We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,190 results
Traveller rating
486
457
149
69
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
457
149
69
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreno lifttraditional hotellovely hotelbus stopbus servicedouble roomhaggisgreat roomfamily roomstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellentcooked breakfastprinces streetbraidedmorningsidereceptionist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
794 - 799 of 1,190 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here before. Maybe I was lucky previously, or maybe hotel was not as busy, and I got a better room. Room this time was tiny, with a rattling window and flickering lights. Arrived slightly early, to be told quite rudely that check in was at 3, and not before. Its a shame as this hotel is nicely situated for a visit to Edinburgh, but probably wont go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear that you feel your experience with us did not live up to your expectations based on your previous stay.

We do have a range of room classifications available in order to cater for a variety of customer needs and budgets and I am sorry if you feel that the room you were allocated was smaller than expected. It is unfortunate we did not have the opportunity to resolve the issues regarding your room during your stay with us.

Our check in time is from 3pm onwards and while we will try to honour any early check in requests this is not always possible, particularly during our busy times. I am shocked that you feel that this was communicated to you in a rude manor as we pride ourselves on providing a friendly warm welcome to all our guests and customers.

I do hope that you will consider returning to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel. One of our team would be happy to assist with any queries regarding our room specifications should you be concerned about the suitability of the room for your needs.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We attended a silver wedding celebration here on Saturday, having previously attended their wedding reception at the same hotel 25 years ago. The hotel front of house areas were lovely as was the function room and bar. I had a look at the restaurant and thought what lovely views it has. This is a hotel I would recommend to someone who did not want to be in the city centre but did not mind a short bus journey in. All the young staff both in the bar and the function room were excellent so polite and keen to please. We ate from a hot buffet selection during the celebration and all the food was very good. An additional bonus was that the bar for the function room is slightly separated and formed an oasis for those of us who wanted to avoid the noise of the disco at times. There is a separate bar where food is also served at the rear of the hotel giving another choice for guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding the celebration you attended at the weekend.

I am thrilled to hear that you pleased with the service provided by our staff and were impressed with the newly refurbished public areas and function room.

It certainly seemed that everyone had an enjoyable evening and I am delighted that we had the opportunity to welcome the happy couple (along with family and friends) back 25 years after their big day.

Hopefully you will have chance to return to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel next time you are planning special occasion or family gathering.

Thanks you once again for taking the time to post you review.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a 1 night stay at short notice because it was convenient for a friend's birthday party. Didn't have great expectations but we were pleasantly surprised. Warm welcome on arrival from helpful receptionist. The foyer & reception area appear to have been refurbished recently and are smart & contemporary.

Our room decor was dated & chintzy but well-maintained & not shabby. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with ample storage. The bathroom was also a bit dated but had an effective shower. The standard double bed was comfortable & we both slept well.

There was a good range of choices from the breakfast buffet and quality was good. The dining room and lounge bar have also been refurbished in a contemporary style and there is a relaxed ambience.

Overall we thought that this was a good 3*** and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I am thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our Hotel and had a comfortable stay with us.

As you correctly noted our foyer and reception have been recently refurbished and we are currently working on updating the guest bedrooms.

We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is a bit old or looks a bit old and can use a redecoration. The room and bathroom we stayed in was spacious enough for the both of us. The beds were a bit short and to soft for us.
Staff was nice and very helpful, WiFi is available in the rooms but for the best signal just sit in the lobby.

During our two nights we ate in both restaurant and if you don't want to travel to the town center these are a great place to eat.

Hotel is situated next to a bus stop, 10-15 minutes from the city center (1,50 for one-way, 3,50 for a day ticket), walking is also an option this took us (with a coffeestop) around 75 minutes.

We definitely didn't had a bad experience at the best western but it could have been better.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wouteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service that you received from our staff and that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurants.

As you may have noticed during your stay we are currently undergoing an on going refurbishment programme to update our rooms and public areas.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The deluxe room(318) we had reserved was a good size with lovely views over the park. However, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The reply from the manager to Stuart T about deluxe rooms having larger bathrooms is misleading to say the least as our bathroom can only be described as "tiny". When you opened the door it reached the sink, you then had to walk in and move to the right to close the door. I can only describe it as being a "reverse t shape" with very limited room.
With regards to the WiFi, it did not work at anytime during our stay and when reported to the receptionist she did say the router outside our room required resetting, but appears not to have been done.
Overall the stay was pleasant, but it does need updating very quickly!

Room Tip: ask for one with a large bathroom
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blklincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your room, however, I am sorry that you found the bathroom to have limited space.

My records indicate that the router for room 318 has been recently reset, I am sorry if this did not solve your problem with the Wifi, the issue has now been reported to our provider for further investigation.

We are currently undergoing an on going refurbishment programme to update our public areas and rooms, please be assured that any feedback received regarding the rooms is taken into consideration in relation to the scheduling of the works.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Should you wish to discuss any of the matters raised please contact me directly on heather.unwin@braidhillshotel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews