We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit old or looks a bit old and can use a redecoration. The room and bathroom we stayed in was spacious enough for the both of us. The beds were a bit short and to soft for us.
Staff was nice and very helpful, WiFi is available in the rooms but for the best signal just sit in the lobby.

During our two nights we ate in both restaurant and if you don't want to travel to the town center these are a great place to eat.

Hotel is situated next to a bus stop, 10-15 minutes from the city center (1,50 for one-way, 3,50 for a day ticket), walking is also an option this took us (with a coffeestop) around 75 minutes.

We definitely didn't had a bad experience at the best western but it could have been better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wouteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service that you received from our staff and that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurants.

As you may have noticed during your stay we are currently undergoing an on going refurbishment programme to update our rooms and public areas.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    377
    120
    58
    25
See reviews for
187
421
42
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The deluxe room(318) we had reserved was a good size with lovely views over the park. However, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The reply from the manager to Stuart T about deluxe rooms having larger bathrooms is misleading to say the least as our bathroom can only be described as "tiny". When you opened the door it reached the sink, you then had to walk in and move to the right to close the door. I can only describe it as being a "reverse t shape" with very limited room.
With regards to the WiFi, it did not work at anytime during our stay and when reported to the receptionist she did say the router outside our room required resetting, but appears not to have been done.
Overall the stay was pleasant, but it does need updating very quickly!

Room Tip: ask for one with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blklincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your room, however, I am sorry that you found the bathroom to have limited space.

My records indicate that the router for room 318 has been recently reset, I am sorry if this did not solve your problem with the Wifi, the issue has now been reported to our provider for further investigation.

We are currently undergoing an on going refurbishment programme to update our public areas and rooms, please be assured that any feedback received regarding the rooms is taken into consideration in relation to the scheduling of the works.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Should you wish to discuss any of the matters raised please contact me directly on heather.unwin@braidhillshotel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the Braid Hills this week paying £110 B&B for one night. I paid extra for a Deluxe room, but the room was stuffy, dirty, cramped, built into the roof, and the decor was 1980's florals with added dated features. The bathroom was small and dated. No way could it be described as Deluxe. When I complained to the hotel staff they didn't want to know. When I complained to Best Western they called the hotel and were told the room was Deluxe because of the view - which I accept was splendid !!! Make sure you get a refurbished room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the room you were assigned.
Our Deluxe Rooms are considerably larger than our Classic Rooms and have a larger bathroom. They also benefit from views over Edinburgh. I am particularly concerned to hear that you felt our staff were not interested when you raised your concerns.

I am disappointed to hear that you found the cleanliness of your room to be a problem. Our housekeeping team have a strict procedure in place to ensure that all rooms are cleaned up to standard, the rooms are then checked by our Housekeeping Manager prior to check in. I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager for further investigation.

We are currently in the process of a major refurbishment programme to update all public areas and guest bedrooms, however, as I am sure you can appreciate this is an ongoing project.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on heather.unwin@braidhillshotel.co.uk.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding (which was excellent) but weren't blown away with it as a place to stay.

Our room was badly in need of refurbishment. The bed was supposed to be a double but it was the smallest double I've encountered, when either of us moved during the night we hit the other and as a result didn't sleep well.

The shower was hot and powerful and the bathroom was clean but it needed ripped out as dated is an understatement.

At breakfast there was lots to choose from on the buffet BUT it had all be put out at the start of service and by the time we went for breakfast it was all mildly warm at best. I was further annoyed when I heard a staff member say to someone else the breakfast buffet is there or you can order from the menu. We were not given a menu or told this.

Would I recommend the Braid Hills? Yes for a wedding - that was fantastic but for a stay - probably not. It wasn't bad it just wasn't great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsLass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended but disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with other aspects of your stay.

We are currently in the process of updating our guest bedrooms as part of our on going refurbishment programme. We offer a range of room specifications from our 'Classic Doubles' which have a standard double bed to our 'Deluxe' and 'Premium' Rooms which have larger beds and are more spacious.

Our breakfast buffet is refreshed throughout service in order to ensure that all items served are fresh I am sorry to hear if this was not the case on the morning of your breakfast and will be sure to pass this on to our food and beverage manager, along with your comments regarding the issue relating to the menu for investigation.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed for 4 nights and the room, the meals and staff were all excellent. An older building but that makes it stand out as an individual hotel.
Although not in the centre, the bus service into Princes Street is quick and frequent and bus stops are just beside the hotel.
When you compare the price and what you receive for that price, this must be one of the best value hotels in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all aspects of our Hotel.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Heather Unwin
Duty Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Also had a meeting room for 2 days. Staff all very friendly and attentive with good service. My room was reasonable although rather small. The bathroom needed a lick of paint and again it was only big enough for one person at a time. I would stay here again. 7/10

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Uktraveller990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay and meeting with us.

Great customer service is essential to us and it is great to hear that our staff proved to be friendly and attentive.

We have a range of room specifications available to meet the requirements of our guests varying in configuration and size. We are in the process of updating the décor of our rooms and I have noted your comments regarding the bathroom in order to assist with the process of prioritising our work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing