We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel to relax in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I recently stayed here with a friend on a Spa weekend. The hotel is on the very outskirts of Edinburgh so I am not sure how sensible a base it is if you plan to spend time in Edinburgh.

The hotel itself was lovely although the twin room was a bit pokey. The staff were very helpful particularly over at the Spa. The brasserie staff were very good and the food there was excellent.

The Spa is in a separate building which is not so great if you are a hotel guest. It just means if you are going for a Spa break you need to take all your things over to the Spa for the day as popping back to your room in your dressing gown is not really possible !! The Spa treatments were good although short however that is possibly as they were part of the Spa package and if you wanted longer treatments you can add them on as extra.

Overall we had a great time although it was quite expensive for the package we got.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jenghis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
There are newer reviews for Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2008

Stayed a weekend here recently during the edinburgh festival. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes from the airport which was good, didn't really get any noise from the planes. We stayed in the new extension of the hotel, check in was quick and friendly, we got there at 10.15 in the morning and the room was ready for us, room itself was very nice , had a little balcony on it , bed was comfortable,room was spacious enough for the two of us. Plenty of storage, bathroom was very nice with tv in it, for my wife to sit in the bath and watch telly whileshe soaked. Seperate shower as well. We had a meal in the brassiere that night, not the cheapest in the world, but the food was very good, service was very good as well. Went to the bar afterwards and paid hotel prices for beer etc, The other restaurant, ushers had only a couple of people in it, bit more nouveau cuisine....breakfast the next day was very good, choice of buffet and english breakfast, both plentiful, staff were very helpful.The only down side of it was the taxi drive into the city centre, took about 15-20 minutes and cost £20 each way. we tended to stay in the centre once we got there..a nice hotel with lovely grounds, didn't use the spa, but recommended ..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadpip23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Stayed one night each at the beginning and end of a nine day golf trip due to location near Edinburgh Airport. Very pleased with the accomodations. While not cheap, the food was good and the service excellent. Bedding and shower were fantastic. The manager allowed us to store our golf travel bags while we toured Scotland and pick up when we stayed our last night before departure. The morning we were leaving, we had a 6:30 flight. The manager was kind eough to take us to the airport at 5:00AM. It is an excellent option if using the Edinburgh Airport.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank USCGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We stayed at this rather over priced hotel as we were attending a wedding there. On arrival, the receptionist was extremely helpful, allowing us early access to our room to change clothes. The room was a standard type hotel room, albeit with rather strange controls on everything. For example, it was rather difficult to work out how you ran the bath! But the main reason for this review is the standard of food at this hotel. Some of the people at our table are making a long haul flight next week, and the overwhelming response to the meal was that it would get them prepared for 24 hours of airline food. Worst was to come at breakfast however. I always enjoy a kipper when I am having breakfast at a hotel, but, this rather over-priced establishment did not serve kippers, but kipper fillets (processed food). My alternative was a full breakfast which had to be sent back, the bacon was to overcooked and so tough that it could not be cut with a knive. The toast was soggy, the tea was dishwater. When the 'nippy-sweetie' who ran the place came and asked if everything was OK, she seemed surprised by my answer. On requesting a fresh breakfast, the bacon was replaced,(by a burnt offering, it had obviously been put into a deep-fat fryer), but the rest of the breakfast that had been sent back was still on the same plate when it was returned to me. The standard of food in this hotel is a very poor advert for Scotland. What is wrong with serving good Scottish food, ie real kippers from Loch Fyne, bacon from Carluke, etc?

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dovtrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Visited the Hotel and Spa for my Girlfriends Birthday weekend. The hotel from the outside was not as impressive as the website suggested. The same was true for the inside. Our room was the Lothian Suite which was rather old fashioned and unspectacular for the price. Indeed much of the hotel had the same run down and unloved feel.

We had dinner in the Ushers restaurant on the first night and in the Brasserie on the second. Ushers restaurant was a very nice dining experience. Great food and wine. The atmosphere however was terrible with only 2 other tables taken and much whispering. You can eat as well in an atmospheric location in many places in Edinburgh so probably not worth the prices charged. Unfortunately, the Brasserie was terrible. The food very bland and all a bit poor for the hotels only other restaurant.

The reason we visited Norton House was for a spa day on the Saturday. This is where the hotel gains some points. We had two treatments, lunch with champagne and the use of facilities for the day. The treatments were very good and the facilities new. My only negative comment here would be regarding the sometimes large numbers of people in the spa area and the relatively small space. Only one hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Free juices, water and teas were a nice addition.

Our visit cost over £700 in total and really wasn't worth it. If you get a chance at a cheap deal and can book a spa package then i would recommend. Otherwise, there are far better Hotel and Spa accommodation in Scotland.

Please note the reviews on TripAdvisor - they reflect my thoughts in many areas.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank u87em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

my partner had booked this as a surprise for my birthday but it was a huge letdown for us. when we arrived at the hotel just after 3pm we were given our room key and walked up several floors to the room to notice that the door was lying open with the light off and bedding and towels everywhere! we went back to reception and was told that our room wasnt ready and told us to come back in half an hour! when were arrived back they checked the room again and it still wasnt ready, so we had to wait another half an hour till we were finally allowed into our room! on arrival to our room, it was very clean and really nicely decorated but our bathroom had no bath in it and the handle on the cupboard door was broken off! it was also clear that they had also given us a disabled room as there were emergency cords everywhere and a telephone in the bathroom. however, we didnt make a fuss. there were also 2 small champagne bottles in our room but it cost £14 for one! we went down to the resteraunt for dinner which was very good but well overpriced!
we also ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room the following morning and it actually came early which was nice. though, the food wasnt very good as the egg was undercooked and were only given a small amount but they charge £12.50 for a cooked breakfast and even £10 for a small bowl of fruit! the prices are absolutely terrible, even in the spa where treatment ranges from £60 to £200!

however, the hotel is lovely and i would stay again but you would expect a lot more from it especially for the prices you pay for a room!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PhoenixScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

This is a great hotel in lovely surroundings. The rooms are large and modern and the bathrooms clean. The main issue i have with the hotel is the bar prices - £4.10 for one bottle of beer!! Absolutely no need to rip people off in that way.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMESY1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#77 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,550 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £108 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing