We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant day at the Spa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Just visited the Norton House with my wife for a spa day which was fantastic!
The staff were all very friendly and attentive.
We had an hour in the gym and then spent the rest of the morning in the pool, sauna, steam room and spa area. After lunch, and a nice wee glass of bubbly, we both had a massage followed by the Rasul mud treatment. Thereafter a nice wee half hour in the relaxation room.
All in all, a great day and very much value for money.
Well done and thank you to all at the Spa!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADouglasBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed three nights and enjoyed a fabulous family wedding. First class service and great food, especially breakfast. Well located for the airport. Good pool and clean well appointed rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimGardenCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This place is perfect every time.
The service is impeccable. The spa is relaxing, comfortable and affordable. I love that "relaxation room" and the extra waters in the pool room.

The restaurant has delicious, innovative food with the best service you could imagine. It is personal, yet you feel there is room to be romantic with your partner.

The rooms are modern and clean and comfortable. I love the well-appointed bathrooms.

Any year we can, we will go to Norton House!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cupeloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Norton House Hotel has been around for decades but now retains its ultra convenient location for the airport and westside of Edinburgh yet discreetly tucked away so there is no sign of an airport until you leave the property.
Three nights in an executive room were expensive for the area and a broken bed base the first night the only real coplaints The hotel gave a 18% discount for the worst night's sleep ever which I thought was mean spirited and charges GBP25 per day to visit their (very good, but not THAT good) spa as a day visitor, which will exclude a lot of potential custom.
The ambiance is good and ith several weddings taking place, the sound of authentic bagpipes never far away. Lastly, the room numbering is the most bizarre I've ever come across in my entire travels. Write down the route to your room the first time you stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original manor house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TynecastleBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked a last minute day (on the day actually), and opted for a package which included Afternoon Tea. The staff were very helpful on the phone and we managed to things sorted very quickly. We opted for the Spa day, paid a small upgrade for a longer massage package (was on offer) and included Afternoon Tea , which we had at 6pm (thanks to the staff for organising this, as it was the only time that fitted with our schedule).
The facilities were excellent, that staff were extremely helpful and professional and the Afternoon Tea was delicious. Very pleased with our day, and will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We attended the weding of f riends which took place within the purpose built wedding complex which is adjacent to the main hotel. The Norton House is a listed building , built originally in the late 1800's by the Usher Family of Edinburgh who were brewers in the City ( who also funded the wonderful Usher Hall) The Hotel sits in beautiful grounds,and the rooms in the main hotel are all of a high standard, comfortable beds, and well fitted out with TV; DVD; Internet, etc. We found the majority of the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful, although a couple of the bar staff in the function suite were struggling a bit near the end of the ight, young and tired. The wedding ( a civil service) went well, followed by a photographic session in the adjacent gardens; an excellent meal, and then a dance. Breakfast, after a good sleep in a massive bed, was excellent. There is a luxuary spa complex and pool in the hotel, but we did not managed to get in for a look.

Room Tip: I believe that in the brand new rooms you can sit in the jacussi and watch the TV , (if you want)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartBlaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife and I stayed for only one night, but it was a great stay. Nice and close to the airport and the staff is friendly. It was easy enough to get a taxi into the center of Edinburgh and view the city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,005 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £88 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing