We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Valentine's Day. Low standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2009

I stayed there with my wife on Valentine's Day and the hotel really disappointed both of us. The location is fine, and the hotel looks impressive, but the service is far below what it should be.
The bathroom has a dirty toilet bowl and a shower with mouldy walls and seals. There were no seals on the toiletries (although there should be). The bedspread has a large 12" visible stain on it. When we complained, the hotel said they had no replacement. Most surfaces were dusty. Although the room has a large TV, the bed was well past its best and the pillows were hard and lumpy. Food in the restaurant was correctly cooked, but the quality of ingredients was poor. Service in the restaurant was unattentive and unprofessional. Breakfast was OK, but I expected more than one rasher of bacon and one small sausage! Tables were left uncleared for all the time we were dining.
Overall, the hotel was a massive disappointment for a special occasion. The hotel desperately needs stronger management and a focus on higher standards and an attention to detail. There are better hotels in Edinburgh. Avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClimberBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,434 - 1,440 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2009

Stayed in a wonderful Executive room and felt completely spoilt. Great bed, big flatscreen TV, fridge with mil & water, fantastic bathroom with underfloor heating (bliss) and a superb shower, TV in bathroom too. Modern yet Scottish decor. Lovely food and a great breakfast. It surely does feel like you are a million miles away from Edinburgh as it is such a lovely secluded place. Easy access to the motorway and just a short taxi ride away from the Airport. Very impressive Spa and big swimmingpool too.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We booked this last mintue as a friend of ours is getting married there and our attention had been drawn to it.

The hotel is located very close to Edinburgh airport but that did not really impact on our stay. It is also set in it's own, very nice grounds.

The hotel has a bistro and a michelin star restaurant. We ate in the bistro and the food was nice but I had a tuna steak and asked for it to be medium and it came fully cooked through which was a bit disappointing.

The hotel has recently been refurbished and extended to include a magnificent spa. The spa has a large pool, hydrotherapy pool, experince shower, sauna and steam room and also offers varous treatments and therapies. The spa also has a very nice lounge bar where you can have a nice lunch, healthy or unhealthy, which ever you prefer!

We would definately reccomend a stay here, if not for any other reason than the lovely spa!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicFifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

I booked this as a Christmas present for my mum as she had told me that she fancied going to a spa hotel.

I phoned the spa two weeks before our stay and left a message on the answer phone every day with my work, home and mobile numbers on it and never received a call back.

I contacted the reception who kept putting me back through to the answer machine. Eventually when I expressed my frustration to the receptionist she informed me that she only had the same number and their wasn't anything she could do!

I was informed that check in was 3pm and checkout was 11am and that was not for debate.

After another three phone calls I finally got through to the spa to be informed that there were no treatments left for the day of our stay however they could book us in at 4.30 pm on the day we left! When I pointed out that we had to check out at 11am I was told that wasn't a problem because we could leave our baggage at the spa! Not likely!

I was then told I could get a half hour appointment at 12.30 pm which I reluctantly took for my mum but when I told her of the problems she told me to cancel it.

I contacted the Travel Agent and expressed my displeasure and they were very concerned and offered to change the dates. I agreed to this but when she returned she informed me that I would be required to pay another £38 which I flatly refused and told her to refund my money.

The Travel Agent then told me that the third party company would charge me £23 for cancellation. I refused to pay the cancellation fee. So far, this issue is still unresolved. I WILL NEVER USE THIS HOTEL. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NON EXISTENT

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
4  Thank Burdybouncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Return visit to the Norton House and was given a free upgrade to executive room (as a result of feedback on disappointing previous visit), room was as before but bathroom has underfloor heating and tv. Room itself is more spacious and had a balcony (603). As I was staying for a few days took advantage of the facilites in the Spa which was excellent - super treatments and geat indoor pool. **Please note if your travel arrangements change after checking in you do not get any refund no matter how soon you cancel any nights not required.**

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank C0rnish_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

On a two day business event.

Meeting room great apart from no blinds just open or shut curtains (electric). Chap that looked after us was good (apart from couldn't use creativity to get tea bags they had run out of - there are two supermarkets within a mile).

Food good - though VERY carb heavy or fried buffet food. Evening meal (private room) good.

Rooms nice if in new block, very dated in main house - apparently that 's a upgrade (which felt like the opposite!)

The Spa reception need a course in customer care as they are hopeless and its the third time I've been and they are no better in 12 months, which is a shame as it could be first rate.

In terms of a school report 'needs to concentrate more on the customer' especially with new hotels in Edinburgh opening!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BAManEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Norton house is a lovely place in itself, but as a base for exploring Edinburgh, there are far better options. If you have a hire-car, the motorway is easy to access, but taxi fare to Edinburgh is a bit steep.

The hotel itself is stunning, the grounds are beautiful, we had a fantastic room in the old, main building, beautifully decorated, exactly as crooked and dusty as you'd expect, but not too much. The staff were all very sweet and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent.

Norton house is a popular place to arrange weddings and other get-togethers, which can be a problem if you - like we did - have a room facing the parking lot and entrance. Although we have a fairly high tolerance for drunken Scotsmen, patience has a tendency to run out quickly when you're kept awake by drunken, slurred singing at 2 AM. Thankfully it didn't last long enough for us to complain.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pastryslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,046 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,895 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
696 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,439 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £95 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing