We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better for the price you pay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #42 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but could be better for the price you pay!”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We booked our minimoon last minute as we can’t manage our Honeymoon until late September. We were just looking for a few days to relax after our wedding in July. It provided just that. The hotel was in an amazing location and our room lovely. The only issues we had during our break was one of the restaurant staff was very rude to us as he did not realise we were on a DBB package. He had added things onto a bill and got himself a little confused. He wouldn’t listen to what we were saying and became rather frustrated! Another member of staff tried to help explain where he had gone wrong, however this turned out to be wasted efforts as again the waiter would not listen to what was being said. A little inconvenient and embarrassing to be challenged by the waiting staff on our honeymoon, however it is not one you expect from a venue such as Norton House. The issue was so easily resolved the next day at reception, so why the attitude from the waiter? This had already tainted my experience and our Minimoon! Also the house keeping staff were not very particular, I had to fix the base sheets in the bed, they were all bunched up and quite uncomfortable. I don’t expect to remake my bed whilst staying in a hotel.
We would like to return in the future; hopefully the little issues will be ironed out in time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazycatEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    392
    141
    53
    21
See reviews for
235
651
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Just arrived home from a very relaxing break at Norton House Hotel. This is the first break away since the birth of our son, so our expectations were high, as we really needed a nice break and some time to ourselves. From the moment we arrived all the staff were all really friendly and the service was fantastic. Will definitely be back, if we can get the grand parents to baby sit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swampes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I needed something near the airport and this had a good value. It was so pretty and the grounds were gorgeous. The free wi-fi was also helpful. I did not eat at the hotel or use any of the facilities. The room was just about as cute as could be. The bed was a bit lumpy/hard, but not enough for me to not sleep well. There was a wedding going on, I think it is a big destination for that. The spa and fitness center looked gorgeous. It would not be that great if you didn't have a car or understand the public transport, but it was only ten pounds or so total from the airport. Also the Glynn shopping center was only about a five pound ride from the hotel, so I was able to get a taxi and get that taken care of. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Have just (today) returned from a 2 night stay at the Norton House...what a lovely place to stay. Not particularly handy for the Festival but if you don't need to keep travelling to and from the City Centre then this is perfect. A lovely setting, and the staff were so friendly! We didn't eat an evening meal, but the breakfasts were absolutely lovely.... loads of choice in lovely surroundings. There is a nice conservatory serving beverages, I had a very nice piece of carrot cake, but the people on the next table had the full tea on a three tier cake stand....it looked scrumptious!

The fitness suite was very well equipped and the beauty spa offered a wide range of treatments. The pool area was above average with a steam room, sauna, spa pool with powerful jets and an experiennce shower plus lovely changing rooms. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you can afford the taxis into Edinburgh (approx £20) but I believe there is a bus to the village which only a couple of minutes walk,, All in all, a lovely hotel which is made even lovelier by the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

On a recent trip to Edinburgh to meet a few business clients I had a two night stay at the Norton House Hotel.
This is a great hotel to spend a couple of nights. It is a little off the City Centre but ideal for business.
The staff at the hotel were so welcoming and helpful - even when I forgot my phone charger they managed to provide one!
The rooms have all been recently redecorated and are at a very high standard. I stayed in an executive room which had a balcony and tv at the bottom of the bath tub! The food was delicious and my clients thoroughly enjoyed their lunch. They have several small areas ideal for talking business in a relaxed and comfortable surroundings. My only quibble would be that if you are sitting through the day, come later on you are sometimes overlooked by the staff but if you order anything the service is prompt.

All in all i enjoyed my stay that it didn't even feel like I was on business! As a travelling business woman I have stayed in alot of hotels and would not hesitate to return to the Norton.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

we went over to the deserted bar and asked for 2 g&t...girl behind bar said she woud 'come over to our seat' to take this order....h'mm. she could've brought over the drinks without coming over to be told this drinks order again...one would've thought. Anyway we sat down and - she disappeared! We were in no hurry so we waited and chatted. Fifteen mins later second girl appeared, came over to us, took the drinks order again and - disappeared! 15/20 mins later, the g&t s were brought....so around 35 mins to wait for two teenage girls to bring drinks from a distance of a metre from empty bar to seats......the strangest slowest way to serve drinks I've ever heard of in all my life....wonder how long a full meal would've taken ? 5- 6 hours? daren't try it out.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights tgo chill out and realax and that is what we got! The hotel is not in the centre of Edinburgh, however very close by bus and taxi or car.
We got a deluxe room, we got checked in by Fiona on reception who was very friendly and professional, we were impressed. The room had a large bed, desk, seperate area with coffee table and couches. The bathroom was amazing. Very large power shower, bath with a tv built into the wall. Great selection of toilettries, to help you have a bubble bath and watch the tv. Fluffy robes and slippers in the room.
The spa has a good size pool, large jacuzzi, staem room, sauna and chill ot area. There is a gym with several classes available for hotel guests to join in. We loved the friendly staff in the spa and made good use of it at, all included in the price.
We ate in the brassierre restaurant and had great service. The food was nice, we had a steak each, followed by the fab sticky toffee pudding. Breakfast was great, we had it in our room one morning and it was faultless.
Want a nice, luxury weekend at not too expensive price - stay here. We would again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loversScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#84 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,481 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,771 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing