We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$847
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$680
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveller rating
491
463
150
69
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
463
150
69
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreno lifttraditional hotellovely hotelbus stopbus servicedouble roomhaggisgreat roomfamily roomstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellentcooked breakfastprinces streetbraidedmorningsidereceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed one night while at a wedding in Edinburgh. Big comfy room, very clean and quiet.
Only down side was breakfast which was very unimaginative and compared to the lovely buffets on offer in most modern hotels was very poor
Helpful friendly check in staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuffyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is great to see that you had an enjoyable stay and found our staff to be friendly.

We offer a full cooked Scottish Breakfast Buffet with additional items available on our Continental Buffet so I am disappointed to hear that you found breakfast to be unimaginative. Please be assured that I have passed on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager for review.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly next time you are planning a trip to Edinburgh and one of our team will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When calling the hotel to reserve (online sites showed fully booked) first impression was very pleasant; was looking for a recently refurbished room and got one just above the entrance on 2nd floor.

Lovely BIG room with four-poster and a nice turret window with views over Edinburgh looking north-east over city. Breakfast and dinner in hotel restaurant were very good, as was a meal in the adjoining bistro.
Easy access from the Airport via the city bypass and easy access into the city itself.

Work was being done on the outside deck; workmen were not too noisy until mid-morning.

Here's when you can tell the hotel staff listens; I mentioned the noise when paying the bill, not complaining, however I had asked for a quiet room due to being light sleepers.
Hotel staff acknowledged and apologised.
After paying the bill and walking out of the hotel, I then noticed they had reduced the bill by a token amount.

Well done Briad Hills!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NormMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay.

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with our newly refurbished room and had the opportunity to sample our Restaurant and the adjoining Buckstone Pub and Kitchen.

I am sorry if the workmen caused you any disruption but I hope this was minimal and did not impact your stay. I am pleased to see that you were happy with the service delivered by our staff and will be sure to pass on your comments.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel next time you are visiting Edinburgh. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and we will do our best to accommodate any special room requests.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to book at the Braid Hills for a wedding planning trip to Edinburgh and fancied treating ourselves to a bit of luxury having driven past the hotel many times. On the whole the hotel was great - communal areas are lovely and we had a great evening relaxing in the bar. Staff were really friendly and helpful, even offering to carry out bags upstairs as the room does or have a lift. Breakfast was lovely and staff were very attentive, offering teas and coffees and ensuring the buffet was well stocked (which Incidentally had a great choice of cooked and continental style options).

The standard double room we booked was cosy but comfortable. The decor appeared slightly dated but was generally in good condition and the room was clean. However, we did a counter a few issues with the room - first of all when putting our things into the wardrobe we discovered that one of the doors had completely come off it's runners and was propped up inside the wardrobe itself. Also the headboard of the bed creaked somewhat whenever I so much as rolled over in bed and my pillow pushed against it. Additionally, one of the halogen bulbs had blown above the bathroom sink but this could happen any time. These slight issues did detract slightly from our experience, especially given the price you pay to stay at the hotel.

One slightly amusing discovery in the room thought was a phone book in the bedside drawer from 2004/5! Although it did amuse I do find this slightly concerning how this had gone unnoticed for the best part of 10 years!

Overall, we would happily stay here again despite the obvious issues in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Madcyclepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that your found the hotel to be great overall and found our staff to be friendly and attentive, however, I am sorry that your experienced a few problems with your room. I do hope that our team were able to resolve these issues during your stay and they did not cause you too much inconvenience.

The hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme, and while the public areas are nearing completion the work on the rooms is ongoing.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid HIlls Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will try our best to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We drove up from England, parked the car, walked down a few steps, caught a city bus, and enjoyed Edinburgh without the hassle of driving. The staff members were courteous and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable, though small. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and efficient and that you would be happy to recommend the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you are planning a trip.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews