We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #51 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We will return”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On the outskirts of Edinburgh but just a short bus ride into the city (frequent bus service and bus stops right outside the hotel down a fairly steep flight of steps).
Undergoing a refurbishment including a large outside decking area.
The public rooms appeared 'finished' and were modern.
Our bedroom and bathroom was a little tired and dated but was large with a huge window which actually opened (a rarity in hotels nowadays!).
There was a pub onsite which sold food but we didn't visit.
Small garden area (within the car park) with garden furniture.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightonSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

As you correctly note we are undergoing refurbishment at the moment and whilst the public areas are nearing completion the refurbishment of the guest bedrooms is currently an on going project.

I am thrilled to hear that you would return to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly should you have any specific room requests and we will try our best to accommodate you.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    392
    127
    59
    27
See reviews for
192
444
42
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Couldn't believe I paid almost £100 for one night, room only, to stay in a room which was so badly in need of a refurb. We had a campbed in the room, which obviously staff couldn't be bothered removing even though we were only 2. There was a cushion on the bed which frankly should have been in a skip, the toilet didn't flush properly, the bedside lamp didn't work. Most off putting of all, the bathroom floor seemed to have no covering on it, it looked like a floor which had once been carpeted, carpet now removed and had been painted to 'freshen' it up. Sadly whoever painted didn't clean it first, so many black hairs had been painted on to the floor, disgusting!

I felt completely ripped off.

On the plus side the staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

While I am please to hear that you found our staff couldn't have been nicer I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the room allocated to you.
We are in the process of a refurbishment programme and whilst our public areas and some bedrooms have been completed the work on our rooms is currently on going. Please be assured that guest feedback is taken into consideration when the scheduling the refurbishment works. It would be much appreciated if you could contact me directly on heather.unwin@braidhillshotel.co.uk with details of your reservation in order for me to further investigate.

I hope to hear from you directly at your convenience.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights on a superbreak deal whilst at our daughters Graduation.Only cost us £42pppn on a B&B Basis,with a Free Afternoon Tea,Sandwiches,Cakes,Scones,Jam,Dessert etc included on arrival.Wonderful value on the deal we where on.Hotel very clean Throughout,Helpful staff (especially Claire on reception),Nice Atmosphere & character,Just enough of a Car park & easy to get Bus or Taxi to the centre.The Room was a little small,the washbasin cracked & partly blocked,5 Minutes for the water to go. No Porridge option at Breakfast! Staff where slow to refill the Hot Food,even though the room was not that busy,also could do with a seperate knife for bread,toast etc,everyone was looking for one,the breakfast plates where also too large to fit on the table with the other items etc.Minor points,these,Food was of Good Quality & plentiful,but considering some people where paying £80+ pppn for B&B,these little points need to be right.Would happily stay again at the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and will be sure to pass this on to the team and Claire in particular.

I am sorry that you experienced some issues during your stay but would like to thank you for bringing these to our attention. I will ensure that your feedback regarding breakfast is passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The Hotel has brought itself up to date with its refurbishment and will be superb once the surround decking is complete. Lovely meal today in a very lovely room, staff were first class and attentive to the guests with a number of them elderly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz N Suze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for posting your review of your recent event with us.

I am thrilled to hear that your guests had an enjoyable day and that you approve of our refurbishment works.

We are looking forward to the completion of our new decking area and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again over the summer months.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel near to the centre of Edinburgh after our sons graduation ceremony in Ednburgh University. The hotel is situated close enough to walk to the city centre in abour 25 minutes or a 5 minute drive by car.The hotel is situated on an elevated position giving nice views of the landscape and the city beyond, Edinburgh castle can be seen from the dining room.
Inside,the hotel is beautifully decorated and comfortably furnished and reception staff are very well presented, friendly and eager to please you.
Our room, although smaller than we would have preferred,was spotlessly clean beautifully decorated and very comfortable
We ate in the dining room for dinner and breakfast. Again the high level of helpfulness and friendliness of the staff was apparent and the food from the large choice on the menu was well presented and delicious.
Overall a delightful stay which we will have again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a less compact room if you need space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is great to read that you had a delightful stay and hope to return to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future. We offer a range of different room specification in order to meet the varied needs of our guests, perhaps you could be tempted to upgrade next time you stay with us?

I am glad that you were pleased with the level of service you received from our staff, I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review, please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you are planning a trip to Edinburgh.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was looking for a quiet hotel near to the Royal Observatory side of Edinburgh and found this one. It is only 30 minutes on the bus from Waverley station, and in fact you could walk it if you were keen to in, oh, about 55 minutes I guess, so it's really not all that far from the tourist centre. Excellent service, very friendly and helpful staff. Quality food in the restaurant, and even some attractive views thrown in to make it a pleasant experience. I was somewhat surprised when my room turned out to be in a different building from the reception and restaurant, but the room was great, the bed comfortable and the en-suite clean and fully functional - in fact rather stylish. I think the part I stayed in has just been refurbished - literally finished within the last couple of weeks. I would definitely stay there again - in fact, the next time I need to stay in Edinburgh, I'll do my utmost to use this hotel, whether it's on the right side of town or not!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is always great to hear such positive comments and I am delighted that you approve of our newly refurbished rooms. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team who are dealing with the refurbishment works. I am pleased that you found our staff were friendly and helpful throughout your stay, we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and it is always good to hear when we deliver.

I am thrilled that you would stay with us again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you are planning a trip to Edinburgh and we will do our best to make your next stay as enjoyable as your last visit.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night last week with my family.The hotel is about a 20 minute bus ride into Princess street but the bust stop is right outside the hotel.I was pleased with our stay here,the rooms were spacious,clean and tidy.The staff very helpful with all our questions and a big bonus for us was our room was ready early as we arrived about noon.All the family were very impressed with breakfast so all in all a very good stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnsafc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is great to see that you were pleased with your stay with us and found our staff to be helpful.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you are planning a trip to Edinburgh.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#57 of 148 in Edinburgh
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing