance away from the busy city. A bus at the end of the street takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the city costing just £3 for a return ticket. The bus runs until about 11pm but you can get a taxi costing about £10 if you wanted to stay out late and didn't want to walk. In the other direction you can have a lovely walk through a park to the beach. If I ever came to Edinburgh again I would definitely stay here and would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone. A big thank you to Ann, who on the last day of our stay, before we had to leave, took us for a drive to the park where we were able to see from height all the fantastic views of the city. Thank you Ann

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Away from the noise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
It was pleasure to have you and your friends stay at Come Ben the Hoose for your birthday celebration' s. Thank you for your kind review and hope you may return at sometime in the future. My best wishes to you all. Ann.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzyDream
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Place, Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I really enjoyed my stay here in this great little house which is next to the owner's home. Ann & Gordon provide a warm welcome and all those little extras like tissues, washing liquid, hand cream, toilet rolls, shampoo and more. The place is comfortable with everything you need (although sadly no dishwasher) and is exactly as shown in the photos. The location is great, just 15 minutes walk to the beach, five minutes to a lovely park and 45 minutes to the city or catch the bus -there are several which drop you within 5 minutes walk of the house. There's a great Tesco Express near the bus stop and Morrison's is 5 minutes drive or catch the no 4 bus. Lots of info and timetables and a really useful A to Z are provided for you to borrow.

I would just mention that heating is controlled by the owners but you can override the system if you are cold (and each radiator has its own thermostat if you're too warm). The garden is shared with the owner but there is a space set aside especially for guest use. Parking is on street and can get busy but I easily found a space in the street. I had a few issues using the wifi with my iPad but it worked fine on my Android phone, and the iPad is well known for sensitivity to router settings.

I recommend this place if you're looking for a comfortable house in a good location with a friendly welcome and a family feel to your break. Ann & Gordon go out of their way to help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and Welcome Pack which was much appreciated
Liked least: I struggled with the small sink in the bathroom but I know Ann is looking at changing this
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
We enjoyed having you stay at the Hoose and are please you have a great time in Edinburgh and at the Tattoo. Unfortunately there is no room for a dishwasher. Thank you for leaving the Hoose so spick and span. Haste ye back. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hostess
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you, I am pleased that you loved our Portobello's beach, promenade the shop, cafe's and restaurants as much as I do. There is a lot more to Edinburgh than the castle and city centre. It was great having you stay at Come Ben the Hoose.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sharon M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

this is a lovely little house. Great location for Edinburgh with bus stop at the end of the road and 15 minute walk to Portobello Beach. We took our 7 year old and there was plenty for him to do. The house was very clean and tidy and really could not have asked for more. The welcome pack was great and really appreciated after such a long drive from Nottingham.
The owner lived next door and was happy to be called upon for tips and suggestions.
We would definitely recommend and will return .
5 out of 5

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
It was great meeting you and and your family. I am so pleased that you enjoyed Come Ben the Hoose, Portobello Beach and your trip over the Forth Road bridge. I hope Dave is back in training for his next 1/2 marathon? I look forwards to seeing you again . Regards Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurewale...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Quiet spot, very close to Edinburgh city centre, parks and the beach. The house is small but in very good condition and the hostess makes sure that you have everything you need to have a nice holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review, it was great having you stay and hope to see you again soon.
Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Linda...
2 reviews
“Great wee place.”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ann the owner is very kind and thoughtful. The house is small, and very clean, but it has everything you need to enjoy your stay.
It is only about 15 minutes by bus into the centre of Edinburgh, and a half an hour walk to Portobello, and it seems to get shorter every time you do it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed going to Portobello with it golden sandy beach and local shops. Their is more to Edinburgh than the city centre. I hope you will return sometime soon. Best wishes to you all. Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing