We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful room - a rip off even at Edinburgh festival prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #59 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful room - a rip off even at Edinburgh festival prices!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My niece lives in Edinburgh so we decided to stay at this hotel as my sister had recommended it. She usually stays there off season but joined us this time, although with a superior room with good views (see other reviews) inspite of its being a hike up three flights of stairs. We, however, were stuck with a room on the ground floor at the back, overlooking a wall and a bit of garden. We are from Madrid and gritted our teeth when booking at what we consider to be an extortionate price. We wouldn't have minded if the room had been ok, but it was small, pokey, and UN-refurbished. Awful. The bathroom, if you could call it that was minute, the shower spurted out hot and cold water, the sink was so low that you have to bend over to use it. I asked for another room and was told that they were very sorry, this was the standard double room. If we wanted, we could pay 40 pounds more for an upgrade. At 200 pounds a night, you can imagine what we said, and that price doesn't include breakfast.
They offered to move us to the one above; "less claustrophobic" according to the girl at reception, but the same size. For 2 nights it wasn't worth moving our luggage upstairs (no lift!).
As for the rest of the hotel, on the positive side, it's clean, the public areas are old fashioned but in keeping with the old building. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. The service a bit slow - they seemed overwhelmed by the full house brought about by the festival, but pleasant enough. The receptionist who attended us when we arrived ahead of time was grumpy and ticked us off for bringing in our own luggage when she had phoned the bell boy to collect it from the car. That was our first impression, and first impressions last, remember.
I totally agree with the reviewer who says that if the room isn't refurbished, don't touch it. Not only that, I think it is scandalous to "sell" this very below standard accommodation at that price. As I say in the title, a total rip off even at Edinburgh Festival prices.
Definitely not recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelSpain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I was extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

The different rooms classifications available are offered in order to try and meet the varied requirements of our guests. They range from our Classic double and twin rooms up to our Superior Rooms. Our prices are closely monitored to ensure that we remain competitive within the local market and I am sorry that you feel you did not get value for money.

The room refurbishment works are on going, and unfortunately this does mean that some rooms have been refurbished whist others haven't. Please be assured that guest feedback is taken into consideration for the scheduling of these works.

I am particularly concerned about your comments regarding our staff, we pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly welcome to all of our guests so I am surprised to read that you did not find this to be the case during your stay.

It would be much appreciated if you could contact me directly with details of your reservations so that I can further investigate your comments. I can be reached at heather.unwin@braidhillshotel.co.uk

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    407
    133
    62
    28
See reviews for
199
461
45
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great location, easy access to the City for the Festival. Recent refurbishment has done a lot to bring this hotel up to date yet still retains a "country house" atmosphere. Very professional staff who are always willing to help.Good food both in the restaurant and the Bistro, Full Scottish with Haggis at breakfast - very tasty! Having worked in hospitality for over forty years, it's good to see a hotel providing a good customer service experience. This was our third year at this hotel and will certainly be back for another visit for next year's Festival. Many thanks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank 717garryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent visit.

It is always great to hear from our return guests and I am thrilled see that you scored us a 5 on all points. It is important to us that we maintain the traditional aspects of the Hotel during our upgrades so I am pleased that you approve of our work so far.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel next festival, if not before. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly next time you are planning a trip and one of our team will be more than happy to assist.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is an old purpose built hotel, which means amazing things like a real wall between your room and its bathroom.
We booked last minute for a visit to the Edinburgh Festival and it was fine, as it is on a good bus route, it's a little too far to walk to the centre.
Not super deluxe, but a comfortable room, not overheated for once, and a great bar and dining room downstairs. It's quite big, not huge, but enough that at night the bar is pleasantly busy, and the breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had (if you like a proper British breakfast, with optional delicious rounds of haggis).
There is traffic noise from the main road about 100 yds away, so I was happy to be on the 3rd floor.
Lots of stairs to the 3rd floor, and no detectable lift, which was good practice for tramping round the festival. The staff were young, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfather_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to our team.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel next time you are visiting Edinburgh. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to make your booking and we will try our utmost to meet any special requests.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

this hotel was lovely. A very nice view of the city and a great deck to sit out on and enjoy from the hotel bar. The rooms were nice and spacious as well as clean - the staff was helpful. The food in the restaurant was ok. Hotel food is never the best. it was not convenient to walk to the heart of the city but a quick and reasonable priced taxi made it easy. it also was on the bus line

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanym22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We found the Braid Hills a very comfortable hotel. Our newly refurbished room was very modern with all kinds of gadgets (like a TV that rose from the foot of the bed on pushing a button). The view of Edinburgh castle from our room (at the front of the hotel) was beautiful. The hotel is a bit far from the centre of town, there is a bus service but we decided to walk which takes about 35 minutes and is a nice walk when the weather is OK.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Martijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased to see that you were impressed with the newly refurbished bedroom that you were allocated and enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and pleasant, the reception staff were also very helpful. The communal areas of the hotel appear to have been recently decorated/renovated to a good standard however our room was tired and in need of modernisation. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we ate in the city centre each night but the breakfast was well organised with good quality continental and cooked food. The location of the hotel is roughly a 15 minute taxi ride to the city centre. In summary the hotel rooms and facilities are average to good, the staff are peasant and helpful, we would be happy to stay here again as it's a convenient base for a visit to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0key2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay with us.

I am pleased that you found all of our staff to be friendly and helpful. As you correctly note the refurbishment of the public areas has recently been completed and we are currently working on updating the guest bedrooms.

It is great to hear that you would be happy to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Paid silly money for a room here during the Edinburgh Festival and were daft enough to pay extra for a "deluxe" room. The only thing deluxe about it was the view over the city, which was wonderful. The room itself was on the small side with very dated decor and a truly hideous chandelier. The bathroom was almost as big as the bedroom but was full of empty space and was cold. I got the impression that the management are on an economy drive - only one tiny packet of biscuits for two of us, cheap toiletries, promised complimentary newspaper was non existent, tinned peaches and pears on the breakfast buffet, though the cooked breakfast was excellent and hot, despite being on a buffet. I was less impressed with the waiting staff. They took our room number but failed to show us to a table or ask if we wanted tea or coffee and it took some minutes of waving to get any attention. Parking is free, which is a major plus point, and it is easy to get a bus into the city centre. The public areas have had money spent on them and look very good but until the bedrooms are refurbished I would not go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have panoramic views over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braidhills, Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room during your recent stay with us. We offer a range of room specifications to meet the varied needs of our guests. Our Deluxe rooms benefit from a view either towards Edinburgh or over the Pentland Hills and are more spacious than our classic rooms. Our room rates are closely monitored to ensure that we remain competitive within the local market place with August and other key dates being peak season for us.

We have recently completed the refurbishment of the public areas and are currently in the process of refurbishing all guest rooms, although, as I am sure you can appreciate this is an on going process. Guest feedback is a key factor and is taken into consideration when scheduling the refurbishment works, should you wish to contact me directly with details of your reservation I can be contacted on heather.unwin@braidhillshotel.co.uk.

Please be assured that I have passed on your comments regarding the in room supplies and breakfast to the relevant departments for review.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on the email address above and I will try my utmost to allocate you to a newly refurbished room.

Kind Regards,

Heather Unwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing