We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs stronger Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2008

On a two day business event.

Meeting room great apart from no blinds just open or shut curtains (electric). Chap that looked after us was good (apart from couldn't use creativity to get tea bags they had run out of - there are two supermarkets within a mile).

Food good - though VERY carb heavy or fried buffet food. Evening meal (private room) good.

Rooms nice if in new block, very dated in main house - apparently that 's a upgrade (which felt like the opposite!)

The Spa reception need a course in customer care as they are hopeless and its the third time I've been and they are no better in 12 months, which is a shame as it could be first rate.

In terms of a school report 'needs to concentrate more on the customer' especially with new hotels in Edinburgh opening!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BAManEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,393 - 1,399 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2008

Norton house is a lovely place in itself, but as a base for exploring Edinburgh, there are far better options. If you have a hire-car, the motorway is easy to access, but taxi fare to Edinburgh is a bit steep.

The hotel itself is stunning, the grounds are beautiful, we had a fantastic room in the old, main building, beautifully decorated, exactly as crooked and dusty as you'd expect, but not too much. The staff were all very sweet and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent.

Norton house is a popular place to arrange weddings and other get-togethers, which can be a problem if you - like we did - have a room facing the parking lot and entrance. Although we have a fairly high tolerance for drunken Scotsmen, patience has a tendency to run out quickly when you're kept awake by drunken, slurred singing at 2 AM. Thankfully it didn't last long enough for us to complain.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pastryslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Just back from a one night's stay at Norton House Edinburgh. Excellent new spa and leisure facilities. A long drive way leads up to an impressive old hotel building with modern glass conservatory and new accommodation block. Extensive wooded grounds makes you feel right in the countryside when you are just minutes from the motorway. Rooms well maintained and decorated, huge flat screen TV. Very comfortable (and massive) bed. Dining: Good light lunch in the Spa Bar, dinner in the main hotel and a great cooked and continental breakfast. Helpful staff, great location and great dining and leisure facilities. This hotel has just won the AA Hotel of the Year 2008/2009 Scotland award!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CB_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I stayed at the Norton House Hotel in October 2008 and overall enjoyed my stay. I had the Queensferry Room, just above the main entrance, but did not hear any noise from either inside or outside, and the curtains shut out all of the light from outside (the "display" lights are left on all night). Service was mainly good, although their early-morning desk clerks were sometimes a bit less apt than the day clerks.

There were a couple things about the room that could have used some help: a burned-out light in the bathroom, the desk chair was very loose to the point where sitting in it scared me, and somehow a half-package of hot dog buns got left in one of the dresser drawers by an earlier guest and had mold spots on it when I found it.

Food in both the Brasserie and Ushers was good, although I didn't really see much difference between the two. Restaurant staff was excellent.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Having read many a good review of the hotel I was slightly disappointed by my stay. Yes the hotel is set in impressive grounds and is very handy for easy access onto the motorways but the whole experience in my opinion was very average. The staff at reception were however extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the older side of the hotel (room 305) which again was dare I say it....average. Our 4 year old son was also sharing the room and he was given use of the sofa bed which left the smallish room more cramped than would be usual. Bathroom was nothing out of the ordinary although we did like the oversized flat screen tv. My husband complained about the lack of lighting in the bathroom and I have to agree that it was very dimly lit.On our first night we dined in the bistro which had a very good children's menu and nothing was too much trouble for the little one who was also supplied with crayons and colouring book. He enjoyed his mini portion of haddock and chips ( which was an adult sized portion - still he wasn't complaining). My husband and I opted for the fish dish. Again very average, not at all what I was expecting. The following morning we enjoyed breakfast which was fine, nothing out of the ordinary but substantial enough. The next morning's breakfast (Sunday) was a completely different story - totally unorganised and not what you would expect of such a hotel. We had to wait at least 20 mins for our cooked breakfast order to be taken. When it did arrive and I asked for some ketchup and toast, I was told that they were busy and I may have to wait a while. After a further ten minutes, when my breakfast was all but gone, it arrived ( AT THE SECOND ASKING). There was a shortage of cutlery on the tables, no butter and jam pots etc and total chaos ensued. This is not the kind of service you would expect in this kind of establishment.

Overall some positive points - i.e. friendliness of the staff etc but I think if you are going to be spending this kind of money head off over to the City Centre.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jc0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

We stayed at the hotel for a family anniversary. Nearly 30 of us in total.

The rooms were fantastic! We were in one of the new rooms which even have a TV built into the bathroom wall!! My 11yr old daughter thought this was great!

All the staff we met were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed for two nights, the first night we ate in the main restaurant which was lovely, the food was very tasty and well presented. The second night we had a private dining room for the group and again the food was beautiful.

The spa is amazing, they have a hydrotherapy pool (Jacuzzi), which is so relaxing after a hard nights partying. My wife used the gym as she is training for a half marathon and wanted to keep up the exercise. I had a look round the treatment rooms and they seem popular as well.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyP7638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I recently stayed here with a friend on a Spa weekend. The hotel is on the very outskirts of Edinburgh so I am not sure how sensible a base it is if you plan to spend time in Edinburgh.

The hotel itself was lovely although the twin room was a bit pokey. The staff were very helpful particularly over at the Spa. The brasserie staff were very good and the food there was excellent.

The Spa is in a separate building which is not so great if you are a hotel guest. It just means if you are going for a Spa break you need to take all your things over to the Spa for the day as popping back to your room in your dressing gown is not really possible !! The Spa treatments were good although short however that is possibly as they were part of the Spa package and if you wanted longer treatments you can add them on as extra.

Overall we had a great time although it was quite expensive for the package we got.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jenghis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#76 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,577 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £111 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing