We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here recently while my husband had business in the city. Room although a bit 80,s was huge and spotlessly clean view over Edinburgh was beautiful. From the staff at reception to the waiting staff nothing was too much bother. Bed was so big and comfy bathroom sufficient with good toiletries both breakfast and evening meal and wine were delicious but I chose the fajitas enough on my plate for two!! The hotel had a bus stop across the road so on our free time day we bought £3.50 day tickets and had a ball jumping on and off the bus to visit haunts from my youth.Would have loved to stay longer felt so relaxed and at home due to the laid back ambience. We will definitely return one of the best stays I have had in a hotel in a long time and we travel frequently a big thankyou to everyone.

Room Tip: we had aroom on second floor with stunning views over Edinburgh
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnakaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and found our staff to be accommodating. I will be sure to pass on your thanks across the departments.
I am glad you had the chance to sample our restaurant and explore the city during your time in Edinburgh.

It is great to hear of your intention to return to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you have any specific room requests.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    362
    115
    58
    24
See reviews for
179
401
41
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silverstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrived late at hotel so food was not available, but expected this and the check in process was quick. The bar / lounge area has been nicely decorated with a Scottish feel and relaxing environment. Wifi was available both in the bar/lounge and the room without any problems.
Room was ok on the 3rd floor with a view over the hotel roofs below; there was a double and a single bed and bathroom was ok. Only thing was the wall paper near the single bed needed a bit of TLC
Breakfast was nice, especially the pastries with friendly staff.
Would def stay next time I'm in Edinburgh

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobz42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Many thanks for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and would think of us next time you are in Edinburgh. If you would like to request one of our refurbished rooms please contact the hotel directly and we will try our best to accommodate this.

If you are staying with us in the future and find yourself arriving late we do offer a 24 hour room service menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here before. Maybe I was lucky previously, or maybe hotel was not as busy, and I got a better room. Room this time was tiny, with a rattling window and flickering lights. Arrived slightly early, to be told quite rudely that check in was at 3, and not before. Its a shame as this hotel is nicely situated for a visit to Edinburgh, but probably wont go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry to hear that you feel your experience with us did not live up to your expectations based on your previous stay.

We do have a range of room classifications available in order to cater for a variety of customer needs and budgets and I am sorry if you feel that the room you were allocated was smaller than expected. It is unfortunate we did not have the opportunity to resolve the issues regarding your room during your stay with us.

Our check in time is from 3pm onwards and while we will try to honour any early check in requests this is not always possible, particularly during our busy times. I am shocked that you feel that this was communicated to you in a rude manor as we pride ourselves on providing a friendly warm welcome to all our guests and customers.

I do hope that you will consider returning to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel. One of our team would be happy to assist with any queries regarding our room specifications should you be concerned about the suitability of the room for your needs.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar Fife
Level Contributor
266 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We attended a silver wedding celebration here on Saturday, having previously attended their wedding reception at the same hotel 25 years ago. The hotel front of house areas were lovely as was the function room and bar. I had a look at the restaurant and thought what lovely views it has. This is a hotel I would recommend to someone who did not want to be in the city centre but did not mind a short bus journey in. All the young staff both in the bar and the function room were excellent so polite and keen to please. We ate from a hot buffet selection during the celebration and all the food was very good. An additional bonus was that the bar for the function room is slightly separated and formed an oasis for those of us who wanted to avoid the noise of the disco at times. There is a separate bar where food is also served at the rear of the hotel giving another choice for guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment regarding the celebration you attended at the weekend.

I am thrilled to hear that you pleased with the service provided by our staff and were impressed with the newly refurbished public areas and function room.

It certainly seemed that everyone had an enjoyable evening and I am delighted that we had the opportunity to welcome the happy couple (along with family and friends) back 25 years after their big day.

Hopefully you will have chance to return to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel next time you are planning special occasion or family gathering.

Thanks you once again for taking the time to post you review.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a 1 night stay at short notice because it was convenient for a friend's birthday party. Didn't have great expectations but we were pleasantly surprised. Warm welcome on arrival from helpful receptionist. The foyer & reception area appear to have been refurbished recently and are smart & contemporary.

Our room decor was dated & chintzy but well-maintained & not shabby. The room was spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with ample storage. The bathroom was also a bit dated but had an effective shower. The standard double bed was comfortable & we both slept well.

There was a good range of choices from the breakfast buffet and quality was good. The dining room and lounge bar have also been refurbished in a contemporary style and there is a relaxed ambience.

Overall we thought that this was a good 3*** and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gramac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I am thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by our Hotel and had a comfortable stay with us.

As you correctly noted our foyer and reception have been recently refurbished and we are currently working on updating the guest bedrooms.

We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit old or looks a bit old and can use a redecoration. The room and bathroom we stayed in was spacious enough for the both of us. The beds were a bit short and to soft for us.
Staff was nice and very helpful, WiFi is available in the rooms but for the best signal just sit in the lobby.

During our two nights we ate in both restaurant and if you don't want to travel to the town center these are a great place to eat.

Hotel is situated next to a bus stop, 10-15 minutes from the city center (1,50 for one-way, 3,50 for a day ticket), walking is also an option this took us (with a coffeestop) around 75 minutes.

We definitely didn't had a bad experience at the best western but it could have been better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wouteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the service that you received from our staff and that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurants.

As you may have noticed during your stay we are currently undergoing an on going refurbishment programme to update our rooms and public areas.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The deluxe room(318) we had reserved was a good size with lovely views over the park. However, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The reply from the manager to Stuart T about deluxe rooms having larger bathrooms is misleading to say the least as our bathroom can only be described as "tiny". When you opened the door it reached the sink, you then had to walk in and move to the right to close the door. I can only describe it as being a "reverse t shape" with very limited room.
With regards to the WiFi, it did not work at anytime during our stay and when reported to the receptionist she did say the router outside our room required resetting, but appears not to have been done.
Overall the stay was pleasant, but it does need updating very quickly!

Room Tip: ask for one with a large bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blklincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am glad to hear that you were pleased with your room, however, I am sorry that you found the bathroom to have limited space.

My records indicate that the router for room 318 has been recently reset, I am sorry if this did not solve your problem with the Wifi, the issue has now been reported to our provider for further investigation.

We are currently undergoing an on going refurbishment programme to update our public areas and rooms, please be assured that any feedback received regarding the rooms is taken into consideration in relation to the scheduling of the works.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Should you wish to discuss any of the matters raised please contact me directly on heather.unwin@braidhillshotel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#78 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#93 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing