We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will never, repeat never, stay there again!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We will never, repeat never, stay there again!!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

This hotel advertised itself as a quiet luxury hotel set away from the noise and bustle of the city, and convenient to the airport. This was just what we needed - we had travelled quite a distance to get there, and would be flying for most of the next day, so we really needed a good night's sleep.
We went to bed early, but were woken by a persistent thumping sound (interrupted occasionally by voices) that just would not stop. I tried, unsuccessfully, to sleep with a pillow over my head. Eventually, at around midnight, I dressed, and on my way to the front desk passed a hall where a party was in full swing, with noise at inexcusable volume (and it wasn't as if we were next-door to the hall!). The night manager promised to resolve the matter immediately; despite such promise, the noise continued unabated until at least 1 a.m. (or maybe I just fell asleep, exhausted, around then). Not surprisingly, we arose the next morning with thumping headaches.
I told the manager that I would be filing a negative feedback review. He offered me a refund of half the amount we paid for our 'accomodation' if I would refrain from providing a negative report. Although it would be nice to have some money returned to partially compensate for our nightmare, my integrity would not allow me to be 'bought off'' - I owed it to other travellers looking for a quiet place to sleep to warn them.
All that being said, the (early evening) front desk staff and (early evening) manager, and the restaurant staff, were fabulous. Unfortunately, they are not the people who make decisions about the noise level.
This hotel must decide its identity - is its objective to provide what travellers need (quiet, clean accomodation and good meals), or to act as a reception hall with accomodation for those who attend such receptions/parties and will sleep at the end of the reception? If one objective iconflicts with the other, the true objective can be seen in how the hotel managers respond.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveloverToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    390
    137
    53
    21
See reviews for
234
647
34
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west lothian
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This hotel can only be described as perfect. We have stayed here a few times before but this time decided to live it up it in the kingdom penthouse suite. The suite was absolutely outstanding, it was beautiful.....it consisted of a lounge, dining room, dressing area, an absolutely huge bedroom & a stunning bathroom with a beautiful roll top bath big enough for two. All this was topped off with a fantastic full length balcony.....perfect.

Our friends stayed in one of the new executive rooms which was as equally luxurious. We did not visit the spa but our friends did & came back absolutely delighted at the treatments & also the way they were treated by the staff. We had dinner in the brasserie which had a great menu with plenty of choice....the food was delicious & the wine was fantastic with a great selection to choose from. We had breakfast in bed which was delicious & a real treat. If your ever looking for somewhere to go to relax or for a special occasion, take my advice & head to the Norton House......you wont be dissapointed!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmcp44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Norton House was the perfect pick for a two day trip to Edinburgh. The quiet and beautiful surroundings gave us a different feeling from being in the city centre all day. The 48 bus picked us up and dropped us off right at the hotel walkway. Otherwise, a cab ride from Waverly station cost us 20 quid. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The breakfast that was included in our deal was delicious. The 24 hour room service and dvd collection definitely came in handy as well. I highly recommend this place! I want to visit other Hand Picked Hotels now!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angiebabyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

This is a lovely old building with a modern hotel. Have stayed here several times and always been excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the service is impeccable. The spa is fantastic!
Have stayed in standard rooms which are great as well as junior suite. The suite is nice but a little odd - it is plit level with huge bed downstairs and a sitting area on a balcony level upstairs. Thought it would have been nicer with bed upstairs.
Only problem can be getting a taxi from the airport – it is only 5 minutes and have been moaned at it is not worth their time to go such a short distance!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2009

A friend recommended this hotel when I mentioned I was looking for somewhere for a relaxing and romantic stay with my wife. I was looking for somewhere that had a modern part as well as traditional, that also did good food and had a pool/spa. This place fitted the bill exactly. We paid abit more to get the executive room which was a good size, had a balcony and even had a TV in the bathroom. Although there were 2 weddings and a party on, the place wasn't too busy. The pool was quiet and relaxing and I would certainly recommend use of the spa....staff really friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing break it would be hard to beat this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazztune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stayed in Norton House Hotel for one night after a wedding there. First, check-in is at 3pm, even though the wedding started at 2pm (and checkout is 11am so you don't really get much time for your money). We checked in when there was a break before the wedding meal. The staff at reception are not friendly, they had a cold, business-like manner.

The room itself was large with modern furniture, but a very small bath. Huge television and lot of storage/furniture, but neither are particularly high on my priority list.

Went to bed about 1am, and at 2pm was disturbed by a hoard of glass bottles being tipped into a bin - right outside our window! The windows were not sound or draft proof.
Then could hear voices from other rooms, and to top it off at about 5am heard lots of banging outside, which was very annoying.

Then came breakfast, which we were able to order the night before. Arrived on time and nice service. However, the portion was so small and I couldn't believe this was a 4-star hotel. And it was not high quality food either, or home made style, its very much local supermarket job.

It sounds like I am being very critical, but I definitely expected alot more from somewhere I was paying OVER £100 to stay. I've stayed in B and Bs and less starred hotels that have been much higher standards and quality. I can see why it is 4 not 5 star.

Also, when they ask you if you want a newspaper be aware that this is not complimentary, they charge you £2-£3 for it.

I won't be going back to this hotel.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jazztune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Stayed here for one night, it was just what we were lookng for.

We had an executive room in the new section which was very well appointed, spacious and modern, we especially liked the "tileovision" TV!! Made use of the leisure facilities (not spa though) which again were very modern, clean, with plenty of room, not your usual effort of the box like sauna and steam rooms. We ate in the Brasserie and the food was lovely. Breakfast, again in the Brasserie, was very nice. Only very slight complaint was that we could just hear the planes from the airport, but only just and definately wouldn't stop me staying there again. All in all we'll definately go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macr73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing