We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but had a few downfalls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #58 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel but had a few downfalls”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on the first night of a few day trip to Edinburgh.

Our first impression was a very good one. We had booked this hotel believing it would be fairly basic and we would then move on to a more luxurious one the next night. However, this hotel could definitely not be described as basic. Image wise, it was decorated in line with the theme of the building and had a lovely staircase. The reception was very grand and we had a member of staff show us to our room.

We stayed in the annex, which was situated across from the main building. We had our own entrance hall, which had a huge bathroom situated off it, and then the bedroom was at the end of the hall. The bathroom was very long and had two sinks in it. The only downside was that there was no curtain or blind to the window and I felt uncomfortable when it became dark and I needed the light on, I worried that people could see me. The bedroom was a very good size, with a double wardrobe, and ironing and tea making facilities. The bed was a good size and very comfortable.

We had dinner in the Bistro next door. The food was ok and it was reasonably priced, however, the service was extremely slow......so if you are in a hurry or don't want to age much, you might want to try somewhere else! Had we stayed another night, I doubt very much that we would have eaten there again. We did get to see the sun go down over the city though, which was very beautiful. Afterwards, we had a drink in the bar of the hotel. The bar area has sofas and comfy chairs and has a nice chilled atmosphere.

After a comfortable nights sleep, we had breakfast, which was very enjoyable. Just make sure you only pick a table for the number of you there are. We were told to sit wherever we liked, and as the room was fairly empty, we sat at a table designed for 4 people. We were promptly told off by the waitor and told to move to a table designed for 2 people. Made us wonder why we were told to sit wherever we wanted! Plus, the table he moved us to was not set up for breakfast, another reason we didn't pick it. He quickly set this up, but didn't bring any cups for my tea so I had to request this. The food was very nice though and there was a good selection, from a full english to a continental breakfast.

Unfortunately though, I do need to end on a bit of a bad note. When we came to check out, the receptionist looked a littel puzzled as to how I had the key, stating that her system showed that we had not turned up so she had charged us as a 'no show'. She was very apologetic and put it down to 'human error'. The charge made no difference as it was just the cost of the room, which we obviously were going to pay anyway. The major concern we had was if there had been a fire, their records would have shown that we werent in the building and the consequences wouldn't bear thinking about.

It's a shame as this hotel has the potential to be a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braid, Front Office Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Thank you for your review.

We value our guest comments and if possible we would like you to contact the hotel on 0131 447 8888 with regards your stay.

Kind Regards
David Taylor
Front of House Manager
Braid Hills Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    410
    136
    64
    28
See reviews for
204
473
47
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We spent 4 nights in the BW Braid Hills Hotel and really enjoyed the stay. The hotel was charming, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. I'd read some negative reports on the hotel from a couple of years ago but am really glad we ignored them. The hotel provided a great base for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding area. We've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHAandCoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The staff of this hotel is outstanding!! Watched personnel throughout the hotel and restaurants -- all hotels should be run this well. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Started before we even arrived when we had a few e-mails go back and forth. Food was excellent - only complaint regarding restaurants is they need to change dinner menu in the hotel diningroom - was under the impression it would be different nightly. The bistro and lounge were wonderful. Two complaints were that there is no elevator (although staff will cheerfully help with luggage) and that our TV was in such an odd place in the room - really should be wall mounted. Have already recommended this hotel to my clients (I am a travel agency owner).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieDollUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed with a disabled relative, the disabled access is poor but the staff were so very helpful that it failed to become a worrry. Everytime we required assistance it was there and attached to a smiling face. We also enjoyed superb food, comfortable rooms with a wonderful view over the city. The second volvanic ash cloud arrived during our stay and the reception staff kept us informed re flights all the time.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jazzjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed over the bank holiday weekend for 2 nights, we had a family room which consisted of a double bed & a single, although we could have done with 3 singles, but we didn't ask so not sure if they would provide this. The room was very spacious with a nice bay window overlooking the park, very picturesque. The bathroom was a bit 'cosy' but was good enough for our needs. One thing to be aware of is that the water gets very very hot and the taps have to be turned many times before the water comes out, so if you haven't turned the cold water on in the shower, be careful not to scald yourself!

The staff were all very helpful & pleasant. The breakfasts were ample & had a good selection for all types.

We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel, but we did eat at the Bistro next door which was very good & reasonably priced.

The hotel is in a reasonable location. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel which has regular buses into the centre of Edinburgh. We went in on a Sunday & the buses were pretty much on time, give or take 2-3 minutes.

We would definitely stay in this hotel & are recommending it to other family members who are attending a family gathering in September.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaGirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The hotel was just Ok and it has a beautiful view! Good breakfast and attention, but ir is pricey for the quality and comfort of the rooms. The bed was old, noisy and the pillows were really used.
The location is not the best, it is around 20 min from Edinburgh castle and Princess at. I expected more for a Best Western hotel that cost £ 110 per night.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

This is a really good three star hotel which is readily accessable from the Edinburgh bypass.
I received a warm welcome and received a good room with plenty of space for working. There are two choices for dinner - the restaurant and bistro. Both are good value and serve food which is prepared to a high standard. All staff are frindly and professional - the bistro staff are good fun. In both restaurants the wine is good value.
This is a comfortable and somewhat old fashioned hotel which is welcoming and worth a visit..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal2161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#37 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,526 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Property: Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing