We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have rarely stayed in a hotel where the service has been so good, room was nice, maybe a little on the cool side and TV was a bit eratic but these were minor points . Food was excellent as well. Excellent if you wanted to play golf as there are several courses around and an excellent driving range with a good shop

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank 354anthonyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking time for your feedback.

We are happy that everything at the Braid Hills Hotel was to your satisfaction,i have also passed on your praised comments on to our staff,

look forward to seeing you again soon.

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    377
    120
    58
    25
See reviews for
187
421
42
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Came up for a couple of nights for my uncles 90th! Great location in the bus route into the city. Ate in both restaurants, both very good with very good service. Excellent value for money. My score of 4 for the room was due to the TV not working but I didn't report it as we were not in our room very much!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at the Braid Hills Hotel,we Glad you enjoyed your Uncle 90th Birthday, but i d wish you told us about the tv we would have resolved that straight away even how little you was going to use it , but thanks you again for your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Please ignore the poor cmments about this gem of a hotel, we arrived after touring the highlands, tired and not knowing what to expect! You enter the hotel to a wonderful foyer with seating and style and dark wood staircase. The recepionist Triona(from kildare) was wonderful and welcoming and witihin seconds we knew we had a great stay upon us. The hotel is under new ownership and wow the change is incredible from what I hear of the past??? the style of the hotel outside carries thorught inside. The bar is wonderful with oak parquet flooring and tartan gray wool curtains it just oozes comfort and the bar is extensive, their are two resaturant one inside which is lovley and a graill bar on the grounds.
Our room was not one of the refurbished ones but it was huge and had everything that a 4 star would have complimentry water and shortbreads yummy!
Breakfast the following morning was cold and hot buffet the chioce was endless prob the biggest selection of cold fruits I have ever seen again 4 star quality!!!!

We decided to go to Rosyln Chappel only 10 min drive away and the city before leaving so this was great location taxi to princes st only £10 and all orgainsed for us. The amont of information in the bar ie dining books places to go it top notch. Congratulations too all involved you have hit all the righ notes. Ps we stayed at another 3 star best western in the highlands and that gave us concerns on arrival.... but they soon faded at BHH. Again thanks for the wonderful stay we will be back Steve & Hannes

Room Tip: Aske for one of the refurbished ones but dont worry if you dont get one the others are still great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at the Braid Hills Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable visit and enjoyed your stay, i have passed on kind comments to all the staff


I look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

First visit, stayed for 2 nights, double room was a good size and very cosy. The bathroom let it down a bit but nothing that we couldn't cope with. We got a ridiculously good rate including breakfast which was great. Close to Morningside and easy walking distance. Definitely stay again when next in Edinburgh. Free parking immediately outside hotel doors. Overall a really great stay. Our room had a great view over the adjoining park and the main road but wasn't noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear KB Scotland
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Braid Hills Hotel. I was so happy to read that you found the service and beautiful surroundings to your liking. Please do visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I travel to Edinburgh fairly regularly and quite easily this is the best hotel in its price range I have stayed in. The hotel is well situated for all the City attractions but fair enough away for it not to impact on your stay. The rroms are extremely well appointed and looked after very well and the catering provided in both restaurants is of a high quality. I have found all the staff helpful and friendly and I personally enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hi Gary

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with ourselves at the Braid Hills Hotel, and that everything was to your satisfaction, We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We arranged for relatives to stay for 4 nights dinner bed and breakfast at the nearby Braid Hills Hotel and we joined them for the evening meal. They were up at the top with a turret overlooking Edinburgh and enjoyed the spectacular views. Their bed was apparently ginormous and very comfortable. I will leave them to review their stay which they say was excellent. Important was off-street parking and the bus stop into town and the station was just down (steep) stairs. Lovely views over the park as well and all the dogs having fun. If it had been a pet-friendly hotel, we may even have stayed ourselves.

Under new management (since we last ate there),the hotel has been refurbished. There is less formality and it is clearly well used by business folk who could dress casually for dinner as it was more of a relaxed "bistro" atmosphere. Other parties were equally at home in more evening wear.

I really want to commend the restaurant and our amazing waitress Marta. The choice of food was wide-ranging, suiting my very elderly mother's taste as well as our more modern taste. The attitude of our waitress was so cheerful. Although busy, she remembered our drinks preferences from the first night and her answer was always "yes" (as in yes we could choose between the two menus; yes we could have 3 difference flavours of icecream tho only vanilla was written down; yes we could ......) She never failed to smile with genuine warmth

The restaurant was also well set out with tables for two, or one business person, as well as tables for larger parties and everyone clearly felt comfortable whether alone or in company - one lady had even brought her knitting and of course the business folk could immerse themselves in laptop or iphone.

Food really was excellent - a huge thank you to the chef. We are already recommending the hotel and restaurant to our neighbours

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your kind honest review, we are most appreciated of all our guest comments,we have forward your reviews on to relevant staff that you particularly mentioned and we hope to look forward for seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a lovely twin room for 4 nights with great views. Buses stop outside hotel and one can get into Edinburgh very easily. Breakfasts were good too. There were a few stairs but if you can cope with them I would definitely recommend. Ask for a room with a view!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled to hear that you would recommend us.

I hope to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing