We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed for two nights to explore Edinburgh. Staff were very friendly and the hotel is typical of large victorian houses turned into hotels. We had no problems despite some of the negative reviews and would happily stay again. Our room was facing out over the park and was large and comfortable. We ate at the Bistro which was reasonably priced and good value. Breakfast was buffet so quantity was no problem and if you didn't want the fried eggs the staff were happy to get your eggs cookd the way you wanted them.
We did not take the car into Edinburgh as the bus stopped about 50 yards away and were every 10 minutes into the centre for £1.20. They ran untill about midnight so no problem getting back.
Overall we were very pleased and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

To be fair we didn't pay a massive amount for three rooms at this big rambling place near the university but I wouldn't rush back.

Like other Best Westerns (Cambridge and Chester spring to memory) this place seems to be gently going to seed. The lobby was grand but shabby as were other common areas. However our double room had obviously been carved out of a bigger room and was taller than it was wide! Squishy bed and cramped fittings as well conspired to make it a less than joyous night. In addition the badly lit bathroom was tiny- not enough space to use the loo properly and decidely grubby.

The chain positions itself above cheapies like the Premier Inn and offers extras like a porter service etc but to be honest in a Premiere you get a good size room, spotless bathroom, great linen and towels. I can manage my own case cheers.

On the plus the receptionist and breakfast team were all lovely and welcoming.

We only had breakfast and would probably always choose a city restaurant than a hotel one. Breakfast was ok- nice light room, fresh tea and toast made regular appearances, lots of juice and fruit choices. The hot buffet was standard hotel quality- bacon was too underdone for me and the sausages were cheap and rubbery which is a shame..

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbesmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This is a horrible hotel. I have just checked in and felt compelled to write a review the instant I got in the room because it's so shocking. I booked a double and the bed was actually a 3/4 and it shakes every time you move!!. The bathroom stinks of damp, I had to spray perfume to cover the smell. The room is dirty and very very dated. This was supposed to be a very special weekend for my husband's 30th, I'm so dissapointed. It's certainly not worth £288 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Koeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braid, Front Office Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We value our guest comments and would have been more than happy to recfity the situation if we had been notified during your stay. All our double rooms have standard double beds in them, we do not have 3/4 size beds. Please be assured that this is not our usual Braid Hills Hotel standard and if you would like to discuss this further, please contact the hotel on 0131 447 8888. Kind Regards David Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I booked the twin room through a discount website, so paid a little less than standard, but would have paid full price for the room as it was so comfortable. The room had two single beds, then two high backed armchairs next to a coffee table. The room service dinner was very tasty and a good portion size. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were also very good.

Unfortunately, our room was not separated by a door from the main lobby, so the noise from the bar came up. As we were there for the weekend, there was a wedding, which went on into the early hours, so I didn't sleep very well that night. The staff were very helpful however, and willingly gave us a discount on the room price for that night as they were unable to stop the noise. A room past the fire doors would not have had this noise problem.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryFairyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at this hotel on the first night of a few day trip to Edinburgh.

Our first impression was a very good one. We had booked this hotel believing it would be fairly basic and we would then move on to a more luxurious one the next night. However, this hotel could definitely not be described as basic. Image wise, it was decorated in line with the theme of the building and had a lovely staircase. The reception was very grand and we had a member of staff show us to our room.

We stayed in the annex, which was situated across from the main building. We had our own entrance hall, which had a huge bathroom situated off it, and then the bedroom was at the end of the hall. The bathroom was very long and had two sinks in it. The only downside was that there was no curtain or blind to the window and I felt uncomfortable when it became dark and I needed the light on, I worried that people could see me. The bedroom was a very good size, with a double wardrobe, and ironing and tea making facilities. The bed was a good size and very comfortable.

We had dinner in the Bistro next door. The food was ok and it was reasonably priced, however, the service was extremely slow......so if you are in a hurry or don't want to age much, you might want to try somewhere else! Had we stayed another night, I doubt very much that we would have eaten there again. We did get to see the sun go down over the city though, which was very beautiful. Afterwards, we had a drink in the bar of the hotel. The bar area has sofas and comfy chairs and has a nice chilled atmosphere.

After a comfortable nights sleep, we had breakfast, which was very enjoyable. Just make sure you only pick a table for the number of you there are. We were told to sit wherever we liked, and as the room was fairly empty, we sat at a table designed for 4 people. We were promptly told off by the waitor and told to move to a table designed for 2 people. Made us wonder why we were told to sit wherever we wanted! Plus, the table he moved us to was not set up for breakfast, another reason we didn't pick it. He quickly set this up, but didn't bring any cups for my tea so I had to request this. The food was very nice though and there was a good selection, from a full english to a continental breakfast.

Unfortunately though, I do need to end on a bit of a bad note. When we came to check out, the receptionist looked a littel puzzled as to how I had the key, stating that her system showed that we had not turned up so she had charged us as a 'no show'. She was very apologetic and put it down to 'human error'. The charge made no difference as it was just the cost of the room, which we obviously were going to pay anyway. The major concern we had was if there had been a fire, their records would have shown that we werent in the building and the consequences wouldn't bear thinking about.

It's a shame as this hotel has the potential to be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie_cambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braid, Front Office Manager at Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thank you for your review.

We value our guest comments and if possible we would like you to contact the hotel on 0131 447 8888 with regards your stay.

Kind Regards
David Taylor
Front of House Manager
Braid Hills Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We spent 4 nights in the BW Braid Hills Hotel and really enjoyed the stay. The hotel was charming, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. I'd read some negative reports on the hotel from a couple of years ago but am really glad we ignored them. The hotel provided a great base for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounding area. We've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHAandCoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

The staff of this hotel is outstanding!! Watched personnel throughout the hotel and restaurants -- all hotels should be run this well. Staff was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Started before we even arrived when we had a few e-mails go back and forth. Food was excellent - only complaint regarding restaurants is they need to change dinner menu in the hotel diningroom - was under the impression it would be different nightly. The bistro and lounge were wonderful. Two complaints were that there is no elevator (although staff will cheerfully help with luggage) and that our TV was in such an odd place in the room - really should be wall mounted. Have already recommended this hotel to my clients (I am a travel agency owner).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbieDollUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#35 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel

Address: 134 Braid Road, Edinburgh EH10 6JD, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Braid Hills Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £67 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Edinburgh Braid Hills Hotel is magnificently situated in its own grounds, with panoramic views right across the City of Edinburgh, to the Pentlands, the Firth of Forth and the Fife hills beyond. Great contemporary Scottish cuisine served in 1886 Restaurant and genuine, friendly service from the all staff is complemented by ample free parking, free wifi and convenient access to a frequent bus service into the city centre. Come and experience a hotel stay with a real Scottish feel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel Scotland
Edinburgh Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing