We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not give them my money! Disgraceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #43 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would not give them my money! Disgraceful”
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I booked this as a Christmas present for my mum as she had told me that she fancied going to a spa hotel.

I phoned the spa two weeks before our stay and left a message on the answer phone every day with my work, home and mobile numbers on it and never received a call back.

I contacted the reception who kept putting me back through to the answer machine. Eventually when I expressed my frustration to the receptionist she informed me that she only had the same number and their wasn't anything she could do!

I was informed that check in was 3pm and checkout was 11am and that was not for debate.

After another three phone calls I finally got through to the spa to be informed that there were no treatments left for the day of our stay however they could book us in at 4.30 pm on the day we left! When I pointed out that we had to check out at 11am I was told that wasn't a problem because we could leave our baggage at the spa! Not likely!

I was then told I could get a half hour appointment at 12.30 pm which I reluctantly took for my mum but when I told her of the problems she told me to cancel it.

I contacted the Travel Agent and expressed my displeasure and they were very concerned and offered to change the dates. I agreed to this but when she returned she informed me that I would be required to pay another £38 which I flatly refused and told her to refund my money.

The Travel Agent then told me that the third party company would charge me £23 for cancellation. I refused to pay the cancellation fee. So far, this issue is still unresolved. I WILL NEVER USE THIS HOTEL. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NON EXISTENT

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service deplorable. An absolute disgrace.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Burdybouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    395
    141
    55
    21
See reviews for
237
656
34
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Return visit to the Norton House and was given a free upgrade to executive room (as a result of feedback on disappointing previous visit), room was as before but bathroom has underfloor heating and tv. Room itself is more spacious and had a balcony (603). As I was staying for a few days took advantage of the facilites in the Spa which was excellent - super treatments and geat indoor pool. **Please note if your travel arrangements change after checking in you do not get any refund no matter how soon you cancel any nights not required.**

  • Liked — Watching TV in the bath
  • Disliked — Completely hopeless mobile phone service and inflexibity for the business traveller
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank C0rnish_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

On a two day business event.

Meeting room great apart from no blinds just open or shut curtains (electric). Chap that looked after us was good (apart from couldn't use creativity to get tea bags they had run out of - there are two supermarkets within a mile).

Food good - though VERY carb heavy or fried buffet food. Evening meal (private room) good.

Rooms nice if in new block, very dated in main house - apparently that 's a upgrade (which felt like the opposite!)

The Spa reception need a course in customer care as they are hopeless and its the third time I've been and they are no better in 12 months, which is a shame as it could be first rate.

In terms of a school report 'needs to concentrate more on the customer' especially with new hotels in Edinburgh opening!

  • Liked — The Spa but not the Spa receptionists
  • Disliked — The main house rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BAManEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Norton house is a lovely place in itself, but as a base for exploring Edinburgh, there are far better options. If you have a hire-car, the motorway is easy to access, but taxi fare to Edinburgh is a bit steep.

The hotel itself is stunning, the grounds are beautiful, we had a fantastic room in the old, main building, beautifully decorated, exactly as crooked and dusty as you'd expect, but not too much. The staff were all very sweet and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent.

Norton house is a popular place to arrange weddings and other get-togethers, which can be a problem if you - like we did - have a room facing the parking lot and entrance. Although we have a fairly high tolerance for drunken Scotsmen, patience has a tendency to run out quickly when you're kept awake by drunken, slurred singing at 2 AM. Thankfully it didn't last long enough for us to complain.

  • Liked — The charming room & grounds
  • Disliked — the distance from Edinburgh
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pastryslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

Just back from a one night's stay at Norton House Edinburgh. Excellent new spa and leisure facilities. A long drive way leads up to an impressive old hotel building with modern glass conservatory and new accommodation block. Extensive wooded grounds makes you feel right in the countryside when you are just minutes from the motorway. Rooms well maintained and decorated, huge flat screen TV. Very comfortable (and massive) bed. Dining: Good light lunch in the Spa Bar, dinner in the main hotel and a great cooked and continental breakfast. Helpful staff, great location and great dining and leisure facilities. This hotel has just won the AA Hotel of the Year 2008/2009 Scotland award!

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms, huge TV, massive bed.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CB_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I stayed at the Norton House Hotel in October 2008 and overall enjoyed my stay. I had the Queensferry Room, just above the main entrance, but did not hear any noise from either inside or outside, and the curtains shut out all of the light from outside (the "display" lights are left on all night). Service was mainly good, although their early-morning desk clerks were sometimes a bit less apt than the day clerks.

There were a couple things about the room that could have used some help: a burned-out light in the bathroom, the desk chair was very loose to the point where sitting in it scared me, and somehow a half-package of hot dog buns got left in one of the dresser drawers by an earlier guest and had mold spots on it when I found it.

Food in both the Brasserie and Ushers was good, although I didn't really see much difference between the two. Restaurant staff was excellent.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Having read many a good review of the hotel I was slightly disappointed by my stay. Yes the hotel is set in impressive grounds and is very handy for easy access onto the motorways but the whole experience in my opinion was very average. The staff at reception were however extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the older side of the hotel (room 305) which again was dare I say it....average. Our 4 year old son was also sharing the room and he was given use of the sofa bed which left the smallish room more cramped than would be usual. Bathroom was nothing out of the ordinary although we did like the oversized flat screen tv. My husband complained about the lack of lighting in the bathroom and I have to agree that it was very dimly lit.On our first night we dined in the bistro which had a very good children's menu and nothing was too much trouble for the little one who was also supplied with crayons and colouring book. He enjoyed his mini portion of haddock and chips ( which was an adult sized portion - still he wasn't complaining). My husband and I opted for the fish dish. Again very average, not at all what I was expecting. The following morning we enjoyed breakfast which was fine, nothing out of the ordinary but substantial enough. The next morning's breakfast (Sunday) was a completely different story - totally unorganised and not what you would expect of such a hotel. We had to wait at least 20 mins for our cooked breakfast order to be taken. When it did arrive and I asked for some ketchup and toast, I was told that they were busy and I may have to wait a while. After a further ten minutes, when my breakfast was all but gone, it arrived ( AT THE SECOND ASKING). There was a shortage of cutlery on the tables, no butter and jam pots etc and total chaos ensued. This is not the kind of service you would expect in this kind of establishment.

Overall some positive points - i.e. friendliness of the staff etc but I think if you are going to be spending this kind of money head off over to the City Centre.

  • Liked — staff friendliness at reception
  • Disliked — chaos at breakfast time - and average rooms etc.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jc0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,506 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,162 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing