We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spa,Great Food,Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Ranked #46 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Spa,Great Food,Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2011

You can't help thinking this hotel could be better.Positives....Spa and it's staff were first class.Partner had hour long treatment and reckons it was well worth the money.Gym,pool,steam room excellent and very quiet which was great.Room nice with big tv.Food great especially the haggis pudding for breakfast.Drink reasonable cost.Negatives...having to walk outside to get to Spa.No link corridor which is very poor.Walk across car park with your robes ?????Other Spa hotels and especially one equivalent nearby has no such problem.Room noisy if you happen to overlook deliveries.Dining room service at times really slow.Had to wait 20 mins for a pint at dinner and in morning had to ask three times for toast and tea.Overall a nice hotel but without the Spa then nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcbmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    399
    144
    57
    22
See reviews for
243
660
34
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Booked this hotel,on a winter deal, this worked out grat value for money. The hotel is lovely, we stayed in an executive room, would highly reccomend this to everyone.
Hotel - Nice grounds. Lovely, spacious hotel. Slight downside would be that you can hear the airport hustle but you have to expect that at a hotel so near the airport!!
Room - Modern, clean, spacious. Has everything you could want / need with the added bonus of a balcony!
Service - Friendly staff, good service
Spa - Absolutely lovely. Sauna/steam room fab. Great gym with modern quipment. The treatments were great. If I had to pick fault it would only be that the 25 mins treatments, were more like 15mins with 5 mins either side changing time! Treatment themselves ace and staff great too.

Only thing that would have made this break even better would have been clear advice / guidelines from hotel about the package we were on and use of the spa. I had to ask about what we do for dinner. However there was still confusion in the restaurant and they tried to charge us for dinner even though it was part of the package. Then they tried to charge us for drinks we had already paid for! It would also have been helpful to get advice on what to expect from the spa facilities before use.

All in all though a great hotel with a grat spa and would defo go back again...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amomo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Having organised an event here a coupe of years ago, I had always wanted to come back and stay here, we booked through the handpicked hotels website getting a fabulous deal for a double executive room with breakfast and dinner on the first night, with canapes and champagne and access to the spa and health club for £115 per night.

The room was amazing, spacious, modern, massive bathroom with shower and separate bath, with a tv in the tiles!! Free wifi too. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the food is amazing, we dined in the brassiere on both nights, which was lovely and prices are really reasonable for the quality, both food and drink. Breakfast had great choices, from the full scottish, to pancakes, boiled eggs, kippers, porridge and service and food were great again.

Another reason to choose this hotel is that the spa and leisure facilities are amazing, even if you only want to put on your swimming costume and laze by the pool with a book, or have a drink or something to eat in the bar / restaurant, but you can swim / sauna / have treatments / use the gym too. I was so chilled out after two nights, and I don't do chilled!

Can't recommend highly enough, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinsonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

My father was getting married here and myself and my best friend were staying there for 2 nights. The room was gorgeous!! Very modern and boutiqey! Only issue we had (and my brother) was that the tv had very dodgy wiring and it kept turning itself off and on and then muting itself. But apart from that the room was lovely. We ate in the hotels resturant on the Saturday night - there were 20 of us - and the service was wonderful! Food was lovely! The breakfasts were the BEST breakfasts i have ever had!!!!!! I have never seen so much choice!! Totally gorgeous!! Didnt want to stop eating! I had a treatment on the morning of the wedding and the spa was gorgeous. Huge and beautfiully decorated. My friend and brother spent a hour in the pool and loved it! The staff were on hand to help with eveything! Especially when we had a slight wardrobe malfunction! The wedding itself was stunning, the food was again amazing. We actually wanted to come back here at New Year, but couldnt get in! A stunning hotel in a stunning location!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPooh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The nicest spa I've been to in Edinburgh - fantastic staff and a very good manager. Couldn't fault it at all. And for such a beautiful place, cheaper than some of its competitors.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2010

This hotel is beautiful from the moment you drive in. We stayed here to attend a wedding in the hotel. The staff were extremely professional, and a pleasure to be around. I brought my daughter, and staff couldn't do enough to provide any help I needed.
The rooms were outstanding, a great size and very clean with large bathrooms.
We really enjoyed our entire stay, and will definitely return for a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alism82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We would highly recommend this hotel. The room was lovely and very quiet. The spa was excellent with a decent sized pool and good, clean facilities. The staff were exceptional - friendly, attentive and professional and the food was great too. The hotel is situated in lovely grounds. It is just outside of Edinburgh, so having a car is probably advisable. We took a Sunday night D,B & B package which included afternon cream tea and provided very good value for money. Thanks to all of the staff for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silkie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,194 reviews
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh

Property: Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Address: Ingliston, Edinburgh EH28 8LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#25 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norton House Hotel & Spa, one of the finest country house hotels in Edinburgh and AA Hotel of the Year Scotland 2010. The perfect backdrop to any wedding in Scotland, this romantic venue will make your Scottish Wedding dream come true. Built in 1840, Norton House Hotel & Spa in Edinburgh, Scotland was always intended as a traditional country retreat, removed from the bustle of the city. This four star hotel in Scotland is just a 20-minute drive from Edinburgh city centre and a mere ten minutes away from Edinburgh Airport. Situated in 55 acres of grounds, Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh offers 83 bedrooms, including 36 luxury executive bedrooms, junior suites and the master suite. Norton House Hotel in Scotland offers the popular contemporary Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Spa Edinburgh
Norton Hotel Edinburgh
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing