We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Braid Hills Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Western Braid Hills Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had three nights at this hotel which was comfortable with an excellent breakfast and staff were very friendly.
There was a bus stop at the end of the drive with an excellent bus service into Edinburgh (15 minutes) and Leith (Royal Yacht Brittania worth seeing there as well as lovely resteraunts) as well as Rosslin Church (the Da Vinci Code) the other way with a day pass at only £3.50!
Our room was fine with a lovely view over the park and in the grounds the hotel has its own "pub".

Room Tip: We found our room facing the park had a road in front of it but even with the windows open it was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFogg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the local bus links to The Royal Yacht Britannia and Roslyn.

I hope you have the opportunity to return to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    376
    120
    58
    25
See reviews for
187
421
42
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have used this hotel on occasion when in the area for business reasons. I found the hotel not too bad, not amazingly good. The rooms are ok, they have the usual tv, hair dryer, double bed, kettle etc. the size of the room is about standard and enough to satisfy most. The restaurant was big standard food which I found to be a little behind my expectations for the price.

The parking arrangements were annoying. The car park has been full on both occasions using this hotel and I ended up having to park on the road outside, which is apparently ok to do, but I didn't feel confident with it being on the street. Also, the hotel is situated on a steep hill and if you have elderly people or a lot of luggage this could be an issue.

Overall it's ok

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

Our car parking is available on a first come first served basis and therefore can, on occasion, be full. We are lucky enough that the surrounding streets offer free unrestricted parking and while I can appreciate that this is not ideal we have never experienced any problems with this arrangement.

We have a range of rooms specifications available to meet the varied needs of our guests, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly next time you are planning a trip to Edinburgh and one of our team will be happy to offer any advise regarding which type of room would be best suited to your requirements.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed one night while at a wedding in Edinburgh. Big comfy room, very clean and quiet.
Only down side was breakfast which was very unimaginative and compared to the lovely buffets on offer in most modern hotels was very poor
Helpful friendly check in staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuffyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is great to see that you had an enjoyable stay and found our staff to be friendly.

We offer a full cooked Scottish Breakfast Buffet with additional items available on our Continental Buffet so I am disappointed to hear that you found breakfast to be unimaginative. Please be assured that I have passed on your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager for review.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly next time you are planning a trip to Edinburgh and one of our team will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

When calling the hotel to reserve (online sites showed fully booked) first impression was very pleasant; was looking for a recently refurbished room and got one just above the entrance on 2nd floor.

Lovely BIG room with four-poster and a nice turret window with views over Edinburgh looking north-east over city. Breakfast and dinner in hotel restaurant were very good, as was a meal in the adjoining bistro.
Easy access from the Airport via the city bypass and easy access into the city itself.

Work was being done on the outside deck; workmen were not too noisy until mid-morning.

Here's when you can tell the hotel staff listens; I mentioned the noise when paying the bill, not complaining, however I had asked for a quiet room due to being light sleepers.
Hotel staff acknowledged and apologised.
After paying the bill and walking out of the hotel, I then noticed they had reduced the bill by a token amount.

Well done Briad Hills!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay.

I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with our newly refurbished room and had the opportunity to sample our Restaurant and the adjoining Buckstone Pub and Kitchen.

I am sorry if the workmen caused you any disruption but I hope this was minimal and did not impact your stay. I am pleased to see that you were happy with the service delivered by our staff and will be sure to pass on your comments.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel next time you are visiting Edinburgh. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and we will do our best to accommodate any special room requests.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to book at the Braid Hills for a wedding planning trip to Edinburgh and fancied treating ourselves to a bit of luxury having driven past the hotel many times. On the whole the hotel was great - communal areas are lovely and we had a great evening relaxing in the bar. Staff were really friendly and helpful, even offering to carry out bags upstairs as the room does or have a lift. Breakfast was lovely and staff were very attentive, offering teas and coffees and ensuring the buffet was well stocked (which Incidentally had a great choice of cooked and continental style options).

The standard double room we booked was cosy but comfortable. The decor appeared slightly dated but was generally in good condition and the room was clean. However, we did a counter a few issues with the room - first of all when putting our things into the wardrobe we discovered that one of the doors had completely come off it's runners and was propped up inside the wardrobe itself. Also the headboard of the bed creaked somewhat whenever I so much as rolled over in bed and my pillow pushed against it. Additionally, one of the halogen bulbs had blown above the bathroom sink but this could happen any time. These slight issues did detract slightly from our experience, especially given the price you pay to stay at the hotel.

One slightly amusing discovery in the room thought was a phone book in the bedside drawer from 2004/5! Although it did amuse I do find this slightly concerning how this had gone unnoticed for the best part of 10 years!

Overall, we would happily stay here again despite the obvious issues in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madcyclepath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that your found the hotel to be great overall and found our staff to be friendly and attentive, however, I am sorry that your experienced a few problems with your room. I do hope that our team were able to resolve these issues during your stay and they did not cause you too much inconvenience.

The hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment programme, and while the public areas are nearing completion the work on the rooms is ongoing.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid HIlls Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will try our best to accommodate you in one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We drove up from England, parked the car, walked down a few steps, caught a city bus, and enjoyed Edinburgh without the hassle of driving. The staff members were courteous and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable, though small. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be courteous and efficient and that you would be happy to recommend the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly next time you are planning a trip.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#95 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing