We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice venue, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #42 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very nice venue, excellent staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Was there for a friends wedding celebrations and it was a lovely venue. The staff were very nice, pleasant and engaging. Can't recall the member of staff's name that helped me make medals with coins, paper, tape and colouring in pencils :-D Excellent evening!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I appreciate you posting a review after you attended a friends wedding celebration. I am delighted you found the venue lovely and that you had an excellent evening. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and I am sure they will take great encouragement when reading your review.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    392
    141
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
651
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent 2 days at the hotel at a recent family weddiing. Great hotel and excellent location, however they really need to sort out the breakfast service . Was ushered to a table but after 10 minutes had to catch the waiting staff to take my order . At £15 per head you expect a better service

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theoc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write a review following your stay for a family wedding. I am delighted you found our hotel and its location great. Please accept my apologies for the delay in service at breakfast. I have passed your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager to address with his team. Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at a cost of £278, which is why I have given the hotel 'average' rather than 'very good' as I consider it over priced. The room was so depressing ! it was painted grey as was most of the hotel and the furniture was black. Even the lamp shades were black and the light only shone from the top and bottom, how silly is that. It was also possible to hear what the couple in the next room were saying ! Thank goodness for ear plugs. The bed, however, was very comfortable with a quality mattress.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am grateful for you taking the time to post a review following your two night stay. I was pleased to read that you found our Hypnos beds comfortable but disappointed and sorry that you did not like the décor in your room and around the hotel.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

To celebrate my wife's 80th birthday I took her and our five children to the Norton Hotel for an afternoon tea. We were shown into the drawing room where the table was beautifully set and ready for us. A very helpful waitress then brought our sumptuous tea. This comprised a selection of beautiful made sandwiches, home made scones with jam and cream and a supply of cakes. We could not finish this selection! We left after a couple of very pleasant hours. The whole experience was well worth any cost.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waddell1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your visit to celebrate your wife’s 80th Birthday. I am delighted that all the family enjoyed their Afternoon Tea. The Drawing room is a fantastic venue for any occasion and I am pleased that you chose it as the venue for your celebration. Thank you again for your kind feedback and I do hope we can welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked 1 night dinner/bed and breakfast package in Cramond Suite, at a cost of £273, as a belated anniversary celebration - we had had our wedding reception there just over 26 years ago!! .
Positives - nice suite and surroundings.
Negatives - dis-interested staff, apart from elderly gentleman porter who was very friendly and helpful. Wanted to feel looked after but generally felt more like an inconvenience. Room not ready even though we arrived over 1 hour after allotted checking-in time, all the while kept standing at reception for 10 plus minutes. However, housekeeper, who was still in our room doing the checks when we were shown in, was helpful in quickly rectifying the items that were missing. Anniversary was noted when we booked on-line but only briefly mentioned on check-in, nothing made of this - missed your chance there.
Mediocre breakfast, food greasy.
Horrible extension which houses Spa etc. totally spoiling the look of the old house - funny how the external views of this don't feature much on their advertising.
Lastly, surprisingly, the evening meal package didn't include sides of veg with the meal, extra £6.50 for bowl of chips and bowl of green veg. Come on, with 4 stars I expect better.
They say you should never go back!!

Room Tip: Don't stay when there is a function on as this seems to pre -occupy the staff, to the detriment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PSCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your stay in March. All your feedback is really important to us and whilst we naturally enjoy receiving positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know where we did not do well. Please accept my apologies that your visit fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that your comments will be reviewed and the points addressed with team. Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here sat22nd for one night. We used the pool and relaxation areas and ate in the restaurant. It is a great place to stay. Most relaxing break we have had anywhere. Will return later this year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank weewills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay at Norton House. I am delighted that you had a relaxing break and it is great to read that you found our hotel to be a great place to chill out. I look forward to welcoming you back when you return later in the year.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is excellently placed for a quiet holiday or business meeting.
But, it's isolation makes it a must to have a good, if not at least an above-average restaurant attached to it.
The Ushers may be one - but, not everyone who stays in the hotel will want to eat there.
The brasserie is massive let down.
In all respects.
From the disinterested person manning reservations, to the waiters who do not hesitate to push past you to serve others, who need to be asked time and time again for simple things like replacement cutlery...
All this makes the food taste less interesting than it probably is!
A complete change of attitude amongst the staff, or some retraining towards basic restaurant etiquette should do the trick.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnrnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review of Norton House Hotel & Spa following your stay on business. Your feedback is really important to us and whilst we naturally enjoy receiving positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know where we did not do well. Please accept my apologies for the service issues you experienced in the Brasserie. Your observations will be reviewed and the points addressed with the team. I do hope that in the future you may give us a chance to redeem ourselves and I thank you again for your constructive feedback.
Kind regards
Chris Monks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,773 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing