We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. My only complaint about the braid hills would be that the room we were given was quite dated. This however was reflected in the price of only £120 for Friday and Saturday night for two people, with a dinner and breakfast included on the Friday. For a room that was priced at the same
As a travelodge room, I found this excellent value for money. And I couldn't fault the food, everything we were served was to a high quality, with great service and wine available too. We would loved to have eaten there, even if it wasn't included.

The lobby of the hotel appears to recently have been renovated, it has a Scottish theme with a classy and upmarket feel. This also applies to the bar, where we spent an enjoyable evening. Additionally, service was always given with a smile, I especially found the maid friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a little out of the centre of town, but situated right beside the quirky and quaint area of morningside, where there are plentiful shops, restaurants and pubs. For going into the centre of edniburgh the bus service is great, we waitied for no longer than 5 minutes for a bus, right outside of the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to couples, families, or people travelling on business. The food is excellent and the prices are fantastic, especially for edniburgh. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryHippo1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

As you correctly note our public areas have recently been renovated and I am pleased to hear that this is to your liking.
The refurbishment of our bedrooms is currently on going and we are working on continuing the theme of our public areas throughout the hotel.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Not the smartest or biggest hotel room ever but I'm definitely going again. Where do they get their staff? Everyone from the desk staff to waiters and waitresses and the guy behind the bar was just so exceptionally nice.You felt as if you were their priority - which is as it should be but also as it seldom is....you felt as if nothing would be a problem.
I stay in a lot of hotels. This one gets my vote for the welcome alone.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back - maybe the front has better views but it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Isabel

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback, i have forward your comments on to our teams I appreciate your comments that you have given to them.
We are glad we made your time in Edinburgh a special one

look forward to seeing again soon

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend. It is a small hotel with good amenities. I like the design of the rooms. The staff at the reception were quite attentive. The only drawback is its very far from the city centre, like princes Street and George Street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baruch_Hashem613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback, i have passed your comments onto our reception team, and we are glad you enjoyed stay at the Braid Hills Hotel.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Braid Hills hotel was fantastic. Staff were very attentive to detail, polite and helpful. Food was wonderful and the room was comfortable. It would be a pleasure to come back in the future.
Andrew Moy
HCTS

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Andrew

We thank you for your kind feedback that you gave i have forward your comments onto our team

Look forward to seeing you soon

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

stayed at this hotel last weekend, nice looking from the exterior and nice reception area, bar and eating area.
very good for traveling to the center of Edinburgh bus stop near by.
food in the evening was of good standard and the same for the breakfast.
room was large and had all you would need good wifi bath and shower.
decor was tired and carpet bit dated in my view,
would stay again good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happysnapper53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank for taking time for giving us your feedback, we appreciate your thoughts we have a large amount of refurbishment over the last 14 months as you may have seen and we are continuously upgrading our rooms, we glad that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The staff at the hotel were very helpful. I liked the location with excellent bus links to the city. There is a lovely park opposite the hotel and you can walk to the Pentland Hills. The views from the hotel are excellent. The room we stayed in was warm and fairly comfortable but the decor was outdated and the furnishings quite shabby. The mattresses were lumpy. Breakfast was basic but ok. The hot food was cold sometimes. Overall not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmsessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

We appreciate the time you have given with your feedback, as you may have seen we have had a large part of the hotel been refurbished and this is on a continuous basis of us improving the standards, we are also glad that your stay was an enjoyable and i have forward you kind comments onto the the staff.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
#109 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,355 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing