We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #42 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Quiet, peaceful and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Situated in a nice quiet location. The rooms are very clean and very well equipped. We had a tv in the bathroom!
The pool area in the Spa is a nice size.
I thing I would say before getting there, is if you would like any treatments in the Spa, to book them in advanced. To avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    388
    134
    53
    21
See reviews for
232
640
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We have just spent 3 nights at the Norton House Hotel. On arrival we experienced great service from the staff, ample parking, room brilliant, plenty of tea and coffee and fresh milk, complementary water, clean and tidy and a large flat screen TV!

Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the brasserie twice and on both occasions the meal was great - staff friendly and good service.

The pool and spa facilities are also brilliant - good sized pool and not very busy.

You can get a bus into Edinburgh at the top of the drive (4 min walk) for £1.20 each way or taxi is just £17 - if you want to stay out of the city this is an excellent hotel to pick.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

We stayed in the new contemporary wing at the Norton house in July last year and enjoyed our experience. We checked in really late at night but found the staff very helpful with the check in and they even helped carry our bags to the room at that late hour.
The breakfast was a good spread ... though I must admit that the breakfast area could be moved to one of the other restaurants they have within the hotel as it seemed to be struggling with the no of people and we had to wait for a table to be free before we could eat!

That said the spa is blissful and the property in itself offers a nice relaxing getaway.
Would return again if I went back up to Scotland again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Rooms are a good size, as is the pool and spa area. Shame about the restaurant food, eaten here a few times and its never very good - go into town!

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KarenGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Stayed overnight with two friends. We had alovely time - started off with lunch then headed off to the spa for lovely treatments. After that we had drinks at the bar. Dinner was at the Brasserie and was very good. We made pigs of ourselves with the desserts! More drinks at the bar then bed! The next day we had a great breakfast then it was off to the sauna and pool before heading back home. The only other spa hotel I have been to is Stobo Castle which was lovely but the treatments at Norton House were just as good but half the price!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhine Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

A country House Hotel that I used to know and like in the late 90's. Whilst the old house is still elegant there is a new wing which is modern, well-equipped and anonymous. We chose the hotel specifically because it had a pool and we have children - major disappointment to arrive and find that children are only welcome for 2 hours per day between 15:00 and 17:00 when you probably want to be out & about in Edinburgh! Service (with individual exceptions) was adequate rather than good and the cleaning was very poor. The room in the new wing was irritatingly difficult to get to and the lift was out-of-order for the full 3 days of our visit.
We left feeling disappointed and in the current difficult economic times this hotel has to take a serious look at its service-standards if it wants to compete and survive.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anglo-Deutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

Great location, really nice rooms and great food. Best hotel in Edinburgh by far. Good value 24 Hr delegate rate. Lovely spa facilities too.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing