We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel was like a home from home. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. We had the Crammond Suite with amazing views across to Edinburgh. We ate in the Brasserie - the fish and chips were amazing! As usual with Handpicked Hotels, the food was excellent and good value but the price of drinks is too high.

Room Tip: The Crammond Suite was lovely and afforded wonderful views across the parkland to Edinburgh and Arth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you liked the Cramond suite and it is great to read that you found the Fish & Chips in the Brasserie amazing. I do hope we see you at Norton House again in the future.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a great romantic night away at the Norton house. The hotel & room was gorgeous, spa was good fun, definitely recommend using the swimming/steam room etc. really nice & chilled out. Have to say the food was amazing the chef catered so well for me - being celliac- altered parts of the usual menu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for posting a great review following your romantic night away. I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and it is great to read that you found the food amazing. I will speak to Graeme our Executive Chef and pass on your comments regarding your dietary requirements. He will be delighted that his team were able to play an important part in your overall experience. Thank you for recommending our Spa as a nice place to chill out and I do hope you can return to our hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My sister and I recently treated our mum to a spa break here, as a birthday present. We really had a lovely time. Our rooms were fantastic - the comfiest bed I have ever slept in. We enjoyed our time in the spa and our treatments were very good (facials, hot stone massages, manicures, pedicures). We had a lovely meal in the bistro in the evening, where my mum was presented with some lovely birthday chocolates by the waiter. Enjoyed the breakfast the next day too.

I would definitely like to return. The package we had (dinner, bed, breakfast, spa and £75 spa voucher) was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgillybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you very much for posting a lovely review of your Spa break with us at Norton House Hotel and Spa. I was so glad to read how much you enjoyed your visit and delighted that you found our beds to be the comfiest you have ever slept in. Our beds are all quality Handmade Hypnos beds and Hypnos has an amazing reputation for making the most comfortable of beds in the world. Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your mum’s birthday and I do hope you buy her the same present again next year.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had an amazing Mothers Day Afternoon Tea here. Food was freshly prepared with lots of variety. Sandwiches were well presented, cakes and scones were fantastic. Unlimited tea and coffee with great service. This is second time we have been for Afternoon Tea and have also had a spa day here that was amazing too. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayGirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your Mothers Day Afternoon Tea experience. Afternoon tea is very popular at Norton House and it is great to see you will come again and repeat the experience. Thank you also for your great comments about our Spa they are very much appreciated.
Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Was there for a friends wedding celebrations and it was a lovely venue. The staff were very nice, pleasant and engaging. Can't recall the member of staff's name that helped me make medals with coins, paper, tape and colouring in pencils :-D Excellent evening!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I appreciate you posting a review after you attended a friends wedding celebration. I am delighted you found the venue lovely and that you had an excellent evening. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and I am sure they will take great encouragement when reading your review.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Spent 2 days at the hotel at a recent family weddiing. Great hotel and excellent location, however they really need to sort out the breakfast service . Was ushered to a table but after 10 minutes had to catch the waiting staff to take my order . At £15 per head you expect a better service

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theoc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write a review following your stay for a family wedding. I am delighted you found our hotel and its location great. Please accept my apologies for the delay in service at breakfast. I have passed your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager to address with his team. Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at a cost of £278, which is why I have given the hotel 'average' rather than 'very good' as I consider it over priced. The room was so depressing ! it was painted grey as was most of the hotel and the furniture was black. Even the lamp shades were black and the light only shone from the top and bottom, how silly is that. It was also possible to hear what the couple in the next room were saying ! Thank goodness for ear plugs. The bed, however, was very comfortable with a quality mattress.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I am grateful for you taking the time to post a review following your two night stay. I was pleased to read that you found our Hypnos beds comfortable but disappointed and sorry that you did not like the décor in your room and around the hotel.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,576 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £112 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing