We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just what the doctor ordered!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #44 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My husband and I stayed one night at Norton House to celebrate the fact that I had just started maternity leave. We arrived mid-afternoon and were greeted by friendly reception staff and escorted to our room (an executive room in the new build extension). The room was fantastic, complete with balcony although we didn't use this as it was a tad chilly. There was a wedding on in the Garden Suite which is nearby and above the spa but if we hadn't been told that then to be honest I don't think we would have known.
I had a treatment booked in the spa - it was perfect from beginning to end - I was so relaxed by it i nearly fell asleep several times! My husband used the gym and said it was all very good and clean. We then both used the pool area and my husband took advantage of the steam room, sauna, hydro pool and said all were great. The spa really does have that tranquil atmosphere that it should.
We had dinner in the brasserie, it was absolutely delicious food and I can't praise the staff highly enough for the service. The brasserie is also where you have breakfast and again, we couldn't fault the service. The breakfast itself was also delicious.
The only slight disappointment was that the bed was slightly too soft but then I do like a very firm mattress.
We can't wait to find another excuse to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheelsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    395
    141
    55
    21
See reviews for
237
656
34
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed in the Norton House because of a friend's wedding (it is a lovely wedding venue). While the hotel's location is very convenient for an event like this due to the airport's proximity, it isn't a good base for sightseeing etc. However, if relaxation and spa is what you're after, they do offer a wonderful relaxing spa and swimming pool. The whole place is stylish but cozy, beautifully decorated, with several charming touches. Service was professional and friendly and the breakfast delicious.

Tip: you can use the spa and pool after check out. Made-to-order smoked haddock omelette for breakfast is a must! ;) Request a room in the original 19th century part of the building.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DareToLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I visited this hotel for two nights with my girlfriend and was quite surprised at the welcome and consistency considering the good reviews.

First the good points. The hotel is close to Edinburgh but outside of the city, so you might need a car or be using taxis to get there. That said, it's nice to be away from the centre. The spa was lovely - the pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna were great! Well worth using if you're there... The bed was lovely and large and the rooms very clean. The huge TV in the room was great! The cleaning staff were very friendly.

Now the not so good. This hotel has an air about it from the website which suggests you will have a great time, and that's therefore what you're expecting, but the welcome there is so cold and offhand - to the point of making us both feel uncomfortable to be honest - that it just ruins the stay.

The other serious problem is the attention to detail in the restaurant:
* The first night was great - we had an amazing chicken dish and had high hopes for the rest of the stay.
* The next morning at breakfast the problems started. I didn't receive my apple juice and had to ask again. I found something which looked like a hairball in my mushrooms. I was told it was from the mushrooms (what is it doing there anyway???) but my next breakfast was brought without cutlery, so I had to get my own. We struggled to get waiters attention all the time. There were other little issues.
* The evening meal was... uninspiring. My beef dish was just about OK, but my girlfriends canelloni was a joke. It was supposed to be with spinich and aubergine - both of which were missing. The aubergine was (we think) replaced by corgette. So, she had a pasta roll with tomato and a bit of cheese, some corgette and some salad. Very poor for £9.50! We did complain but they just said "it should be in the canelloni". My desert was OK, but again hers was terrible - the spotted dick was tasteless sponge with a few currants and weak custard. We left very unhappy.
* Next morning we ordered breakfast to the room, and they didn't include the pastries.

There were a few other minor points where they just don't seem to care about the attention to detail.

All in all, a very poor stay at a hotel which we had high hopes for. I'm not a moaner - everyone gets something wrong sometime - but there were too many mistakes here. We didn't let it ruin our trip, but just be aware that it's not the fantastic place that it would seem from here.

Final point: a warm, friendly welcome would have gone a long way to allowing me to forgive the problems.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mister_phillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

My husband treated me to a long weekend here for my 40th birthday - and what a great weekend it was.
When we arrived we were pleased to find that there is ample car parking, so there were no problems on that score. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly when we checked in and were happy to answer all our questions. We were escorted to our bedroom by a member of staff who carried my luggage for me, and when we arrived there, were pleasantly surprised to find it was a very good size, beautifully and tastefully decorated with an enormous bed! There was room for a small table and chairs, wardrobes and chests of drawers and a huge flat screen television perfectly situated at the end of the bed. The bathroom was an adequate size, spotlessly clean and stocked with plenty of fluffy white towels and bathrobes.
We then made our way to the spa where we swam, had a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. This is in a separate building about 3 minutes walk from the main hotel. It is beautifully kept and the facilities are excellent. We didn't use the gym, so I can't comment on that, but the staff at the spa centre were pleasant and helpful (providing us with tokens when we forgot to take £1 coins with us for the lockers). The changing rooms were clean and well-equipped with everything you might need.
Breakfast in the hotel is fantastic - there is a great selection of everything - juices, cereals, pastries, etc. plus a comprehensive menu of cooked breakfasts. The breakfast staff were extremely attentive and pleasant, bending over backwards to help you with any special requests.
Having read some reviews on this site saying that the noise levels in the hotel were high, I was slightly concerned when I realised that a wedding dance was taking place there on the Saturday night. However, we were back in our room at about 11.00 p.m. and all we could hear was the sound of silence. We could hear no noise at all either from inside or outside the hotel (certainly we didn't hear any airport noise) and enjoyed three nights of luxurious and blissful sleep.
During the day and again in the evening we travelled into Edinburgh by bus as we felt it would be too much hassle to take the car. Hotel staff directed us out of the back entrance of the hotel and told us to wait on the other side of the road, and flag down the bus! This we did with no problems at all - the bus journey takes roughly 30 mins and was very cheap. There is also a nearby Park & Ride into Edinburgh which we didn't use but which we saw from the bus and which some people may find useful.
On our last night we ate dinner in the hotel. It was reasonably expensive (£32.50 per head) but the service was excellent and the food exquisite. We had spent most of that day lounging on the comfy sofas reading the newspapers, but someone was always at hand to bring us pots of tea, snacks etc.
I have stayed in quite a lot of hotels over the years, many of which have been excellent, but I think this is probably the best in terms of service, cleanliness and facilities. Probably the only thing I could score it down on is location as it is slightly tricky to enter if you are coming from the Forth Road Bridge - you pass it on the other side of the dual carriageway and need to keep going to the next roundabout (about 2 miles) before you can turn and get back to it. This is minor though and had no impact on our enjoyment of the experience. Also, it's not cheap - but perfect for a special treat.
To sum up I thought Norton House Hotel was a beautiful, relaxing place with a fantastic spa and restaurant facilities. The staff are polite, friendly and attentive and really make an effort to make your stay enjoyable. I wouldn't hesitate to wholeheartedly recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadylady242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness-shire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We stayed here for my birthday and received a free upgrade to a lovely, spacious room which we liked. Wonderful treatment at the Spa and great service there. The place that lets this hotel down is its dining room staff. We didn't really receive any service and had to try and catch the waiting staff's eye - we ended up getting the wrong food, no conversation from the staff at all, in the end after waiting half an hour for our coffee and petit fours, we just left - very disappointing. The same thing happened at breakfast - we were in the dining room by 9.15am and were the only ones there - the same thing happened - no service - after waiting for ages, we eventually had our order taken. Nobody offered us more tea, toast, cleared our plates - NOTHING - Upon check-out, I explained to the receptionist about the disappointing service but all she replied was "Did you fill out a guest survey" ? I was surprised and wanted to reassure her that I wasn't looking for money back, only to give her an honest report of how the hotel had been for us. If Norton House was my Hotel, I would certainly welcome feedback good and bad alike and respond accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My boyfriend and I decided to book this hotel as we wanted a hotel which was not in the center of Edinburgh and also had leisure facilities.
This hotel lived up to all our expectations. When we arrived we were shown to our room and given a tour around it of how to use everything. The room was in the modern part of the hotel but was immaculate, very spacious and the underfloor heating in the bath room and the 'tilevision' was a great extra. The whole hotel is very clean and so is the spa. The spa was very busy the weekend we were there but were not that bothered as people were very friendly.
We had breakfast and dinner included in our package and the food did not disappoint. The evening meal was a valentines set dinner with a few different choices. The food was amazing so was the service in the restaurant. The only downside to the whole trip was as we were staying 2nights and dinner on both nights in the brasserie, the restaurant had the valentines set dinner on both nights and the menu was the same on each evening. I didn't like this as i only liked one main course and would have preferred a different main on the second night, but this is something i wouldn't complain about, The drinks are also expensive and it does put you off a little.
The staff cannot do enough and this made our stay even better.
I would definitely stay again if i was going to Edinburgh. The hotels best assets are its amazing rooms, attentive staff and stunning grounds!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelbreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands Uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Visited the Norton House Hotel for my daughter's 21st in early February. The hotel is beautiful, the Ushers Restaurant small and intimate and the food excellent. The spa was blissful - could have stayed in the relaxing room for hours! Really recommend the hotel to couples and older families. No noise from the nearby airport and recommend upgrading to the executive rooms, although contemporary in style rather than period, the TV at the end of the bath was a hoot and the beds new and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesMidlandsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,799 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing