We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel as we were attending an evening wedding reception there. Our room was a little small although perfectly formed and lacked nothing.
We had been in the room for a while when a terrible noise started. It sounded initially that it was coming from a room next door, but on further investigation there was no room next door! We contacted reception and within 5 minutes Pers (please forgive me if this is misspelt) came to the door to hear the noise. I'm guessing he was part of the management team.
Cutting a long story short, we were immediately moved to another room. To add to that we were given a complimentary bottle of wine with dinner.
We were very impressed by the way the problem was solved in such a no quibble, no fuss, professional manner. Would highly recommend this hotel.
Note: The wedding we attended was fantastic!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shuggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review following your stay to attend an evening wedding reception. I am delighted that the wedding you attended was fantastic and that you would recommend us to prospective guests. I have spoken to Piers Knowles our Front of House Manager and thanked him for your kind words. Please accept my apology for the noise issue you encountered. Thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I and two friends spent two nights here as part of a CIE tour recently. This is one hotel that I would defiantly like to go back and stay at again.

Took advantage of the spa while I was there. It was just what was needed in the middle of a 14 day vacation.

As a cat lover, I was enchanted with their version of a DND notice. It was a stuffed kitten that you put outside your door when you do not wish to be disturbed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I very much appreciate you taking the time to post feedback following your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your time in the Spa and that you loved Maisie our do not disturb cat. Maisie is very popular with our guests and I do hope you took the chance to take one of her brothers or sisters home with you. It is great that you would definitely stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We decided to visit the Spa at Norton House as a treat, and with the cost of treatments and access it was quite a 'big' treat for us in terms of expense, so our expectations were high!

On arrival we realised that areas of the spa were open to children for parts of the day, as this was the only pool at the hotel. It was not entirely relaxing to be sat at the side hearing screaming and getting splashed - and some parents were taking their young children into the hydrotherapy pool (where they were not supposed to). No member of staff sought to enforce the policy.

Our first treatments - the modern facial - were excellent. It was very relaxing, the therapist was responsive to questions and requests and my skin felt revitalised at the end. I'd definitely recommend this.

The relaxation room was also lovely. I fell asleep after my facial it was so peaceful and comfortable! Spot on. My only gripe is that there were no mugs for tea - but these were easy to find in the main waiting area.

The food (we had a one course lunch as part of our deal) was exceptional. I was thoroughly impressed and we both really enjoyed our meals (the parpadelle and gnocci).

After lunch we did the rasul treatment. Perhaps we hadn't read up on this but it was pretty disappointing. You self-apply some runny, thin mud to your body which remains slimy due to the steam in the room and then rinse it off following with some moisturiser. Not quite the 'mud bath' we have imagined! If that is what you're looking for it's probably fine, but this felt very disappointing, particularly with the price tag.

The final part of our day was a massage. My friend has a great time. However, when I was left to get on the table I found it to be soaking wet. The towels perhaps hadn't been changed, or the previous client had soaked through on to the table below. This was quite unpleasant. The room itself was also messy, with what felt like ex foliating granules underfoot on the floor and puddles. When the therapist returned about 5 minutes later (also excessive and eating into treatment time as it was never going to take that long to remove a robe and get under a towel) I asked for this to be addressed. She did apologise, and hurriedly changed the towels. I climbed onto the bed, and asked for the heat mat to be turned on as the room was also quite cold. She said that this room did not have one (not her usual room apparently - although the place wasn't busy so I don't know why a normal massage room wasn't used). I was quite disappointed as I was clearly shivering. She did turn up the heat (although I did not notice this) and gave me a duvet. This naturally does not help all that much given most of the time half of your body is uncovered for the treatment.

After the rather disappointing end to the day I was surprised that at no point when we were exiting did any member of staff ask how our experience had been. While aspects were good, as noted above, a lot left a bit to be desired and recognition of this and apology would have gone a long way. The cynic in my assumes that given they had my money they didn't care!

In summary, room for improvement:
- clearly advertising that the pool is not for exclusive use of adults, and before 11 and after 4 (or 5 - I can't remember) children may be present
- staff enforcing the no children policy in areas other than the pool!
- room preparation ahead of treatments
- checking in with customers on the conclusion of their day to see how it went

The highlights:
- The excellent food and staff in the dining area - also very reasonable prices given the quality on offer
- The relaxation room
- The facial experience

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank heather_goo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for posting a review on Trip advisor following your visit to our Spa. All your feedback is really important to us and whilst we naturally enjoy receiving positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know where we did not do well. Please accept my apologies that certain aspects of your visit fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that your comments will be reviewed and the points addressed with the team. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know your feedback.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed overnight recently and had a very relaxing experience. The hotel and grounds are very peaceful. The room was in excellent condition and felt quite luxurious which pleased me as I presumed we were in the least expensive room type in the hotel. The food was delicious and the staff very pleasant. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memac-mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for posting such a positive review following your stay at our hotel. I am delighted you had such a relaxing time and that you found your room excellent and the food delicious. It is great to read that you would have no hesitation returning to stay and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent only one night at the hotel before our one week cruise on the Scottish Highlander. Since the Norton House is very close to the airport, I made a reservation primarily because of the location. We will definitely return and spend several nights next time. It was our good fortune that the Edinburgh Suite was available. For a special occasion, or just to feel like royalty, this suite is not to be missed. The room was enormous, with a tub & stall shower (TV over the tub), and a huge balcony going around the entire suite. The staff catered to our every desire. The hotel is an excellent value, offers a memorable experience, and is perfect property to start, or end, a trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review following your stay at Norton House Hotel & Spa, I am delighted that you enjoyed the Edinburgh Suite and that you found our hotel to be a great location to start your trip in Scotland. Your comments regarding the staff and food are very much appreciated; and I will ensure the team are made aware of your fantastic feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Norton House in the not too distant future, where hopefully next time you can stay longer and take advantage of using our Health Club & Spa.
Kind regards
Chris Monks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

checked into this hotel and wow was fab room was excellent so clean big bathroom. had a few glasses of wine sitting in the beautiful grounds on a sunny afternoon. Went to the spa for a massage where my husband and I were treat very well and made to feel very comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was 5 star everything was delicious. After a great nights sleep we went for breakfast we had the full English which was again delicious the staff were very helpful and very courteous I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chezzypeterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for such a positive review. I was pleased to read that you found all aspects of your stay to be excellent and that you will definitely return to the hotel. On behalf of all the team at Norton House may I thank you for your great feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Kind regards.
Chris Monks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Recently stayed here for two nights this hotel is amazing, much better then the online pictures. Hotel is situated down a long driveway feels like you are in the middle of nowhere instead of being just off the main road and minutes form the airport. We had booked a classic room but were amazed when we saw the room. It was on the lower level of the hotel but this was great for us as it was very quiet gorgeous view of the gardens Very spacious, great facilities, huge bed probably the comfiest bed I have slept in ever in a hotel. Food was very good, plenty of choice from sandwiches, bar snacks or restaurant meals. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Spa facilities also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are very good for the money no need to spend extra to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisMonks72, Deputy General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for posting a fantastic review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Norton House. I am pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you found all our staff to be friendly and helpful. I am delighted that you plan to return in the future and I appreciate you recommending us to prospective guests. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards
Chris Monks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,920 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £90 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing