We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #55 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little pricey”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The hotel was just Ok and it has a beautiful view! Good breakfast and attention, but ir is pricey for the quality and comfort of the rooms. The bed was old, noisy and the pillows were really used.
The location is not the best, it is around 20 min from Edinburgh castle and Princess at. I expected more for a Best Western hotel that cost £ 110 per night.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    393
    129
    59
    27
See reviews for
192
446
43
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is a really good three star hotel which is readily accessable from the Edinburgh bypass.
I received a warm welcome and received a good room with plenty of space for working. There are two choices for dinner - the restaurant and bistro. Both are good value and serve food which is prepared to a high standard. All staff are frindly and professional - the bistro staff are good fun. In both restaurants the wine is good value.
This is a comfortable and somewhat old fashioned hotel which is welcoming and worth a visit..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Staff were very pleasant and polite throughout our stay - particularly the two girls we dealt with on the main reception - both were lovely. The hotel is a short bus ride away from the city centre and we had no problem parking at the hotel in the morning and spending the day in Edinburgh before coming back to check in. The room wasn't the largest double I've ever been in but it was clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space and it was perfectly adequate for our needs. Breakfast was good - I liked being to help ourselves from a buffet - and, again, the waiting staff were very pleasant. The price we paid for B&B was much cheaper than the prices I'd been quoted from some local B&Bs in the same area and we'd definitely stay here again if we were in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismililith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Stayed here for one night during a business trip. Was a little concerned after reading reviews on here about the dated decor etc, but the hotel is certainly not scruffy and is immaculately clean, which is a far more imortant factor for me than decor.

Every member of staff I encountered was lovely - all friendly, polite and really helpful. The room was a good size, very quiet and had fantastic views. Only disappointment was that there was no bath, but the shower was actually hot (quite rare in most hotels I've stayed in). Breakfast was great with plenty of choice.

If you value good cusomer service and cleanliness, I would recommend this for short business trips to the area - especially as there is free wifi throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEEWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I loved this Hotel... A repleca of a Castle. I traveled with My Mother and we both loved it. There is a Bar and a Restraunt on site. The room was big and comfortable

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank debsnature1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2009

my partner and i stayed in this hotel for a night to get some time to ourselvs the staff were very friendly and welcoming nothing was too much trouble, we had room service from the restaurant menu for dinner the steak was beautiful and cooked to perfection, breakfast the next day was lovely plenty choice for all,the views were stunning even tho we are both from edinburgh the view from the dining room took our breath away if ever we need some time out from the kids again we will definatly stay here again it was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolls96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Went to Edinburgh with my daughter to Napier University's open day, didn't want to spend a fortune, and didn't want a travel inn.
The staff were lovely, we arrived early and they found a room which was aready serviced for us. As with a lot of older hotels there is lots of cornicing and nooks and cranny's, but the place is immaculate! that above anything else for me is important.

The decor is very dated, the lounge seats tired, it wouldn't be a huge amount of cash to have them covered, the electric fire in the huge surround was a shame, bet there is a lovely old open fire lurking behind.

Dinner was a bargain, king prawns to start and venison with veg for main, the decor also was drab in here, if everything was stripped and wallpapered in a plain way then what a difference that would make.

The bus stop is right outside down the steps, no 11 and 15 go through morningside, to princes st and onto ocean terminal. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braid, Front of House Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2009
Thank you for your kind comments with regards our staff and food, I have noted the comments on the decor and we are currently looking into this. We value your comments as these help us move forward as a hotel. We will look forward to welcoming back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

David Taylor
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#38 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#59 of 148 in Edinburgh
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing