We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Fab Spa and Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Fab Spa and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times, both in standard rooms, once in the older part of the building in a nice big spacious room and the other in the newer part of the building in a smaller but more modern room. Both times the rooms were very comfortable and clean.

Ate in the brasserie restaurant and had a nice dinner. They were very accommodating to my Gluten free diet and pointed out all the things on the menu that I could eat, offering to alter anything if necessary.

The spa is lovely, with a really relaxing pool area, steam room, hydropool and sauna. The Elemis treatments are fabulous.

The hotel is a good half hour journey from Edinburgh so not great if you are looking for a city break, but it is lovely for a relaxing stay and is very near to the airport. The grounds of the hotel are also very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    383
    132
    53
    20
See reviews for
224
639
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

This is by Far the best hotel in Edinburgh. Although it is not city centre it is in beautiful surroundings nearby the airport. The food in Brasserie is amazing and very well priced!
I would always pay the little bit extra for an executive room!
Dont stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatchback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

This hotel is comfortable and has a great setting. What is missing is recommendations for walks in the surounding grounds since the Woodland walk is a joke. Food in the Usher resturant is also amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinniTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

I got married here recently and had given the hotel staff a fairly hard time to ensure that everything was perfect. There wasn't any need to, in hindsight, this place runs like clockwork.

They treated me, my husband and our very large group of family and friends that stayed for the two nights impeccably. They were faultless (and I would hope to have spotted something if there was something to spot, as being the bride I was paranoid about everyone having a good time). The rooms are comfortable, great modern decor, the brasserie restaurant cosy and stylish; the staff can't do enough for you (and believe me, we had some weird requests!). The rooms have some great touches. There are TVs in the bath, comfortable bathrobes, balconies in our rooms, amazing showers... the list goes on.

The food both at the wedding and in the brasserie was brilliant. It's famed locally for its food and it didn't disappoint.

This is 4* hotel at the top of its game. Other 4* hotels we have been to recently can't hold a candle to this place. We will be back again and again, and we would recommend it to anyone. A word of caution: this is a hotel that does weddings really, really well so you are going to get some noise from guests. This isn't the fault of the hotel, but if you are concerned about this, speak to them about where your room will be in relation to the wedding suite. Ask for a quiet room and they'll do their best for you I just know it. Forewarned is forearmed.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghgrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilterns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

First visited this hotel in 1954 ( I was very young!) when it was regarded as rather upmarket. Obviously many changes since then but it still had an upmarket feel. Not easily reached by public transport but there was plenty of parking available during our visit. We had a standard room with breakfast and found this to be well worth the price paid. Little touches made a difference eg I was about to ring reception to complain that there was no milk in the coffee /tea tray when I found a small carton of fresh milk in the fridge- I have not come across this before in a hotel. Two glass bottles of water were also provided in the fridge. We did not have dinner but the breakfasts were excellent with everything cooked to order if required. Room was very comfortable with a wide screen which I found slightly too large when viewing from the bed. All the staff from reception, bar and breakfast were friendly and helpful and this was also demonstrated at a funeral reception we attended at the hotel. Would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HectorMacduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Good location near to Edingburgh airport but in lovelyleafy setting and very little aircraft noise, typical high standards of this hotel group and this one beter than most of their others which are all to a very high standard, food great and very good value and outstanding friendly staff - if I had one moan it is obviously very popular with wedding parties and we had quite a bit of late noise with drunken happy reverllers although they soon went to sleep ! Spa excellent too which we also used

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thedragon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We booked into Norton House hotel for 1 night for a wedding anniversary. We were given one of the rooms in the old part of the building and as such the room was quite characterful and fairly proportioned.

The large LCD TV in the room was a pleasant surprise but the poor picture quality was not! Fresh milk was supplied in the mini-bar for tea and coffee which was a nice touch, as was the coffee-bags instead of instant coffee.

The staff in the hotel were very helpful and attentive and during dinner the service was very quick (almost too quick!) but breakfast was a bit on the slow side. There was nice selection of cooked and cold breakfast available although the pancakes and bacon I ordered for breakfast would have been a great disappointment had I been an American tourist (not what I'd expect from somewhere like Cracker Barrel!). The evening meal in the Bistro was decent enough, the food was fine although a bit expensive for what you got in my opinion.

The grounds of the hotel are very nice for walks and although Edinburgh airport is nearby you really don't hear much engine noise (and practically nothing inside the hotel). The only down-point of our stay was that although there were two (yes two!) weddings at the hotel the day we were staying you didn't hear much of them at all until 2am in the morning when some guests decided to have a rammy in the corridor right outside our room! Apart from that we had a good nights sleep.

But the best thing about the hotel is definitely the leisure facilities and Spa. The changing rooms are very clean and the pool is a good size with comfortable loungers, a plunge pool, sauna, steam room, and 'experience' shower. I'd definitely recommend going if you are able to get a decent deal on DB&B. We paid just over £112 for a nights B&B and dinner with drink came to just over £50.

pros:
Nice setting
Leisure facilities

Cons:
Noisy wedding guests!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atamata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,164 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing